We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet St. Joseph, Alpine Ethos
Nearby Hotels
Le Grand Chalet Des Pistes(Meribel)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Kaila(Meribel)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
95
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub and saunagreat hostsfood was amazingcakesgreat holidaymeribel centrelift passesalpine ethosafternoon tea and cakemain resortshort driveshuttle serviceski holidayhard days skiingeach morninglovely little villageother guests
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2015

We wanted a skiing holiday where we could stay in a chalet and take our dogs. After searching high and low I found Alpine Ethos and I am so pleased I did. With regards to the booking they couldn't have been more helpful. We needed to book our dogs into the vets before we came home - they did this for us. Food was great - all home made. We stayed in the apartment so had full use of our own kitchen - they even supplied the tea and coffee. They run a free shuttle to the slopes however as we had the dogs and our own car we made our own way back and forth the slopes. We enjoyed it so much we are planning our return.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We were a group of 13 staying in Chalet St Joseph, the Chalet itself is well equipped, clean and tidy with delicious food. However Alpine Ethos added something extra to this holiday that I have never experienced before and after. Having traveled with ski companies from Scott Dunn, Neilson to Powder White the service Alpine Ethos provided was phenomenal, from arranging a birthday cake, incredible transfer prices, decorating the chalet for our superhero party, discounts with local companies and restaurants, and above all their daily updates on the best slopes for the time of year and skiing conditions ensured this ski holiday was the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganBeynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visiting a 'Ski Chalet' in the summer is a trick which us Brits don't use enough. Chalet St Joseph sits in the now peaceful village of Les Allues, surrounded on all sides by beautiful views and well marked walking/running/biking trails. And after a day running or trekking the slopes coming back to Andy's cooking is such a treat. Usually after a beer in the hot tub of course! Andy's local knowledge helped us find great trails and a cracking little lake to sunbathe around and swim in. And we've come back with plenty of his recipes to try and recreate at home.

A wonderfully relaxing holiday with wonderful hosts, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tacko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back from a fantastic week skiing in Meribel, staying in Chalet St Joseph in charming Les Allues run by Heather and Andy. It was so refreshing staying in an independently run chalet, run by great hosts who really care about your stay. We were a mixed group of 4 so had the larger apartment, which was fantastic to give us our own space whilst coming together to eat with everyone in the main chalet - this gave us the best of both worlds. The chalet is kept spotless and the cooking is far superior to all other chalets I've stayed in with large package tour operators. Plus you get real local knowledge from Heather and Andy. Although Les Allues is a little way down the valley from central Meribel, it is a really pretty old French village that is lovely and quiet. Good for receding to after the lively Meribel apres!!!!

Room Tip: If you are 4, the larger apartment with the mezanine.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Alpine Ethos lived up to expectation.
We were six 50+ year olds, five new to skiing!! Heather, Andy and Heather advised us and looked after us really well.
Everything went smoothly from the initial booking, ski hire, airport transfers, ski pass purchases etc etc - all organised by the hosts. The chalet itself was warm, great dining room and cosy bedrooms. All clean etc.
The food and wine was plentiful and tasty. Good range of dishes.
We were transported to and from the slopes as promised since the chalet is clearly a distance from the centre of Meribel. No problems. The village itself had a friendly pub, supermarket and good restaurant. All good.We even saw the torchlight descent finish there - a great sight.
It is a bit of a distance from the bus stop/gondola in ski boots and carrying skiis so the hosts organised a taxi on our request on their day off - that however was quite expensive - but worth it!
All in all, I would highly recommend the chalet to people of all ages - great hosts.
if we ski again, We would be more than happy to return.
Thanks again to the chalet team!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahW7768PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews