We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chalet experience”
Review of Chalet Mont d'Or

Chalet Mont d'Or
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet Mont d'Or
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have stayed in a fair few chalets in France and Italy before and this was by far the best. From our first enquiry to the day that we left, Snowcrazy could not have been more attentive and accomodating.
Laura at Snowcrazy was in constant email contact and answered all of our queries. She organised lift passes at a great price and ski hire for those who needed it.
Chalet Mont D'or is luxury at a fair price. We stayed in Jan 2013 and we were a group of 6 adults and one baby.
We occupied rooms 1 and 2 on the ground floor, plus 7 on the top floor. If you're picturing typical chalet rooms with pine beds suitable only for dwarfs then think again. Think luxury hotel rooms, with clean modern bathrooms, hot showers, bath, fluffy towels, bath robes, slippers, hair dryer, straighteners and complementary toiletries. The beds are firm but comfortable with plenty of pillows. Our room was number one on the ground floor which was a triple room. This was massive - we had a cot alongside our bed as well as the spare third bed and there was plenty of room to swing a number of cats (if thats your thing!) The room was always warm - we turned the heater off and most nights had the window open to get some fresh air. The room had a patio door onto the deck which leads to the hot tub. next to our room was the sauna and shower room with door out to the hot tub (his may explain why our room was so warm and didnt need heating!) The TV didnt have signal but had a dvd player which we used to entertain our 18 month old on occasion. The chalet have a number of DVDs you can use in the lounge.
The hot tub was a luxury that was a brilliant way to soothe the aching limbs at the end of the day. Plastic cups provided - take some duty free spirits with you!
We didnt use the sauna but it looked, well, like a sauna.
Room 2 was smaller with less room around the bed but with all the same provisions. The photos and video on the snowcrazy website give a very good idea of the quality.
The lounge is large and comfortable with 2 sofas and enough chairs to fit every one in. Sky TV and DVD player if you take an afternoon off to rest.
Canapes and Champagne each evening followed by a 3 course meal and then cheese to follow - we were spoilt and came back a few pounds heavier. Wine provided with the meal was lovely and replenished as required. Breakfast was croissants, cereals, french bread and a different cooked option each day. Not a full English every day but plenty of variety and who could think of as many ways to cook an egg? Chef James cooks beautifully despite looking like he should still be in school :0) There is an honesy bar stocked with beers and soft drinks, crisps and chocolate. Baguettes available to take for lunch at 3 euros which is a good option on the odd day as the restaurants are sooooo expensive these days. Afternoon cakes (always 2 options) and tea provided. Boot room with warmers.
Transfers provided from the airport (about a 2 hr drive from Geneva) and the staff transport you up the mountain to Meribel in the morning (about 10 mins drive) and back again between 4.30 and 5pm. The bubble lift is only about 10 mins walk down hill if you decide to come back earlier and the free bus goes to the same place so this is an option if you decide to stay on much later into the evening. There's a couple of restaurants about 10 mins walk from the chalet for the staff night off, one also does take away pizzas.
Snow crazy provided everything we needed for our little girl - Car seat, high chair, travel cot with bedding, and even baby monitors which is really handy when you have so much kit to lugg around anyway. James cooked our daughter a separate meal each evening at about 5.30 pm, we just had to shield her eyes from the cakes! They provided cows milk for her bottles. We had struggled to find chalets that would accept a child without booking the entire chalet or being a family ski company where the chalet could be over run with kids - not ideal for our friends travelling with us. This was the perfect solution.
Snowcrazy can organise a nanny to come to the chalet in the day or in the evenings for babysitting. This would be a good option if there was more than one child but more expensive than the nursery for just one child.
We used the ESF nursery in the centre of meribel at Le Chaudanne which is just next to the drop off point. The staff were brilliant, kind, attentive and I had no problem settling her in there. It's about £300 for a full week (6 full days including lunch) or you can do different options. They only take from 18 months old.
The staff, (Rob and Justin) were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Thankyou for a wonderful holiday.
The only negative would be the distance from the slopes, as you may be put off staying for apres ski if you have to get the bus back. However its downhill from the bus stop so perfectly do able! This place closer to the slopes would be far more expensive.
I would absolutely recommend this chalet (and Snowcrazy in general) to others. We will definitely use them again. Now after that essay I need to book the next holiday...

Room Tip: All are beautiful, choose a triple if you need the space, one or two only have showers so check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

We've just booked to come here again in 2013 and thought we should review our visit from Feb 2011.

Amazing...

This was my 11th or 12th boarding trip but this was by far the best accommodation by an alpine mile!!

Picked up from the airport (free) and driven to such a lovely chalet... As a group of 2 couples that had booked late we got a good discount but were left with the two smaller rooms, a flip of a coin decided who got the bigger of the two. 
To be fair I would have been happy in the smallest room but my double headed coin served me well :-)

The room was right next to the hot tub and sauna which was very convenient and not the noise-fest I feared.

Food was.....awesome!!! I've eaten at a few Michelin star restaurants that would get a run for their money from the food here!! I understand that staff will come and go over the seasons but if the standards are anywhere near the level of 2011 then I can't wait for next March.

Dwaine the chef was just sooo creative with his food, from the afternoon cakes, through to the popping candy infused home made chocolates..wine with dinner was absolutely fine and the kir royals with the pre dinner canapés a nice touch.

Ski room was spacious complete with boot warmers, and the guys would drive you up to the resort every morning and back in the evening if you didn't want to walk the 10-15  minutes to/from the bubble...

We weren't particularly blessed with great snow conditions but the 3 V's is so vast that it was still great fun (highly recommend the sledging course in Courchevel)..

The ski hosting by the guys at chalet Mont D'Or was good (It was certainly good to silence some of the skiing guests who thought that a couple of boarders would be slowing them down!!) 

Overall I've often paid a lot more for so much less - Great food, great accommodation, great service.... hope next March is similar ...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveShovelhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

After a few very underwhelming stays with chalet operators in St Anton and Val d'Isere, we took a break from the Alps for three years. We decided to give the Alps another go this year, and had such a great time we are already thinking about booking for next year, as our holiday was so much better than previous chalet experiences.

Snowcrazy offer free private transfers from the airport, which makes a great start to the holiday, as an alternative to waiting for ages for sufficient passengers to arrive to fill a coach and then suffering numerous drop offs along the way.

The chalet was much more spacious than other chalets in terms of both room size and common areas, with sunny terraces, sauna and hot tub, and extra touches such as slippers, robes, hair dryers and straighteners.

The staff are the perfect mix of professional and personal, demonstrating great hosting skills. Chris provided a great ski guiding service (very helpful as an introduction to the 3 valleys as it's such a huge skiing area), and James (formerly of Daphne's) is an excellent chef and the quality of his food is far higher than typical chalet food. The wine is also excellent, with a significant effort put into matching it with our evening meals.

Les Allues is a drive to the lifts in the centre of Meribel, but the staff provide drop offs and pick ups throughout the day and this was never an inconvenience. Lift passes and equipment hire can all be arranged via the chalet. There are a couple of decent bars and restaurants in Les Allues, if you fancy a break from the chalet and for staff night off, and overall this was a thoroughly excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

First visit to Meribel, it did not disappoint! Lovely Chalet with a beautiful outlook. Rooms were perfect and very clean. Food was great and the wine,oh the wine....... for a very nice change was gorgeous.Quite often wine in chalets is often just drinkable but this was seriously yummy!
A big thank you to Laura who dealt with all our various booking changes,believe me there were many. We will definitely be back to one of snowcrazy's chalets.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueskisquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for Christmas 2011. We'd stayed in La Rosiere with Snowcrazy in 2009 and this was just as good.

The chalet is immaculately clean. Our room was large, and our kids room was great for them. The bathrooms were cleaned every day. The beds were comfy and big. I was horrified by the state of my teenage kids' room when I saw it, and told the guys to leave it but they didn't! I didn't make it to the games room, our kids are mid teens and probably a bit old for it.

Ski hire is all sorted out very efficiently, in the chalet, by a local company, who aren't that expensive compared to say, Intersport. Snowcrazy get your liftpasses for you too. Ski guiding is available, and the ski area is so huge it's good to have some local knowledge.

Chris, Ed and James were very amenable, the food was excellent. Poor James' oven broke on Christmas Day but he still pulled it out of the bag. He might be cross with me for saying this, but I think the afternoon cake was a work in progress! The wine was first class, Chris had some great ones stashed away. We took our own gin and the fridge was full of tonics etc.

Like I said, the skiing is fab, the area is huge and it was our favourite skiing ever. It's a bit of a faff to get the bus up there and back, but the guys are pretty easy going over lifts. Chris was very helpful on the last day when my knee had gone and my daughter wasn't well and wanted to come back to the chalet, so he took me to pick her up from the bubble.

The only downer is when are the French going to realise they are pricing themselves out of the market? We used to go to Austria when that was expensive, but Meribel was ludicrous. A lot of the mountain bars and restaurants are empty, because people aren't stupid and won't get fleeced every day. The place is very full of English people too, you might like that, but a bit of foreign culture doesn't go amiss. A restaurant we went to had a girl on the front desk who couldn't speak French. Staying at the chalet makes it reasonable, but you think twice about eating out anywhere. We had two vin chaud waiting for our kids one afternoon, 12 euros, only got to be slightly more expensive and it would be the same as a bar in a 5* in London.

Our kids had a couple of afternoons with Federico from New Gen ski school, as recommended by the chalet. He was great, but we tried to rebook and they just weren't as helpful as they could/should have been. I booked an off piste afternoon with Magic, with Adrien, and my son had a really good time.

We are going to Austria for a long weekend in March, and I have suggested Austria for Christmas, but the kids are adamant that a Snowcrazy Christmas is the way to go!

Room Tip: First floor ones! There is a tiny one in the basement....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Just came back from the best ski holiday ever - fresh snow, great company a lovely chalet and a hot tub , what more could you ask for? Snowcrazy have a wonderful set up with the price including transfers and mini bus to the chaudanne . Les Allues is the next village down the valley from Meribel pretty quiet , definitely not lively which is great for us as we prefer to save our energy for the slopes.
Chris was a great host - I really don't envy him keeping us clients happy - he was incredibly patient with us and a demon skier! Do go out on the ski guiding to Mottaret the burgers have to be seen (but don't tell jamie). You have to make sure you leave lots of room for the food and wine .
The chalet is pretty much what you see in their photos - cosy contemporary - not sure i'll be able to do without a hot tub or sauna on a ski holiday again!

With Chris , Josh and James you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Allues hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Kaila
Le Kaila
#7 of 33 in Meribel
74 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
Hotel Eliova Le Genepi
#24 of 33 in Meribel
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Le Grand Chalet Des Pistes
4.3 mi away
Hotel Les Arolles
Hotel Les Arolles
#17 of 33 in Meribel
67 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Sentiers du Tueda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Mont d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Mont d'Or

Address: Main Ro into Allues, 73550, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Les Allues
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet Mont d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing