We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”

Review of Chalet Chamois

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Les Coches, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AzureAkel...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I couldn't wait to review my Alpine365 experience & am doing so sat on the wonderful sun terrace overlooking the piste.

Communication with Toorna during the booking process & prior to our arrival was super, helpful & patient. Directions for our drive up were great & we parked just outside the chalet for free.

Robbie, our passionate chef, has surprised us with delicious, innovative meals, knocked up soup & sandwiches for lunch at the drop of a hat & accommodated special diets. Niamh, our host, is friendly, helpful & competent. Both have entertained us with games, dispensed piste tips and made us feel so welcome that we won't want to leave.

The snow is rapidly melting but we have still been able to ski from just below the chalet to the red Coches run down to Plan Bois chair lift, & back in. The location gives easy access to both La Plagne & Les Arc. We are glad that we bought a Paradiski pass enabling us to explore both areas depending on which had better snow each day.

The walk down to Les Coches village centre is ice free at the moment & my PB back up is 7 mins. But it is very steep & not for the faint hearted, especially when snowy/icy.

We definitely hope to be back & hope that Toorna & Duncan are lucky enough to find staff as excellent as Robbie & Niamh for next season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishro...
Wickham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hosts, top rate food and one of our best family holidays!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We just returned from a week at Chalet Chamois with friends, and it has been a wonderful week. The chef , Robbie (who takes massive pride in his work) and host Niamh (the kids LOVED and she was always friendly) , made our stay there truly relaxing and couldn't have worked harder to make it a great holiday.
From arranging ski rental in chalet on the night we arrived, getting our ski passes for us and arranging airport transfers, nothing was too much trouble.
The chalet itself is beautiful and with 4 double bedrooms each with an ensuite, our group of 7 was very comfortable. The hot tub was a particular favourite to soak weary ski bones. We would definitely recommend this company and chalet and hope to return ourselves next year. Thanks Alpine365 team!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Friendliness of staff and amazing food.
Liked least: We were warned in advance, but the short ski out is on a red run and not good for beginners.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinotnoir...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury in the Alps”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

For my Dad's 70th birthday, the family clubbed together to buy him a ski trip. Dad hadn't been skiing for a few years and since it was his 70th, we wanted something a bit special.

So after a bit of research by my brother, we decided on Chalet Chamois.

I've stayed in catered chalets in France a few times but this is definitely more luxurious than others I've stayed in before.

The service we received was absolutely excellent. Hannah couldn't do enough for us and was full of helpful advice and tips for us. She even gave us an extra special show by flying down the stairs on the first night with a tray of champagne glasses!

Robbie (or as my neice called him all week) was out chef for the week. His food was definitely of a superior quality and more modern than other chalets I have stayed in before. He had quite a difficult job as my sister in law eats not gluten, dairy or meat and I don't eat cheese or prawns. However, every night he had a different surprise for us. Everything from moules mariniere a to pea tart for pudding! It was all fabulous. Hannah also made some amazing cakes which were dairy and gluten free.

The chalet is pretty luxurious. There are three really nice sized rooms with lovely, big en suite bathrooms. Our room was the fourth room and it was pretty small and the bathroom was even smaller. Probably more suited to a children's room rather than two adults.

The best bit about the chalet was the amazing view. It looked out over the mountains to Mont Blanc and was completely stunning. Even better viewed from the chalet's outside hot tub. And although my neice was not at all sure why we were having a bath in the garden, we lived watching the sun turn the mountains pink as it set whilst sipping wine in the tub.

The chalet was a 15 minute walk from Les Coches centre. You can ski directly out of the chalet to the ski lifts which take you to La Plagne and also Les Arcs. However, as the first run is a red, although beginners can ski back to the chalet, it's quite tough to ski out.

There is a navette shuttle bus that runs into the centre and the ski lifts. However, it's pretty infrequent and the walk is really hard work with skis and boots. Duncan was really kind and offered us a lift a couple of days, but again, he was quite limited to the times he could give us a lift which didn't really fit around the beginner's lessons.

Les Coches dies have lots of nice blue runs though that are ideal for learners and Toorna was really helpful with booking lessons. We had 121 lessons and our instructor, Janic, was excellent.

Would definitely recommend this for ski groups looking for a bit of luxury.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyLaird
Aberdeen, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb. Fantastic relaxing chalet with great hosts & location”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from a week in Les Coches which was fantastic. The chalet was all we were hoping for and the hosts, Hannah & Robbie, were excellent. in addition toorna, Duncan & Russ were always helping out if needed, whether showing us around or helping us get the kids to ski school.
We stayed in the chalet as a group with another family, so we had 4 adults & 4 kids between 5 & 8 and the chalet was great for this as it gave us space to spread out and give the kids room to play. The rooms and bathrooms are all very nice and there's a great boot room with a heater to warm your boots first thing in the morning and a private hot tub with great views of the piste & mountain views.
It is the people involved that made the whole experience special however, and by the time we left we felt as if we had come to know both Hannah & Robbie having had them look after us so well - especially the kids. They had food cooked for them slightly earlier so that we could get them into bed at a decent time before sitting down ourselves for a superb meal every night, and the accompanying wine was also extremely palatable!
The chalet is in a great location in the village and easy to find considering we had not been there before and neither had the driver of the van we were in. It is ski in/out, but we took advanatge of the availability in the van to get the kids to school in the morning to avoid a tricky start - fine for competent skiers but beginners might struggle a bit.
Overall we cannot recommend this chalet, and everyone with Alpine 365, highly enough if you're looking for a family friendly holiday with great food and a wonderful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Hosts, location, chalet & superb food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect family ski trip”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed at Chalet Chamois for a week as part of a group of four families, each with a child under 2! Toorna and Duncan (the owners) went out of their way in advance of our stay to ensure all our numerous requests were catered for which was to be so important with so many small children. The chalet itself was beautiful with lovely cosey ensuite bedrooms, a good sized dining area and lounge to relax in. The separate toilet in the bootroom proved extremely useful given we had children staying in each bedroom, so saved disturbing them after they had gone to bed. We also took advantage of the hottub on most days with stunning views across the valley to Mont Blanc.

The chalet host Hannah and chef Robbie really made the holiday for us. Hannah was just lovely, nothing was too much trouble and she dealt with all our requests with a smile. Robbie's food was the best we've had on a ski trip, we were all impressed with the variety and the quality of the food. Robbie also did a great job catering for the children, which can be challenging!

The chalet's position meant we could ski in and out from the door of the bootroom, and the bootroom itself was really well equipped, with heated bootwarmers and a number of sledges which the children loved. It was a 5-7 min walk downhill to Les Coches which was handy for lunches on non-skiing days and picking up forgotten items from the ski shops. Les Coches' position near to the Vanoise Express meant we could take advantage of skiing in both Les Arcs and La Plagne (with a paradiski lift pass) which provided a huge ski area to explore.

We had a perfect week thanks to Toorna, Duncan, Hannah and Robbie and look forward to returning again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All bedrooms being ensuite.
Liked least: Steep walk down hill to village when icy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyingdou...
Gorebridge, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great holiday with fun friends, delicious food and superb chalet host”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We had a brilliant week at Chalet Chamois, being looked after superbly by the lovely Hannah. I've been on a lot of catered chalet holidays and I can honestly say that Hannah was the best host. She didn't cook the main meals but she did everything else, and nothing phased her - everything was done with a cheery smile. The chalet was always clean and tidy, and it ran like clockwork. The meals were delicious, cooked by Robbie, our great fun chef - he evidently loved his cooking and took great pride in explaining exactly what we were about to eat. I have come back from the holiday 3lbs heavier, after a week of skiing..... every cloud! Would we go back? Absolutely!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Apart from the chalet hosts, the views of Mont Blanc from the hot-tub take some beating! Also the ski in, ski out was great
Liked least: No mirror in the bedroom and uncomfortable pillows (speaking personally)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joni C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday, fantastic chalet and great hosts!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Chalet Chamois is homely, warm and the hot tub has the best views over the valley and beyond to Mont Blanc, which turns pink with the sunset!
The rooms are lovely, plenty of space and stunning views. Heated boot room is fantastic and leads on to direct access to the slope and lifts to connect to Le Plagne and Les Arcs.. perfect location for the Paradiski, my favourite area being Champagny, and you can ski back to the Chalet...bonus!
Food was fantastic and catered for all requirements by Robbie, a great chef with amazing attention to detail and passion for his food. Chalet host Hannah was an absolute treasure and nothing was ever a problem, her cakes were superb, particularly the cherry & chocolate, coconut and coffee & walnut, a great welcome home from perfect days on the slopes.
Massage Me are highly recommended for a great massage after a hard few days! Rental Republic for hire and equipment servicing were very very efficient and the cheapest around....
From start to finish the whole process of booking with Alpine 365 was faultless, would definately recommend and will return... Thank you all wish we were still there.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accessibility to andfrom slopes and ease of booking
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing