We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well worth the journey!”

Review of Chalet Chamois

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Les Coches, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melissa G
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey!”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Ok...so we weren't expecting a 26 hour journey overland to get to Chalet Chamois, courtesy of British snow and FlyMayBeNot but the decision to jump in our car and make the 850mile journey was made easier by knowing that we would have a warm Alpine365 welcome when we (eventually) arrived, having stayed at one of their other chalets previously. And we were not wrong....Duncan and Toorna were helpful with advice and encouragement as we made our way across France and left us full instructions as to how to get in should we arrive in the dark of night. Arrived in time for breakfast and, as expected, the feast started there! Our hosts Paul and Annaliese were very welcoming from day 1 to day 7. Alpine 365 promote their excellent food with professional chefs and, as with our last holiday, they didn't disappoint. Put it this way....clean plates every night!! Paul...I meant what I said...if you open a restaurant of your own one day, let us know where!!
The chalet itself is advertised as the more rustic of their set of 4 and I would agree.It is homely, cosy and full of charm. Slightly quirky lay out and not massively spacious but all you need after skiing is hot water, good food and a comfy bed and it certainly has all that. The hot tub is luscious with a fabulous view.
Kind of ski in ski out....boot room is at path level so a short shuffle across to the snow opposite, on with the skis then a short glide across soft snow onto the piste and straight to the lifts. Ski back same way. I hate having to walk anywhere to get to lifts, so this fitted the bill nicely for me.
The walk into Les Coches centre in the evening is a bit of a mountain goat path but it is cleared and gritted so no real problem.
Would I go back to Les Coches and Alpine 365? Have already told Duncan and Toorna that we have decided to work our way through all 4 of their chalets!!
If you are reading this and trying to decide to go.....go on, you know you want to and you wont be disappointed. Just try not to end up driving all the way........tho if you do, theres space to park...just buy snow chains in the UK.
Thanks again Toorna and Duncan, Paul and Annaliese.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Thanks, Melissa & David, for your lovely review and for being in such good humour despite your arduous journey through all the snow in the UK and France to get to us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us, this time in Chalet Chamois, and loved the food, chalet, hot tub and service. And the skiing of course! You have a few more chalets to try, so we're looking forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tike1
West Lothian, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday, amazing food, great location!”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Overall a well deserved 5 star review!

The chalet is perfectly located in Les Coches, just a short (maybe 50 metre) hike to the piste in the morning, and can ski virtually back to the door at the end of the day. Also a relatively short walk to the pretty town centre of Les Coches where there are the usual ski shops and restaurants.

The chalet hosts, Paul and Annalise, were amazing, looking after the group so well. In particular, the food was outstanding with restaurant quality food served every night. The amenities in the chalet are also very good - clean and well maintained hot tub with amazing view over the valley below, heated boot rack, decent sized lounge to hang around in, and plenty of room in the kitchen/dining area. Wifi was decent and the honesty bar well stocked and good value.

The company, Alpine365, were also super-helpful arranging transfers and passes with ease, with clear pricing, and were a true pleasure to deal with.

Was it completely perfect? Almost... Only real criticisms are the rooms which are on the smaller side (one in particular is very tight, with the ensuite no bigger than a wardrobe, it's the short straw if you get that room!). Also while it sleeps "8 to 9", we had 9 which meant one guest sleeping on a small, and apparently rather uncomfortable camp bed, plus the room's ventilation didn't really cope with three guests. Personally I'd remove that option from the accommodation and keep it to 8 guests only. Either that or upgrade the camp bed substantially!

However, very minor wrinkles on an otherwise flawless holiday. We'll definitely be back with Alpine365 in the future, and I'd definitely return to this chalet, albeit with one fewer guests next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
It was so kind of you to leave a 5* review for Chalet Chamois and we're so pleased that you had a great week. Thank you for letting us know about the camp bed, and apologies that it wasn't comfortable for that particular guest. We're delighted that you made the most of the ski-in/ski-out from the chalet; the hot tub and of course, enjoyed the food from our chalet team - we will pass on your comments to them! Thanks again and hope to see you another year in Les Coches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickbache
City of Venice, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

As the trip organiser I was a little concerned that my well travelled companions and I would find Chalet Chamois not quite up to our needs. Immediately after we arrived and settled in it was obvious the holiday was going to be excellent. The relaxed and friendly approach adopted by Toorna during the booking process was replicated by the host and chef Annalise and Paul.
Our party enjoyed the imaginative food which was subtly adjusted to suit some dietary needs and was provided in sufficient quantity to satisfy the most voracious of appetites exhibited by one party member. Indeed so confident was I in Pauls cooking for the first time in my life I tucked into a typical Maltese seafood starter that contained ingredients I had never eaten in my life
The location is excellent, the hot tub well maintained and the provision of a driver useful although we skid in and out everyday.
In summary a perfect holiday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2018
Thanks Nick, for your kind review of your stay with us. We employ professional chefs who design their own menu, and we're delighted that you enjoyed some typical Maltese food from Paul & Annalise. Hope to see you all again another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCrofti...
Woodcote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The chalet hosts and food were fantastic”
Reviewed 28 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

As a party of 8 people who have skiied together a fair bit we had high expectations of our chalet and this exceeded them in almost every way.
Paul and Annelise, the hosts, were superb and made us feel immediately welcome. Paul's cooking is absolutely top rate.
The rooms are comfortatble but a couple of them are "quite cosy". The lounge area is really comfortable and a great place to spend the evening and the Honesty Bar is much more reasonable than the bars in the village or on the slopes.
The Hottub is maintained beautifully and was well used during the week even in a semi blzzard.
The Chalet is within a stones throw of the piste and a short ski to the lift to take you up to access the entire La Plagne and Les Arcs skiing.
Les Coches is a lovely little village which can be reached with in a 5 to 10 monute walk (coming back was longer due to the incline and beer)
A great place for a sking or walking holday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2018
Thanks so much for your review of your stay at Chalet Chamois. We're so pleased that you enjoyed our service, the food, the hot tub and the skiing. We know that Paul & Annalise loved looking after you as well! Hope to see you another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah H
Bristol, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way.”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I couldn't recommend this chalet enough. Super location, super staff, super food. We hope to return many times!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thanks for your review, Hannah. Your group was a delight to look after and a perfect way to end our season. Hope to see you another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan_R_00...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“At least 5 stars!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Les Coches was much nicer than bits of the Paradiski area I’d been to before: easy to get to by train, close to the cable car to Les Arcs so you can get there ahead of any morning rush (and come back later), and a nice village rather than an ugly ski resort.

Chalet Chamois was comfortable and kept in really good condition. The rooms aren’t large but they’re perfectly adequate (especially after we’d moved the furniture around a bit in the smallest twin) and all en-suite. The lounge is cosy with the log fire every day, the dining room light in the mornings and with plenty of space for everyone round the table (not like some chalets), and the hot tub outside had a truly amazing view.

Ski-in / ski-out wasn’t quite on the cards because the snow was pretty thin on the ground when we were there, but even so it was only a 20 metre walk to a (slightly treacherous) piste or the in-house driver was very happy to drive people to/from the village’s main lift.

The hosts were fantastic all week and really made the holiday. The food was excellent with almost every meal a highlight (and the best banoffee pie I’ve ever eaten!), even while catering for several different dietary requirements, and with afternoon cakes, occasional canapes, three courses and cheese we were completely spoiled.

Nothing was too much trouble. The hosts catered for special requests for breakfast, provided a packed lunch for the train home, arranged lift passes, transfers, ski equipment, massages (!) and seemingly anything else we wanted – topping it all off with a last-minute dash to bring a forgotten passport to Bourg-St-Maurice in time for the train.

Thank you Duncan, Toorna, Andy and Phil – I can’t recommend you enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for writing a review of your time with us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the chalet, the team and the food. We're also really pleased we were able to get your passport to you in time for the train! Hope to see you another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicky11
London, U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy chalet with stunning views of Mt. Blanc from the outdoor hot tub”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a fantastic week in this chalet, with friendly, relaxed hosting by Phil and superb catering from Andy. Would love to visit again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for leaving a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views from the hot tub and were looked after well by your chalet team. We look forward to seeing you again another year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing