We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hokey hotel on a presumably nice golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monthieux
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a budget level hotel being advertised as a more upscale, posh golf resort hotel. We didn't come for the golf which may be wonderful, but the room itself needs updating. Also, a major negative point is we had to walk through a muddy construction zone (there was no way to walk around it) in order to access our room. On the up-side, the staff seemed friendly, spoke English and the shower and TV worked. The surrounding countryside and small towns are also particularly scenic in this area, which adds to the charm, but all-in-all, there are probably better deals to be found.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz and Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were a group of 19 golfers who stayed over a weekend and played both the Breuil and Montaplan courses. We were slightly unfortunate with some flooding due to previous torrential rain but that did not retract from the overall package. From club house to hotel everything is in place and very efficiently managed. The restaurant caters for all and is excellent value. All this in an idyllic setting makes the Golf du Gouverneur a perfect venue for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed for 6 nights. We got lucky and met mr. Ygg in the pro-shop who arranged golf-pro lessons and green fee package. The others were just as nice but he is from Canada so easy to speak English with him.
Two good 18 hole courses and a couple of training par 4 holes and putting and chipping area. Good driving range. Rather busy all week so at times we shared tee times to make 3 or 4 balls but every people we met was so friendly even when some could not speak much English.
Peaceful and beautiful surroundings and short drives to small towns with supermarket and restaurants. My parents don't play golf but had a great week nonetheless. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyDrama76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel sits in a middle of a golf course, in a beautiful countryside. Great if you plant to play golf, but also for hiking and exploring the mid of France. Not accessible without a car. The hotel has a good conferencing amenities and can be a good choice for a big meeting. There are plenty of parking places on the grounds.
The hotel restaurant, even if not with a very nice ambiente is in the Michelin guide and has excellent food and very helpful staff. Do not let put yourself off by the look of the dining room (looks like a converted conference room) and give the restaurant a chance. You will not regret!
The breakfast is one of the best one I had in Best Western in France and definitely worth it. This was the only hotel where you can make your fresh juice. The choice of other items is very similar to the standard Best Western buffet, just a tick better. There is also free wi-fi available in the rooms as well as the lobby.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Petra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay on our way to Paris from Nice and what a lovely surprise it was. Location is quiet, restful and tranquil. Rooms are tastefully decorated with very modern, well equipped bathrooms. The big surprise was the restaurant - our evening meal was superb. Food was presented like a Michelin rated restaurant and tasted amazing. Overall hotel facilities were great - beautiful extensive grounds and lovely swimming pool. Great place for couples or families.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cola125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

If you are looking for a great stay away from all of the noise and traffic you normally find at a hotel in a city centre, then try this one. It has a great restaurant, nice and clean rooms and a friendly staff. It also has a golf course, a swimming pool and some tennis courts - unfortunately, it was winter while I was there so I didn't get around to trying out the golf course... It did look beautiful though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed for one night on our way home from Italy. The room was small and a bit dark but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was newly refurbished and of a high standard.
We got an excellent value half board deal and the food was better than in some of the 5* hotels we had stayed in in Italy. (Even the whole frogs in garlic starter proved to be tasty!)
There was a very nice swimming pool and lots of fluffy towels available which was an unexpected bonus after a long day sitting in a car.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monthieux
7.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Chez Nous
10.7 mi away
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Hotel Chatillon
La Tour Cocooning Gastronomie Ho...
#1 of 2 in Chatillon-sur-Chalaronne
161 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Petit Casset
Le Petit Casset
#1 of 1 in La Boisse
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Auberge des Bichonnieres
Auberge des Bichonnieres
#1 of 1 in Amberieux-en-Dombes
27 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Plaisance
Best Western Plus Hotel Plaisanc...
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf

Address: Chateau Du Breuil, 01390 Monthieux, France (Formerly Best Western Golf & Hotel Du Gouverneur)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Monthieux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monthieux
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature paradise in the heart of the Dombes at 30 minutes north of Lyon, Hotel and Golf du Gouverneur welcomes you in the middle of its 233 hectares. 53 rooms including 8 suites and junior suites, 2 restaurants and terrace, 45 holes for golf enthusiasts, 10 meeting rooms and banquets for business or family events. A unique site in Rhône-Alpes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Domaine du Gouverneur, Hotel, Restaurant & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rhone-Alpes
Monthieux Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing