We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Save
Review Highlights
nice french people

Good water and mountain and nice water and good mountains and repeat again because I need to write... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2023
bertv749
Nice pedestrian path around the lake

Nice lake surrounded by mountains . Occasionally you can see chamois grazing. A very pleasant... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2020
CJ K
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Read all 204 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
88
87
22
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
87
22
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Was disappointed by the run down area and nothing to do except walk around the lake. Would not recommend this as more than a one night stop as we did, but we would not return again even for that

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely stunning. I ran round it, biked round it, swam in it, sat and walked by it, and generally loves it being the centrepiece of our stay.
As a couple we love places with lakes and mountains. My word this lake with the huge swathes of greenery surrounding it is a bit special. The weather was 30 degrees during our stay therefore loads of people including is were swimming in the warm clean and safe lake. If in Nantua and whatever the weather, make sure you make the most of this smashing natural cracker.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Zonderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

lovely little lake in the stunning countryside, would be perfect to cool off on a hot day, shame it was raining as we would have stayed longer in good weather, but beautiful lake, love this area of france.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank fee2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Visited here in May, we had mixed weather, one day hot, cool the next. Mountain walks are lovely if you like walking. If we'd stayed a little longer it would have been lovely to swim and sail on the lake. The town is a little sad, quite a few boarded up shops, but people are friendly and the mountains and waterfall breathtaking (literally once you get to the top!). As an unexpected bonus there a beautiful (if expensive) ladieswear outlet in the town-well worth a look.
Great place for a short break

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We camped overnight at Natua. I will always remember its poignant War Memorial, fittingly situated beside its stunning lake. The memorial remembers and honours those Nantua residents who were torn from their homes and deported to German concentration camps. Few returned. A more fitting place for this memorial would be hard to find. I was never sadder than when photographing this Memorial.

Date of experience: September 2014
2  Thank TheresaC906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews