We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Review Highlights
nice french people

Good water and mountain and nice water and good mountains and repeat again because I need to write... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2023
bertv749
Nice pedestrian path around the lake

Nice lake surrounded by mountains . Occasionally you can see chamois grazing. A very pleasant... read more

Reviewed 3 March 2020
CJ K
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Read all 205 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
88
88
22
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
88
22
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The lake shimmered turquoise, then emerald and sometimes grey as the Sun hid behind some clouds. Very picturesque and the perimeter of the lake is manicured with concrete pavements and benches; very inviting to sit and watch the hungry ducks and squawking coots with the odd beaut of a grebe appearing between dives. All is rosey...
Thereafter, as you round the lake you come upon a megalithic sculpture fashioned by a local artist. As you read the descriptions of the momentous art work the sky darkens and the mood changes. The human fragment prostrate in the stone sepulchre symbolises the Nazi pogrom of December 1943 when more 500 'Jewish' non-persons were transported to the Concentration Camps of Buchenwald, Dora, Ravensbruck and so on. A further postscript details the children captured in April 1944 whose fate was annihilation in the Death Camps. The emaciated figure has within it the ashes of these victims of the holocaust. This is a town that has confronted the past, acknowledging the terrible ethnic cleansing and genocide of WW2.

In the town of Nantua, there is a museum dedicated to the Resistance, many of whose roots grew strong in this area.

Whilst we were walking around the lake there were many teenagers, oblivious to the sculpture and being frolicsome and gently boisterous. None of them seemed to be curious about the masterpiece in stone and the mass disappearing of many of the inhabitants of this interesting town.
Ray & Jeanne

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank raymundh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The lake is beautiful for swiming in 24 g clean water or walking around in the 7.5 km
Unhappily the resistance museum was closed

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Paulo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

After visiting a nearby town we'd stumbled across Lac Nantua - a perfect day out

Would recommend taking a picnic and making a day of it

Gets deep quite quickly but this is good for throwing yourself into the water off the pontoon

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Elle-Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Was disappointed by the run down area and nothing to do except walk around the lake. Would not recommend this as more than a one night stop as we did, but we would not return again even for that

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely stunning. I ran round it, biked round it, swam in it, sat and walked by it, and generally loves it being the centrepiece of our stay.
As a couple we love places with lakes and mountains. My word this lake with the huge swathes of greenery surrounding it is a bit special. The weather was 30 degrees during our stay therefore loads of people including is were swimming in the warm clean and safe lake. If in Nantua and whatever the weather, make sure you make the most of this smashing natural cracker.

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank Zonderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews