We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Food, Great Value!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
511 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Great Food, Great Value!!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at this great place for one night on our drive back from Dijon to Geneva. The hotel has been renovated very recently and they have done a great job!! The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. We got a fantastic deal for half board which included dinner at the chef restaurant attached to the hotel. Dinner was excellent and very generous. The hotel is located on the eastern shore of Nantua Lake, with mountains on both sides - beautiful and relaxing. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    65
    33
    16
See reviews for
42
84
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We received a warm welcome here; the hotel has obviously just been totally renovated, but an excellent job has been done. Our room was sizeable and looked over the lake; the bathroom was lovely and it was very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent; all three of us were very pleased with the food, if slightly overawed by the size of the portions, which were huge. The hotel was very cheap compared with other places where we have stayed, and the restaurant with its beautiful views over the lake was delightful. Thoroughly enjoyable - but I have to say, the town itself is eminently missable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duettist96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Small but clean rooms at an average price. Quiet. Good parking.
The restaurant setting is superb - calm, overlooking the lake, and very good food for the price. Excellent wine list.

This is the 4th time we have stayed here en route to Italy. The staff have always been professional and pleasant. We shall return next year because it's an ideal overnight stop on a long journey.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandloretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Although the rooms and the bathrooms could be updated and a little bigger, they're clean, comfortable and quiet. Some room face the beautiful lake. What shouldn't be missed is the restaurant of the hotel. It's FANTASTIC. The food rivals that of much pricier and fancier restaurants.You won't break the bank either, they have a very reasonaby priced menu around 20 euros. The decor is nice and the dining room faces the lake. A place not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I don't understand why this hotel has had such bad reviews. We've stayed twice now, one night each time, on the drive through the Mont Blanc tunnel to Italy. Its rooms are small and not particularly beautiful, yes, but very clean. The beds are comfortable, and most importantly after a long drive, the position of the place is very quiet! The staff were perfectly friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a little pretentious, but food is good and the lakeside view great. The price, while not rock-bottom cheap, was fair for cordon bleu cuisine, with menus starting at 29 euros. You could always eat in town. The breakfast, likewise, is a bit pricey at 9.50 euros, but there's a wide choice of cereals, croissants etc and again, you don't have to eat there, there's a nice bar on the main street in town. I wouldn't choose this place for a long holiday stay, but at 73 euro for a family room with lake view, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We arrived at the hotel (overnight stay) after a 10 hour drive. We crossed the road and dived into thh lake... Fantastic. Such an idylic location/spot. wonderful scenery. That's were the good bits stop. The rooms however are awful... small and just look dirty... They are obviously cleaned but maintenance is so poor... batch with wrong plugs for teh holes etc etc They were however cheap (circa Euro60 per night). We had however booked the restaurant. What a mistake... Euro 300 bill for 5!! and it was not that great in terms of value... sure some of the dishes were delicious but no starter can be worth Euro20+... If there are 2 of you then perhaps and you want a great view of the lake then great but families.. AVOID! Breakfast was simply awful.. they show you to the ground level (which feels like basement in the hotel... cold cheese, ham and stale bread... NO thanks.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nantua hotels

vienna
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

After two wonderful weeks in Provence and a day in Lyon we headed back to Austria and stopped in Nantua. This was the first time the reviews in Tripad. plus Michelin disappointed me : the hotel was just awful ! I booked a double room with lake view (not that it helped much...) and we got a twin with a window to the parking lot. My HB is french so he managed to get the right room at the end, which was shabby , with old and ugly furniture and definitely not worth the € 70,- (excl. BF). Last time I had such a bad accomodation it was a 10 people dorm in a hostel somewhere in Australia but even that had more atmosphere - and I had to pay only AU$ 15,- for the night ...
The badcloths on the shaky bed smelled musty, there was mould on the tiles in the bathroom. The breakfast was charmless with bad coffee so I decided to invest the € 10.00 in a better one somewhere else (found a good breakfast at a Marchee on the motorway to Geneve).
The only somewhat positive thing in that evening was the dinner which we got without any advanced reservation.

Please avoid this hotel, in your own interest !

  • Liked — Dinner
  • Disliked — Everything else !
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantua
3.2 mi away
Relax-Hotel
Relax-Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nantua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Oyonnax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Melodie
Hotel Melodie
#2 of 6 in Oyonnax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Pierre Blanche
Hotel Pierre Blanche
#3 of 4 in Bellegarde sur Valserine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
7.7 mi away
Central Parc Hotel
Central Parc Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oyonnax
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
10.5 mi away
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
Kyriad Bellegarde Geneve
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-en-Michaille
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere

Property: Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
Address: 13 avenue du Lac, 01130 Nantua, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Nantua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Embarcadere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing