We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect over night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect over night stop”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Our our way back to Paris from the Swiss alps we were looking for some where pretty stay. Nantua is definately a pretty little town in the Rhone Alps, As a family of four we took two adjoining rooms that woked perfectly.

The hotel is fine. Clean, neat and friendly, offering good value for money. Dinner is the restuarant was good, but I still struggle to understand why eating out in Europe is so expensive. Our waiter was fantastic, and kept our kids well entertained with his fun antics, which lt us really relax.

Nothing special, but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    81
    66
    34
    17
See reviews for
42
86
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is ideally situated midway between Lyon and Geneva and very close to the autoroute A43 that goes towards Italy. The town of Nantua is old and a little rundown but takes advantage of a nice and picturesque lake. The accommodations are clean and practical but nothing special. The staff is friendly and ready to assist. Free parking is provided for the guests. What is remarkable and totally unexpected is the high quality of the restaurant. The quality and variety of the dishes proposed rivals almost any offered by much more famous establishment in Paris, Lyon or Strasbourg. The cost is relatively modest and is further mitigated by three fixed menus with prices ranging from €23 to €68. The wine list is extensive and affordable. I recommend their fish based main courses and for dessert, the” Declinaison de chocolat blanc, lait et noir”, a delicious symphony of sweets based on chocolate. Should I be in the neighborhood, I will certainly stop for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: For a lake view the price is higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raanana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Nantua is a sleepy town in April (The museum honoring the deportation of resistsance fighters,doesn't open until May ) and the houses look as if they have seen better days . The hotel is lakeside and easy to find . The lake is very tranquil with a few local fisherman Pleasant promanade to walk or sit on a bench .There is a moving monument to the resistance fighters and a group of Jewish children that were deported from here to Nazi concentration camps .
The hotel,which we picked out of the Logis de France brochure, is very comfortable . The restaurant is obvoiusly well known and popular (We didn't eat supper having taken a heavy lunch that day) but the menu looked tempting The lounge is comfortable with a view of the lake . Free wii fi . Reasonable buffet breakfast with good quality local cheeses-bought
Staff speak goodEnglish and were very helpful

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms (62 euro,) on the ground floor don't have a view of the lake. Bit dated in fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtsraanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marly-le-Roi, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

After 8 hours in the car and a large portion of that stuck in traffic, we arrived after 11 pm. Having warned the owners of the hotel, they were gracious and directed us by phone to our two rooms, which were simple but could use some renovating. They were correctly priced at 62€ a room. The breakfast at 10€ per person (even for the kids) is overpriced for what is for the most part store bought cereals, yogurts, jams, ham and cheese, etc. However, the owner (Mrs.) was friendly and the view on a sunny morning over the lake is splendid!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marley78160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent one night here in October on the way back from Italy. The hotel is modern and the rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are very fine indeed. We arrived on a cold rainy afternoon so the scenic location was not on show that day. We had a triple room, for around Euro 120 and it was spacious and well appointed. Like all modern places, it is a little bland and the service is invisible. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner or breakfast- it looked expensive. A good overnight spot after a big drive.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon
Level Contributor
511 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at this great place for one night on our drive back from Dijon to Geneva. The hotel has been renovated very recently and they have done a great job!! The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. We got a fantastic deal for half board which included dinner at the chef restaurant attached to the hotel. Dinner was excellent and very generous. The hotel is located on the eastern shore of Nantua Lake, with mountains on both sides - beautiful and relaxing. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We received a warm welcome here; the hotel has obviously just been totally renovated, but an excellent job has been done. Our room was sizeable and looked over the lake; the bathroom was lovely and it was very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent; all three of us were very pleased with the food, if slightly overawed by the size of the portions, which were huge. The hotel was very cheap compared with other places where we have stayed, and the restaurant with its beautiful views over the lake was delightful. Thoroughly enjoyable - but I have to say, the town itself is eminently missable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duettist96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantua
3.2 mi away
Relax-Hotel
Relax-Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nantua
26 reviews
7.9 mi away
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#1 of 6 in Oyonnax
74 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Melodie
Hotel Melodie
#2 of 6 in Oyonnax
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Pierre Blanche
Hotel Pierre Blanche
#2 of 4 in Bellegarde sur Valserine
46 reviews
7.7 mi away
Central Parc Hotel
Central Parc Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oyonnax
82 reviews
11.9 mi away
Au Faisan Dore
Au Faisan Dore
#1 of 1 in Neuville-sur-Ain
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere

Property: Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere
Address: 13 avenue du Lac, 01130 Nantua, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Nantua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nantua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Embarcadere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Embarcadere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing