We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT WEEKEND IN EXCELLENT HOTEL !!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellness Hotel Windschar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wellness Hotel Windschar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gais
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND IN EXCELLENT HOTEL !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have chosen the hotel due to reviews published on Tripadvisor and we didn't regret it !!!!!
We stayed at the hotel for a skiing weekend at the end of January.

The hotel is situated in Gais, small, quiet village 5 km away from Brunico, 10 to 15 minutes from Kronplatz by car, and 5 to 10 minutes by car from the Brunico city center.

Hotel has a main buliding and several other buildings in the same street - check it on the hotel website. We had a room on the second floor of the Landhouse which is 80 meters away from the main building - it was ok for us.
The Landhouse has a garage and a slope's storage.
The room was spacious, nicely decorated, warm and cosy with a nice sitting area - exactly like the one on hotel website. You'll find and umbrella and a bathrobes in the room, a small refridgerator, safety deposit box, and a TV. It is a quiet village, so it was perfect for a good night sleep. There are two types of pillows in the room so you can choose if you prefere a soft or a firm one.
The bathroom was small with a bathtube, a bidet, a toilet, and a washbasin - it has a dark brown tiles and looks a little bit claustrophobic and this is my only objection: there are free soap, shower cap, and a liquid soap and shampoo in one, as well as a hairdryer and a radio.
The room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean, towels could be changed on a daily bases if you need.
We had a spacious balcony as well with a view to mountins.
Reception, restaurant and a bar are in the main building.
The food was really great, a variety of everything for breakfast, a soup, salads, sandwiches and pastries served from 2:30 till 5 pm, and a four course dinner from 7 pm: there is an aperitif, salads from a salad bar, warm appetizer, main dish, and a dessert for a dinner.
We didn't go to a wellness or an indoor pool - those are in the adjacent building (just across the main building), but those looked ok on the website.
I don't know how the internet works because we didn't use it, but there is a free wifi in the lobby in the main building where you can find a nice sitting area with several free magazines and newspapers for hotel guests.
The stuff is warm, helpful and friendly: they made our stay at the hotel unforgettable, and we both felt sad when we had to leave.
Special thanks to Slavisa, Ivan, Geza and Vito - they were really great and we felt like we're at home!!!!
At the departure we got a small present, a bottle of spices that is great!!!!
There is a garage behind the main building, as well as a free parking in front of the main building.
We got a free a free weekly ticket for a bus that we'll take you to the different skiing places - the bus stop is just in front of the hotel entrance.
And if you need something, there is a small supermarket, a deli shop and a sports shop in the same street as the hotel.

This is really great hotel with excellent stuff and service, and I strongly reccomend the hotel - you'll not regret it if you choose the Windschar for your hotel in Brunico !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    175
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
385
448
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Home like feeling. Friendly and helpful personnel speaking different languages. Tidy and comfortable rooms. Top-rank restaurant. a lot of events organized by the hotel. Beautiful nature. No one reason not to go....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikoz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

it's by far the best hotel in the area, overall, one of the best hotels we ever have been to.
there is all you need 24 hours a day: excellent food, great location, great staff, good possibilities of sports/activities, great wellness/pools/sauna, ....
a real place to feel good, to feel well-treated, to relax and enjoy!
we will come back in 2 months!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo68-mun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here this summer, our family with 4 children and our aupair. From the moment of arrival until the moment of departure it was great. The hotel is owned and managed by the family Kronbichler. This family is truly amazing, they know every guest by name ( a lot of returning guests and we understand why!) and from breakfast until the last drink in the bar you feelnthat they have it all under control. The hotel is located in Süd-Tirol and the mountains are fantastic to explore, even with young children. The city of Bruneck is close by and fantastic to just visit more then once, a very nice historic center with good quality restaurants and terraces. In the reception there is a binder with all kind of activities from young families to the more experienced hikers. The hotel facilities are very good, swimming pool and summer garden, spa with indoors swimming pool. Restaurant and bar have a good selection of food. When you stay like us for more then a week then you will choose half board. Every evening a great salad buffet with a lot of variation, the menu it self is also from a very good quality. We stayed in a large family suite with a terrace which was a very good choice. It is located 80 meters from the main house which for us was not a problem at all, actually it was quite nice. We can highly recommend this hotel to everyone! Thanks to the team of hotel Windschar we had a great summer holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestinMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windschar, Proprietario at Wellness Hotel Windschar, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear family P.!
Thank you very much for your beautiful evaluation of our Hotel Windschar on tripadvisor.com.
We are very glad that you spent a relaxing holiday in South Tyrol :-)
Thank you for your praise of the Hotel facilities, the food and the service! It is a great motivator for our staff and for us, family Kronbichler.

We look forward to seeing you again soon! Greetings to Rozemarijn, Daniel, Lars Oliver and Sofie Neeltje :-)

Cordially, yours
Monika Kronbichler with family
and the Windschar staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Windschar is a very good hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, restaurant to high standards, excellent every single meal and service(very honest prices to the bar and wine list!!). Nice spa and swimming pools( kids one was however empty).
Don't expect Dolomites beautiful view this is a small town close to Brunico. Rooms can be quite noisy in the morning due to deliveries to the front placed supermarket, try to avoid 1st floor ones.Even if welcome kids the hotel lack any activity for them and this is a shame. Overall a good choice even if location is not the Classic silent mountain chalet.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuCa1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windschar, Proprietario at Wellness Hotel Windschar, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guests!

Thank you for your nice comment on tripadvisor.de. We were very pleased about your praises of the rooms, food and service.
Yes, we are located close to Brunico and it is just a 20 minute's drive to the heart of the Dolomites.

We hope to seeing you again soon!
Best regards

Monika Kronbichler with family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed with our friends for one night 18/2-19/2 and without any doubt this hotel is remarkable. The warm and personal welcome from Mr. and Mrs. Kronbichler and the eye for detail makes this hotel a very nice place to stay.
The Kronbichlers and the staff are friendly, lending a helping hand without asking and the rooms and facilities are simply great. Nothing seems too much trouble.
Food is very good, and the winelist extensive and reasonably priced.
Yes, we will recommend this hotel to our friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaJeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italian Dolomites
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We first visited this delightful hotel about five years ago, and have returned several times since. Its location is ideal both for those seeking an active vacation, be it walking, skiing or cycling, and for those content to tour around the splendid mountain setting. The staff are uniformly charming and friendly, and the whole experience reveals high standards of management by the family proprietors. The facilities on offer are impressive: well furnished and comfortable bedrooms, spacious public areas in which to sit and relax, and first class 'wellness facilities', including a well equipped gymnasium. It is the food, however, which really sets this hotel apart from the competition - which is stiff in this beautiful part of northern Italy. The day starts with an outstanding breakfast buffet, featuring a fine array of locally sourced produce. If you miss out on lunch, there is a mid afternoon snack available, including soup (a speciality of the kitchen), cold meats, cheeses and Tyrolean cakes. Dinners are the highlight of the day, with some five courses, starting with an impressive salad buffet, and delicately flavoured terrines. This delicate touch continues into the beautifully subtle flavours of the main courses (which include a 'wellness option' for the health conscious)., whilst the sweet courses are a triumph. We have a handful of favourite hotels across Europe, but the Windschar probably tops the list.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windschar, Inhaber at Wellness Hotel Windschar, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you that you shared the experience of your vacation here on TripAdvisor.
I'm extremely happy that you were again satisfied with the services we provided you, with all our facilities and especially with the the food that you consider outstanding. As you say, it is in fact a point that differentiates us from our competitors and we receive many compliments for it. But honestly, every time we hear it, it makes us happy and I will make sure that I forward your compliments to the whole staff.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again, hoping that it will be in a very short time!

Kind regards,
Monika Kronbichler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gais
4.3 mi away
Hotel Petrus
Hotel Petrus
#2 of 12 in Riscone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
Rubner's Hotel Rudolf
#1 of 12 in Riscone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Innerhofer
Hotel Innerhofer
#2 of 5 in Gais
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Langgenhof
Hotel Langgenhof
#5 of 34 in Brunico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anewandter Historic Hotel
Anewandter Historic Hotel
#1 of 2 in Villa Ottone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenblick
Parkhotel Schoenblick
#7 of 34 in Brunico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellness Hotel Windschar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellness Hotel Windschar

Property: Wellness Hotel Windschar
Address: Via Ulrich von Taufers 3, 39030 Gais, Brunico, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Brunico > Gais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellness Hotel Windschar 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome as our guests in the **** Holiday and Wellness Hotel Windschar at the entrance of the Ahr valley in sunny South Tyrol.The most precious days of your year will become an unforgettable experience. Informal and friendly atmosphere, cosiness and high standard South Tyrolean cuisine, coupled with Mediterranean refinement, are the characteristics of our wellness hotel, which we run with much love and personal commitment. Enjoy the fabulous wellness area with indoor swimming pool, whirl pools and sauna. Experience a new dimension of well-being in our unusually large garden area with the solar heated garden pool (summer). All the rooms are furnished with much love, very individually and comfortably, in native woods. At the **** Holiday and Wellness Hotel Windschar you will find your own personal refuge for your well earned rest and relaxation. We look forward to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Wellness Hotel Windschar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Wellness Hotel Windschar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing