We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars are not enough !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Miniera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Miniera
Certificate of Excellence
Widecombe in the Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five stars are not enough !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

La Miniera is a family run hotel in a beautiful part of tusacany.
The food is fabulous and it is very comfortable
The swimming pool just what one needs on a hot day

But most of all the staff are fantastic, always friendly, helpful and good humoured

Can not praise it too much

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmerhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    78
    18
    13
    6
See reviews for
17
119
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Five of us stayed at La Miniera for 3 nights in April of 2010. The owner, Stefania, is lovely. The food at her restaurant in the building was very good. Breakfast was included in the rate and was very good...wonderful bread, cheese, ham, a cappucino, etc. It is an easy walk into town. The nearby cemetery is very interesting. The mining museum is next door and fun to tour.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasialouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

The hotel is conveniently located for Pisa, Florence, San Gimignano, Sienna and Lajatico...set in the rolling Tuscan countryside in the buildings of an old copper mine that is now a mining museum.
The hotel and facilities are spotless and the staff could not be more friendly and efficient.
The restaurant serves fantastic Tuscan cuisine inside or outside the hotel.
The village is 5 minutes away and also has a selection of good places to eat.
I will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Booked this having seen good reviews on trip advisor. Rooms were comfortable and clean in quiet location 10 minutes walk from the main village. Food was excellent and good value , handy as even in July there was nothing open in the village. Another restaurant next door but didn't try as preferred to sit out under the trees. Only downside is this is a converted mine building and whilst full of charm did not have aircon which in 90 degree July heat was a downside. Very handy for San Gimignano , also visit Populonia on the coast.

  • Liked — Food and views
  • Disliked — Lack of aircon
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2007

This was a lovely place to stay, with a warm welcome, right in the middle of the countryside but with 2 good trattorias downstairs. our room was clean, pleasant and spacious with a great view. The accommodation is in the old mine admin building and we enjoyed a visit to the mine which has recently been opened to visitors. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, Volterra is well worth a visit, Lucca, Pisa, Siena and San Gimignano are all within an hour's drive or so, and the nearby village of Montecatini is worth a visit to marvel at the way it's been built into the hillside (I can say from experience that there are some streets it's best not to drive up, you might never get down again!). The downside, if there is one, is that it's a bit out of the way and it takes a while to get anywhere (if you drive slowly and get lost as we do). But the views make up for it. We were lucky while we were there, there was a local regional food event and there was a dinner at La Miniera, serving local specialities and local wine served by a couple of sommeliers - fantastic!

  • Liked — warm welcome
  • Disliked — remote location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2007

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like Royalty. The owner, she is so lovely and kind. Her cooking is FANTASTIC, the local wines she offered were superb. Very clean, neat and tidy rooms, a quiet location and lovely view. Perfect spot for day trips within the region. Would highly recommend this residence/hotel for anyone looking for a true Italian experience. We hope to return someday. Grazie infinite La Miniera!

  • Liked — The view, the food, the owner, everything!
  • Disliked — we loved it all!
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsClean40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

Spent 4 days motoring in surrounding Tuscan country side. Well located to visit Volterra, Pisa, Siena, Lucca and Florence. Attractive and cosy ambiance with large clean rooms. The trattoria, downstairs serves superlative Tuscan cuisine. Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montecatini Val di Cecina
16.8 mi away
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
Hotel Baia del Sorriso
#7 of 13 in Castiglioncello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
8.2 mi away
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
Agrihotel Il Palagetto
#4 of 24 in Volterra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
16.2 mi away
Agriturismo degli Alpaca
Agriturismo degli Alpaca
#3 of 9 in Pontedera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggio ai Legni
21.3 mi away
Agriturismo Cameli
Agriturismo Cameli
#4 of 21 in Certaldo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
11.7 mi away
Tenuta La Lupa
Tenuta La Lupa
#2 of 6 in Castellina Marittima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Miniera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Miniera

Property: La Miniera
Address: Localita la Miniera 12, 56040, Montecatini Val di Cecina, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Montecatini Val di Cecina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montecatini Val di Cecina
Hotel Class:3 star — La Miniera 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Miniera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing