We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cold night in Cologne”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gremberghoven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Hotel Koeln-Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gremberghoven
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A cold night in Cologne”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Having stayed in a couple of B & B chain of hotels before I didn't hesitate to book a night in this one. However this experience has really put me off the B & B brand. On arrival we were assigned a room - but when we got there it hadn't been made up. So, back to reception where we were given a new room. This one was just about OK, apart from one of the lights in the bathroom being out and the bedspread looking pilled and a bit grubby. However, by now it was too late to start looking for alternatives. The next problem was the free Wi-Fi - apart from having to jump through hoops to sign up, it would not give me a pass code - so I had to go to reception to get it sorted out. On the way I pased the vending machine which I noticed was also out of order. Then we noticed that the room was getting colder and colder. Putting on the heating system just blew more cold air into the room. When it got to 17 Celsius, I went to reception for the third time. This time I was told that they had just changed the HVAC system to a summer setting - so we could have air-conditioning but no heating. The maximum temperature that day was 15 celsius and it fell to 9 celsius overnight - oh and our room appeared to be north facing so it was never going to get any sun. We spent a miserable, cold evening. Then, in the morning, the breakfast was easiily the worst we've had in a B & B. This is a budget hotel chain, so expectations are low - but this site could even meet that standard.

Room Tip: Either go in winter when there will be heating, or summer when there will be aircon. Don't go i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    30
    6
    11
See reviews for
18
25
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osnabruck, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

As I reviewed the fantastic prizeotel in Bremen (which is also a budget hotel although it costs a couple of EUR more per night) a few days ago, I was interested to see what the B&B would be like. After all, I'd never stayed in one before. I used to see them all over the place near highways and I'd always imagined them to be like Accor's Etap (now re-branded to Ibis Budget) franchise.

And indeed, the similarities are striking. B&B offers hotel rooms at bargain prices (sometimes starting as low as 45 EUR for a double room), advertises its style as basically no frills/no nonsense and parts of the concept are the same (location near highway ramps, airports, industrial estates; payment upon check-in; PIN codes for access to rooms, ...)

Check-in went smoothly, although the receptionist and her friend were more interested in doing their nails and watching TV. Other patrons seemed a bit seedy but may have been innocent travelling salespeople or construction workers. We did not get a receipt (we paid cash so not really a big deal). The room itself was very small but clean enough - the bathroom, too. How I hate shower curtains in hotels - they are sooo unhygienic. The rest was pretty unimpressive ... very bare, stuffy (a/c did not work or was shut off). No luggage rack, just a small wardrobe. A bit worn, scratch marks on one of the walls. I actively disliked the color scheme (bright greens, dark blues). The beds were firm enough but the pillows were a joke they were so thin. You had to fold them to get at least some neck support.

Not located in one of the better neighborhoods. Not many dinner options: a KFC and a McDonald's about one km up the road - that's it. Close to the airport, so convenient for us as we were flying out of CGN the next morning.

A really average kind of budget hotel, although I felt this one to be unnecessarily grim and depressing. Totally okay if it's for one night or if you are on a tight budget. Do not stay here for any kind of romantic atmosphere or nicety.

I give this hotel an "average" rating just because the room was clean - otherwise I would have gone lower.

PROs
- good location in relation to the major highways and CGN airport
- inexpensive
- reasonably clean

CONs
- disinterested staff @ reception
- shower curtains
- stuffy room & a/c not working
- desolate/boring/mildly disturbing neighborhood
- very functional, bordering on the austere
- drab color scheme
- thin pillows

Room Tip: I think it is useless as all rooms should be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

During an exhibition in Cologne, we stayed here with our entire team - aprox. 15 people.
The hotel is easy to reach by car or train.

The rooms are small, but clean - very basic; with a LCD TV; a comfortable bed and a small working area with chair. The bathroom is also very small - but equipped with a nice shower.

The breakfast is "buffet style" - also basic: juices; breads, a few fruits - and some nice cereals.

The great advantage of this place is its "value for money price" and its location near to a train station (3-5 minutes walk only): from here you get to Cologne Messe/fair in 15 minutes by train. Easy and stress-free.

The disadvantages: When the hotel is full (during exhibition times), the internet access gets down due to the number of users; the hotel should invest in access!

Also the area in the breakfast-room is too small: people start to queue.... to get a table and some food.

Right next to the hotel you´ll find a KFC; next to the KFC a gas station with a small supermarket and in 10 minutes walk a McDonalds. That´s all in easy walking distance.
But you will not find any real restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_brd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

This hotel is about 6km from the airport but very easy to get to as it is next to Frankfurterstrasse station-1 stop by train from the airport. When you get off the train (if you are coming from the airport) turn right and leave the station by that exit, then turn right again and the hotel is straight in front of you. If you turn left off the train, you have approx 10 minute walk which is very dark late at night.

The hotel is basic and very functional. We had a family room for 4 whch was quite cramped but for one night following a late arrival, it was fine. The best thing about the hotel was the price-59 euros for a family room.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so there isn't much to do in the surrounding area but for a cheap one nighter, it's fine.

If you arrive after 10pm, you need to ring the hotel in advance. The staff there speak good english. You pay upfront and they give you a code to get through the front door and then this code gets you into your room. It is very straightforward. There is also a check in machine but this was broken when we stayed so I wouldn't rely on it.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancsman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gremberghoven
0.1 mi away
Ibis Koeln Airport
Ibis Koeln Airport
#74 of 261 in Cologne
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Koeln Porz
ibis budget Koeln Porz
#91 of 261 in Cologne
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Terminal
Hotel Terminal
#221 of 261 in Cologne
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
#150 of 261 in Cologne
140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
5.0 mi away
SMARTY Cologne City Center Hotel | Hostel | Boardinghouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Hotel Koeln-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Hotel Koeln-Airport

Property: B&B Hotel Koeln-Airport
Address: Lina-Bommer-Weg 3, 51149 Gremberghoven, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Gremberghoven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gremberghoven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Hotel Koeln-Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Hotel Koln-Airport is located in Gremberghoven, which is about 8 kilometres away from Cologne/Bonn Airport and 10 kilometres from the city centre. The A4 motorway can be reached within 1 kilometre. At the Hotel free parking is available (subject to availability). The 104 single, double and spacious family rooms are equipped with television incl. Free Sky-TV, desk, bathroom with shower and WC, soundproofed windows, air conditioning and free WiFi. The breakfast buffet can be booked for a small additional fee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing