We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quite hotel”
Review of Sa Muvara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sa Muvara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aritzo
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    37
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
63
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zwijndrecht, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel is one of the most beautiful in the mountains of Sardegna! Excellent swimmingpool, great sun area with comfortable longchairs & parasols next to it. The room are super clean and spacious. excellent shower & bath, beautiful bathroom. Excellent sleeping quality beds. Breakfast very diverse. We had half-pension, and the menu is every evening so diverse and large, qualitative and quantitative, that we couldn't finish all our plates, even if -as was the case! - we would have wanted to eat it all... really great dinners!!! The owners are very friendly, and are eager to share their experience of the neighbourhood with you. Excellent hiking possibilities. THE place to stay when in that part of the Island. We'll certainly be back, if possible soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc En Tinneke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I had a great experience here, excellent meal, and breakfast realy complete. The room was very cozy and the shower delicious. The rooms with balcony to the pool has wonderful views. Every one was polite and want to help you.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony to the pool has wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Cardeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed as it should be. It's a large domain with a large pool and rather good accommodation. The style wasn't 100% Italian for as far as we can compare.
Even though we went at the end of the summer season, the staff was very helpful and friendly. To confirm earlier comments: the food comes in great numbers... At a certain point, we felt guilty to leave several dishes untouched, just because we. Couldn't eat any more.

Nice hotel, for us it was a good stop when getting from south to north, but not for a long stay. We could recommend it to mountain-lovers! For them it's a great to start their trips from!
For al our fellow newly weds, I would recommend to look for another alternative near the coast. Unless you need a stop from south to north or you love the mountains ;)

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bouke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillegom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is an okay place to stay but there are some issues with this hotel. The setting of this hotel is pretty and the rooms are spaceous and clean but are rather dull as well and lacking personality and atmosphere. There is a tv in the room but every channel is in Italian so no morning news for me.
Something did annoy me alot and that concerns the food they serve at the restaurant. As i am a vegetarian i was not happy to find the choice was very limited. Vegetarians can eat vegetables right? Well, not in this place as the chef puts meat into every dish. Fortunately the Italian cuisine offers meat-free pasta dishes so i did not starve. Nor did anyone else as the food arrives on the tables in such unbelievable large quantities it was shamefull really. They waste so much food in this place which is so not acceptable in this day and age.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollenmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 10 days in early July.
The hotel is spacious, spread out over a hillside with an excellent and good-sized pool. Our 2nd floor room was large and had its own west-facing terrace. Breakfast is a basic, but adequate cold buffet. The restaurant staff are friendly and all speak good English, especially the Maître D. Dinner is traditional Italian fare with generous helpings though the sweets are pretty standard. The coffee was disappointing, unusually for Italy. We ended up going into Aritzo to get a decent cup.
Because of its hillside location and tiered buildings there are lots of steps, There are bikes for hire, free of charge, though you need to be fit to cope with the hills.
Reception staff are extremely helpful and there are stacks of leaflets with ideas and suggestions on what to do.
Aritzo is well located for walking in the local hills, though a car is a must to reach out of the way spots.

Room Tip: Don't expect English language tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay551858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I chose to stay in Sa Muvara for a couple of days because of positive reviews on internet. The garden and pool area are nice. Room is relatively modest but the view from the balcony is fine. There are no English TV channels available.

The main problem with this hotel is its kitchen. I assume that anyone going to Italy for holiday is counting on good food. That's one of the main reasons to travel to Italy. Unfortunately, Su Muvara's kitchen disappointed us big time. I have rarely eaten such poor food in Italy. Also, the breakfast was poor. Unfortunately, there is no alternative for the hotel restaurant nearby.

I am surprised by such positive reviews for this place on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aritzo
28.3 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
929 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Miramonti Seulo
65.0 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 mi away
T Hotel
T Hotel
#3 of 34 in Cagliari
1,930 reviews
68.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
826 reviews
26.9 mi away
Galanias Hotel & Retreat Domos Galanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Muvara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Muvara Hotel

Property: Sa Muvara Hotel
Address: Loc.Funtana Rubia, 08031 Aritzo, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Aritzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aritzo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sa Muvara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sa Muvara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Muvara Hotel Aritzo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing