We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, quirky, wonderful!”
Review of Il Torchio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Torchio
Ranked #2 of 4 Calco B&B and Inns
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, quirky, wonderful!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A very friendly welcome with fresh strong Italian coffee. This friendliness continued throughout our stay. Marcela was like a jolly aunt, and her husband and son were also lovely and helpful. On our second night, they invited us to a little gathering in their neighbour's garden and gave us several glasses of wine on the house. It was really above and beyond what we could have expected!! Many of the neighbours spoke English and all were friendly - it was great to get a bit of an insight into the neighbourhood and culture.

The dinner was wonderful: tasty, fresh, plentiful wine, excellent conversation (pidgin Italian and pidgin English!), great value. The dishes put out for the antipasti course were so big that we assumed it was the main and ate far too much! Breakfast was also abundant.

Marcela and Franco are artists. The decor of the house is quirky and very charming, but not for everyone.

Fabulous location. We spent a few days exploring Lake Como and the surrounding area, a day in trendy Milan (by train to avoid parking issues), and a day at beautiful, historic Bergamo.

Driving through the village was a bit ropey - but so is much of the driving in Italy!

Just wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresmyhatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We cannot recommend this place enough. An amazing value B & B with completely unique decoration and friendly and welcoming hosts in Marcella, Franco and family. We had the pleasure of staying at Il Torchio recently for just a two night stay but in that short time we recieved wonderful hospitality, advice and information on the local area, great home-cooked food and even a lift and pick up from the local station when we didn't want to use our car to drive to Milan. Our room was full of antique furniture and decorations, pictures and other curios. Even the bathroom, though a little on the small side as is built in to the room, was fantastic in its unique deco.

All in all a completely unique and unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gentlemanrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Great people and experience staying wth Marcella, Franco and family. Loved every bit of it except the mosquitos in the lakes area. Will go back again without doubt!

Rooms clean, beds comfortable and rooms cluttered with art and collections but very interesting. Owners wonderful, friendly and food and breakfast best we have had in Italy. Dinner option is worth taking, as all food regional delicacies prepared by excellent chef Marcella , and available at 20 Euros per person including wine and coffee and an aperitif if you are good!

Location out of way of larger towns but central to visiting all the lakes and cities in Lombardy, so good for touring. Central Lecco better than than the guidebooks describe and good for shopping.
Varenna nicest town to visit, but be aware of raw sewage polution in sea and beach in town below Hotel Royal Victoria!!!
Eat locally at the La Porta restaurant in riverside village of Brivio, only 10 minutes away, for a bargain fixed price of 11 Euros per person choosing the fixed price 'Menu Fisso' for 3 dishes including wine and coffee, food very good as well! Only valid Monday to Friday and Saturday lunch.

Room Tip: Room 2 had great views over the nearby hills, but ask for some of the drawers to be emptied if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASCARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for 7 nights, and were welcomed by the whole family. We particularly enjoyed Marcela's delicious suppers. Our room had magnificent views and we were able to relax in the peace and quiet of lovely surroundings. We were advised about places to visit and of how to take the train into Milan, this is essential as roads are busy and parking would be impossible! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGran53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calco
0.8 mi away
1711 Ti Sana Detox Retreat & Spa
2.6 mi away
Castello Cernusco Lombardone
Castello Cernusco Lombardone
#1 of 1 in Cernusco Lombardone
35 reviews
5.1 mi away
Il Prato delle Lucciole
Il Prato delle Lucciole
#1 of 1 in Torre de Busi
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oasi di Galbusera Bianca - Agriturismo Bio di Charme
0.2 mi away
Al Roncaccio
Al Roncaccio
#1 of 4 in Calco
29 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Locanda Al Berso
#3 of 4 in Calco
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Torchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Torchio

Property: Il Torchio
Address: Loc. Vescogna Via Ghislanzoni 24 | Calco, 23885 Calco, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Calco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Calco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Il Torchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Torchio Italy/Calco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing