We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great property for a family get together”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Lindale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel V
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great property for a family get together”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This property is in a quiet hamlet just of the main road , so has easy access to Grange Over Sands, 2 miles away.
There is ample parking, we had 3 cars and all parked without a problem.
We rented the property for a 90th birthday family get together.There were 12 of us ranging from 5year olds to 90.The property had enough bedrooms (6) and bathrooms (5).Two of the bedrooms were on the ground floor which was ideal as a member of our party had difficulties getting about.The bathrooms were either ensuite or next to the bedroom which meant everyone had their privacy.The layout of the property meant that you could have quiet time or be together as a group, as there is a large kitchen with a dinning/seating area ,plus a large room with a more formal dinning option with 3 sofa's round a wood burner.This room we used a lot as it felt quite cosy.There was also a large TV lounge at the opposite end of the property.The kitchen and bathrooms are modern and spacious.
There is outside space at the front of the property with a picnic table and a patio set perfect for sunny days, this is accessable from the kitchen dinner.
The only negative aspects to the property are that the floors are wooden with no carpets so sound travels.The property is looking a bit tired ie needs paint work touching up and a few little repairs could do with carrying out.There is also a damp problem in the large TV lounge
which could be an issue for some people.The odour is being disguised by air fresheners.
To the rear of the property are terraced areas with steep steps not suitable for un supervised children, this area has been neglected, which is a pitty as it has wonderful views of the surrounding countryside.
The negatives didn't spoil our break and I would think this could be a great place for a Xmas break.Without the negatives I would have given it 5 stars as everyone enjoyed them selves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large kitchen dinner, great place to gather.
Liked least: The damp odour in the TV lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingridn44...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great party house”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The house is set in a lovely quiet village with Grange-over-sands within easy striking distance. The house easily accommodated all 13 of us with ample parking for four cars. The well appointed kitchen diner was excellent allowing cooking and socialising to go hand in hand. We all had a wonderful time. The only negatives are that the house could do with a lick of paint and there is a damp problem in the downstairs shower room and the sitting room where the TV is, though there is a dehumidifier in there. If these issues are resolved I would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great kitchen diner definitely the hub of the house
Liked least: damp smell in the TV room and the downstairs shower room
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alloa
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
funkyfin2...
Stafford UK
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic House with tons of space in a great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Meathop Hall last week with our extended family. A family of 5, a couple and another family of 4. We were very well catered for with 6 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms.

On arrival we were left two lovely cakes to use and plenty of domestic items like bin liners and dishwasher tablets. Very useful and thoughtful. The kitchen and rooms were large, spacious and served us very well.

We went to the local hotel/pub at the caravan site just up the road which served lovely home cooked food and even though they were busy and we hadn't booked let us eat.

The location of the Hall is also fantastic with great access to the south, central and Western lakes...you couldn't ask for more.

We also had our dog with us who was most welcome by the owners and loved his stay as well.

My only small negative would be the house could do with decorating in some places but given the place is Circa 17century it's not surprising...keeping on top of something this size would take constant work. This was a minor issue though and didn't detract from our overall fab experience. Would definitely love to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Colne
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing