We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostellerie Kemmelberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kemmel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. We had a double room with jacuzzi and the view was wonderful ! The restaurant was super good too : we ate fish and meat and it was just perfect (the service too). The perfect place to get away from everyday-life.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveViktoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us. We are heapy to read you had a very nice stay at Hostellerie Kemmelberg.
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie Kemmelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

the hotel is situated well off the beaten track in the middle of a wood(sat nav good idea) .The bedrooms were excellent but perhaps I should have gone for a valley view rather than a woodland view as the views from the front of the hotel are spectacular. Very good for WW! visits. Food excellent as was the service. The owners spent a lot of time talking to us the morning we left and were very interesting. They have plans for so much more

Room Tip: choose one over looking the front as the valley in front of the house is spectacular
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamtart_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy you liked your stay with Hostellerie Kemmelberg. Hope to see you again in the near future!
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came to Belgium for three days,spending two night here. A beautiful hotel in a lovely location. Slightly tricky to find on first approach but well worth the climb.
Staff very helpful and friendly. Food excellant served in beautiful surroundings.
Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy you liked your stay with Hostellerie Kemmelberg.
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for one night whilst touring the WW1 area. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. There are fantastic views right to Lille and Vimy Memorial which were pointed out by the staff (binoculars also available). We ate in the restaurant and had the set Gastro meal which was exceptional both in taste and presentation. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was also very good. We have nothing bad to say about our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jsjt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are always happy to read that our guests had a lovely time staying with us. Hope to see you back soon again.
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were visiting the sights of WW1 so wanted a nice hotel, centrally placed, with good food. This hotel has it all - superb location with stunning views over the valley (note, standard rooms are small, but immaterial to us), exceptional dinner, more than sufficient breakfast and extremely helpful and pleasant staff.

Note - if you're visiting for WW1 experiences, do make sure you visit the Kemmel tourist office first for eg access to some sites.

Room Tip: Valley views are superb
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckgdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks for your visit to our hotel. We are happy that you liked your stay!
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It's always interesting reading other reviews of the same place-much of both the positive and negative views are,in my view, correct-it depends on how you choose to respond.
We spent the last weekend at Hostellerie Kemmelberg with another couple.We had very different rooms each costing the same-1 was very small but with a stunning view over the valley and a lovely balcony from which to view it.The other was at the back of the hotel with a view over the car park but was very large with a "space age"bathroom(open to the bedroom but with a separate loo).
The breakfast was fresh:simple continental style but the waitress had difficulty keeping it stocked so that each individual item had frequently run out and each morning we needed to ask for fresh juice,bread etc. It always arrived but one doesn't need to be in a hurry or impatient.The views from the breakfast room were sufficient to keep one occupied for hours anyway.We watched a nuthatch to-ing and fro-ing from her nest in a hollow on a tree next to the window and a pigeon sitting quietly on her nest.
The evening meals were delicious although very expensive.We opted for a set tasting menu on the first night and they happily swapped things around a little to accommodate the fact that none of us wanted 1 particular course.
On the second night the head waiter was amazingly helpful as we each made our different selections from the A La Carte.He took time to listen properly to our likes and was clever enough to recognise that I would want to choose something I never eat usually whereas others preferred to choose safely food that they knew.Our dining experience on that evening ,we all agreed ,was 1 of our best ever.(We all eat out in a wide range of places/circumstances)
There were a couple of issues re. housekeeping that I believe were taken on board-nothing to spoil our enjoyment of the w/e.No hairdryer for the first 24 hours was a pain but eventually sorted.
Would I/we stay there again?Without a doubt!Our friend described it as a "fairytale w/e"and was busy planning how soon she could return.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions carefully and make your choice!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190756Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks for your positive review. We are always happy to see how people find their stay at our hotel. We will be happy to welcome you back!
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Old fashioned quality with a ncie view,
We stayd only overnight with a breakfast.
Nice looking area with wonderfull view
Owners were very nice and friendly
We will come back to try out the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 911rs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe V, Owner at Hostellerie Kemmelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your fine review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to see you again.
- Philippe & Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kemmel
5.8 mi away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
421 reviews
6.0 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
821 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Recour
Hotel Recour
#1 of 6 in Poperinge
187 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
Inter Hotel Belle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bailleul
60 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Callecanes
Hotel Callecanes
#4 of 6 in Poperinge
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Kemmelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Kemmelberg

Address: Kemmelbergweg 34, Kemmel, Heuvelland 8956, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Heuvelland > Kemmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kemmel
Price Range: £99 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Kemmelberg 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostellerie Kemmelberg is a 4-star rated hotel located on Flanders highest hill "Kemmelberg". It has 21 rooms of which 11 offer a superb view on the French-Flemish plain. The hotel is ideally located for those who want to have to good rest, a romantic week-end or those who want to visit Ypres, Poperinge, the Belgian coast or Northern-France (Lille, Cassel, Dunkerque, ...). There is also a well known gastronomical restaurant (with the top chef Bart Dhont). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostellerie Kemmelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing