We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
262
168
39
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
168
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelvalley viewfantastic viewsdining roomsat navbeautiful locationwar gravesfriendly and helpful staffwould stay againexcellent foodspa bathset menujunior suitebed was very comfortablea la carteone night stayreturn visit
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at the Hostellerie for one night whilst visiting the battlefields and war memorials and is located only a few kilometres from the main sites. Our rooms were adequately sized for a one night stay but would be too small for longer stays with the same applying to the bathrooms. However all very clean with slippers and bathrobes being provided. The bar is very good for an evening drink with superb views over the valley and the same for the breakfast room.
We did not dine in the restaurant as we were going to watch the Last Post being played in Ypres but has a good reputation and comments from those who have stayed previously.
Overall extremely good value, great location and equally a great breakfast and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley will have superb views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We attended Messines with the London Scottish Regiment for the 100 year anniversary of the battle. The hotel was perfect, high up on Mont Kemmel, fantastic views of Heuvelland, (hilly land) below. This area is charming, pretty little villages, bumpy hills, pretty farms, all beautifully maintained. Our room was large enough for us and two kids, bathroom again fine, all clean. The hotel is very nice, good bar for pre dinner drinks, incredible balcony for dinner outside with views to die for and a beautiful panelled dining room. Ibrahim, the lebanese maitre'd, was charming and looked after us very well, he even took our 8 year old daughter in to the kitchen to meet the chef! The real star of this hotel is the restaurant. Our meal was the best we have eaten in some time, typical of some french hotels, the rooms are very reasonable, with the restaurant taking a large percentage of the final bill! But IT IS worth it! The owner Kristine was lovely and nothing was too much trouble, she allowed us to check out late on the last day. This area is very special, for its dreadful history, its beautiful countryside, Ypres nearby, plenty of places to eat/relax, museums and this great hotel. We WILL be back, we love it here.

Room Tip: Go for the view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandkwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location on the top of the hill the view when I was there was great the late night sun was dropping photos were fantastic,the only sad part was thinking about all the young men that lost there lives in this area years ago.But on a happy note the breakfast was brill as much as you could eat

Room Tip: cant say much about other rooms my room was just perfect
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank minstrel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great stay in an independent hotel. Fantastic views over the valley. Convenient for sightseeing in a beautiful part of Belgium. Restaurants only a short drive away if not dining in. Friendly and helpful staff suggested a great running route and good local beer and wine. Rooms compact and a little quirky, but very clean, and bed wonderfully comfortable. Hot breakfast is available on request in addition to tasty cold options that one would expect. Hope to go back.

Room Tip: Choose the valley view - it's what makes the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Six of us recently toured Flanders in old MG cars and stopped for two nights at this hotel. Our rooms were not the largest we have stayed in but they were beautifully clean and comfortable and, being situated on the top of the only hill, we had a wonderful view as far as the eye could see. Breakfast was a delight and dinner was superb. We ate superb food and drank excellent wines outside, on the covered verandah, and were looked after by the very charming Lebanese Maitre d'. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was served with pleasure, a smile and his excellent attention to detail. Our stay would not have been half as good without his service. We have very happy memories of this hotel and would return again.

Room Tip: Room 104 is a little larger and has the wonderful view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hezangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews