We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, relaxing, peaceful, holiday cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your own pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your own pool
Your own pool One of two large terraces
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Your own pool
Your own pool
One of two large terraces
Living room
Ground floor Double room
Ground floor Double room
Ground floor Shower room
First Floor Double room
First floor corridor
First floor Twin room
First floor bathroom
First floor bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Hilaire-sur-Benaize, Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, relaxing, peaceful, holiday cottage!”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just got back from a week's holiday at Willow Cottage and thought it was fantastic!
We were a group of friends in our 30's travelling with an 18month old child and found Willow cottage totally suitable! We were greeted upon arrival by Claudine who is a lovely lady that was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay! On our first night when the supermarket was closed she even helped us order some food and go to collect it and included a quick tour of the local area! There was also a number of basic items upon arrival including milk, eggs, cereal, water, sugar, jam, and wine which was all very much appreciated!
The cottage was a short journey away from Le Blanc (15 mins car journey) and located in a lovely area with many places to visit.. we really enjoyed "angles sur anglin" for a trip out!
The outside area at the cottage was great for outside dining and evening drinks as there was both a BBQ & chiminea! The pool was a real bonus and very safe for children as entirely gated. There was also access to a small rowing boat which we used to explore the local river & Claudine was able to arrange for us to have bicycles available too! Initially we were a little concerned by the previous review left but we can honestly say we did not find any of the points raised to be of any concern. There were flies but only what would be expected when staying in the countryside & the weather was warm (reaching 32 celcius) but again it was bearable and fans were provided in the house to use! We would have loved to stay longer and would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful country holiday break with realistic expectations!
Thankyou Claudine for making us feel very welcome we had a fantastic holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Dear Susan,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was really happy to meet all of you and wish you all the very best.
I hope you will come back to visit in the future.

Best regards,
Claudine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nattyn00
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Having a boisterous 17 month old, i was initially a bit concerned about the pool. But there's a very secure gate all the way round. He loved the pool, which an adult can stand up in. Claudine provided a very clean and comfortable travel cot (we brought our own as we have seen some awful cots on our travels but it didn't get unpacked!) Complete with pillows and a sleeping bag. There is also a great high chair here.

This place is within very beautiful grounds and is about a 10-15 minute drive to le blanc. It hit 30 several times during our visit and the pool was very welcome!

We had no problems with flies or the pool catching feet. I'd recommend a car as the whole area is beautiful. There is a bbq and a chimnea and we spent most evenings on the terrace!

We loved our week here! So relaxing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
It was really as much of a pleasure for me to welcome you to the Willow cottage. You and your family were absolutely lovely and you will always be welcome to come and visit us any time.
See you hopefully again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A wonderful, peaceful place to unwind.”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Willow Cottage is an ideal place to relax and unwind. Beautiful walks in the grounds, boats on the river, lazing by the pool, breakfasts on the terrace, wonderful scenery: such a peaceful location.

Willow Cottage is well equipped and Claudine (the owner) was exceptionally welcoming, hospitable and helpful.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. t was a pleasure welcoming you. We hope you had a safe trip back home and look forward to seeing you in the region again soon.
Best regards,
Claudine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mistake”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Location is lovely apart from persistent fly's in villa, and pool. Pool has cut feet of several people to my confirmed knowledge seems to be around steps area. Biggest issue for me in July was non air conditioning of bedrooms not even a ceiling fan. Made for very uncomfortable nights sweating/unable to sleep.
Claudine comes across initially as a pleasant woman who will do all in her power to ensure your stay is enjoyable. I wish her no ill will. She offered to return some money for the pool failings and even took my partner to her local dentist for some emergency care, however she is not a woman to be crossed and should you unwittingly do so, beware. Her demure quickly turns to something quite unpleasant.
We had returned after an earlier stay in September 2015 which was all together more pleasant(temperature etc)It just goes to show NEVER GO BACK expectations were high but it never quite seemed to recapture the original charm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
We were sorry to read this feedback. We have taken on board your comments regarding the night time temperature and now provide electric fans to all our guests. We would however note that you stayed at the Willow Cottage during an exceptional heat wave in Europe, with temperatures close to 40°C, well above average for the time of year.

The allegations regarding the swimming pool are unsubstantiated. No other guests have raised a similar issue and my own family, who also use the swimming pool, agree that it is a safe and pleasant feature of the Willow Cottage.

Regarding the personal comments aimed at Claudine, we would note that this guest departed early (leaving his wife and child behind) following a series of domestic incidents. The discretionary reimbursement for leaving early (which Claudine agreed to at her own cost) was issued to the account from which payment was made. It is a shame to see that this guest has allowed personal issues to affect our business in this way and we can only hope that other guests are not deterred by reading it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful and peaceful. Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay. The house was clean, well kept and large. The owner Claudine is so kind and offered to get us breakfast every morning from the bakers. Pool is great as is the barbecue on the terrace. Forest on one side and river on the other, really beautiful! Wifi and English TV was also nice. Will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Claudine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyAndFa...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect hidden retreat”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Simply an amazing hidden retreat in the amazing French countryside. The host Claudine and her 'man-friday' Carl make you welcome as soon as you arrive. The pool is all yours and is heated, perfect for relaxing and playing. The rooms are all spacious and well maintained and clean and the 2 bathrooms is a bonus.

The grounds are huge and you are never disturbed as you walk around your own private island and along the river.

The only minor downside is that we could only stay for 1 week as we'd love to have stayed for longer.

Can't recommend enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thank you Andy for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hope you visit us and the region again soon.
Claudine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing