We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plas Maenan Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge Conwy(Tal-y-Bont)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
272
37
17
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
37
17
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconwy valleybridal suiteafternoon teathe small dining roomsunday lunchreception roomroast potatoesnew ownerswedding partylovely locationcomfortable loungenorth walesowners and stafffollowing morningan overnight stayfeel very welcomecouldn't do enough
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I just love the afternoon tea here, once again it didnt disappoint.
Every mouthful is a delight.
And there is plenty, with a selection of tiny sandwiches, and a huge pot of tea or coffee. Along with several sweet treats, and a shot glass of emon posset as the final palette cleanser.
And the views and grounds are breathtaking.
The service is always top class and you are made to feel very welcome on arrival.
I always leave looking forward to the next time

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank purdypuss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this wonderful hotel for my friends wedding. It is a great location and is a lovely for weddings.
It's probably classed as a boutique hotel and is a good 3 star hotel.
I stayed with my kids in the Rhuddlan room.
The room was nice with a good size bath, although the shower was a very small cubicle type and would be tough for a large person.
The TV was ok but small by modern standards, no sky but who need it these days the sky go and internet. (Come back to that later). But we weren't there to watch TV!!
The wedding facilities were fabulous, a great room for the ceremony and the meal. The grounds were fabulous and the kids had a great time.
Kids soft drinks were very expensive and it was cheaper to drink larger than lemonade!
The biggest problem the hotel has is lack of wifi. Situated in the Conway valley the mobile signal is woeful, the hotel had wifi but it only worked in one seat near the office, even then it was woefully slow.
In this day and age any hotel needs good fast internet and unfortunately this was my reason not to stay a second night, and the reason I could stay again. Please invest hotel owner and come into the 21st century, it really does matter!!
But that said and done, it was the one of the best weddings I've ever been to and wifi aside it was fabulous!!


Peter B

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Visited this hotel last autumn on the recommendation of some of our friends. We were given a suite which overlooked the valley at the front of the hotel - very spacious - and had we been staying for longer than one night we would have been able to use the kitchenette in the separate lounge. The hotel is very comfortable and there were quite a few people having afternoon tea when we arrived. The meal in the evening was excellent although the dining room was almost deserted. Only one other couple along with ourselves. Would certainly recommend this hotel but you do need transport as it is set back off the main road and quite a way from anywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 395Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We held our wedding at this Beautiful venue in July.
Location is perfect. Although 'out in the sticks' as described by some, is easily reachable by car. Sat nav directed us with no problems & the Train station, dolgarrog is situated within walking distance of the venue which is perfect. Scenery is stunning! Picture perfect! Well worth any length of journey.
Due to work commitments, our day was arranged efficiently with Caroline Burt via email over a period of 3 months.
All members of staff welcomed us & couldn't do enough to ensure we were comfortable & enjoying our stay.
They joined in on the dance floor during the evening doo and again, ensured us and guests were in good spirits from start to finish.
The night before the wedding, Keith the chef calmed my nerves by serving delicious food (said all of us!) assist decorate tables for wedding breakfast and chat with us in the bar area until late evening.
We intend to return in December & hope to visit annually!!
Thank you, all of you for a wonderful day shared with family & friends who enjoyed it just as much as us!!

Jade & Anthony.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lunch at the Plas Maenan is both tasty and well presented. Great value too.
Excellent views from the terrace. The sitting room is country-house chique.
Anyone touring the UK who likes to do things in style and sometimes get away from the crowd could do no better than drive up that tree lined driveway through the invisible hole in the space-time continuum and return to the age of good manners and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews