We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cosy, and terrific value”

Weinstube Zur Angela-Gastehaus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodenheim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Weinstube Zur Angela-Gastehaus
Ranked #1 of 6 Bodenheim B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Family run hotel in small working wine village in Rhine valley, close to Mainz, with neat, clean pine-clad rooms, with space, warmth, light, and decent showers, set around a vine-draped courtyard. Weinstube filled with happy, contented people. We liked it very much indeed. Car park is behind the hotel, reached from the street immediately behind it (that is, turn left out of hotel, then immediately left, and left again).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

This establishment is run by a highly professional yet and welcoming lady called Prisca. Rooms are excellent, as is the restaurant. I had some car trouble last time I stayed and Prisca was amazingly helpful, way above and beyond the call. l really cannot recommend this place too highly, both to stay at and as a restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardMcGilloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel and loved every hour of it. The place is so cosy and the service is impeccable. Rooms are comfortable and equipped with nice country-style furniture. Bodenheim is such an amazing place: Don't miss a walk across the vineyards or a guided tour in a wine farm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

An ancient wine village and a beautiful old Weinstube, but lovely, modern, pine roofed rooms. Fantastic value (8 Euro meal and 7 Euro bottle of classy wine to wash it down. A lovely, family business. Only 5 minutes from the motor ways round Mainz.
This is a perfect piece of Germany.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

One of the risks about telling the public about a great place (or for that matter, a GREAT destination) that is not commonly known is that it could really hurt my ability to visit in the future, especially if the rooms are booked!
First of all, I lived in Bodenheim in the early 1990's for a few years. Second of all, there is NO place in Germany I've ever visited with so many Wineries and Wine Restaurant/Bar/Inn(Straußwirtschaft) as Bodenheim. This tiny town of less than 8000 has some of the best white wines at the cheapest prices in Germany.
Now for Zur Angela. I love this place, and the host (Michael Kerz is the Winemaker and now runs the place that is in his father's name) is fabulous. The rooms are new, clean, and it's just a fun place to stay. It's a Guest House, with a nice German style breakfast every morning. But if you go when the weather's halfway decent, don't plan on going to sleep early, especially if it's a weekend! The winery stays open until midnight or later on the weekends. Dinnertime food is typical Germany Winery fare, and it's cheap, as is the wine.
Bodenheim is called the "Door to the Rheinhessen Wine Region", and for a good reason. There's English spoken in every Straußwirtschaft, but German is predominant. There are so few tourists in the Straußwirtschafts that they enjoy talking to people. So go out, take some chances, and have fun in Bodenheim.
Some final words of caution: This is Guest house. The rooms are clean, nice, but simple. There is NO air conditioning, which during 95% of the year is fine. There's no internet, pool, etc. It's also not easy to find, but I guarantee it's worth the hunt.
Bodenheim is a gem I've been taking people to for over 15 years. If you love good white wine (and I don't mean the sweet stuff they send to the USA) as well as good value in food, visit this little gem just 7 miles from Mainz, and about 30 minutes from Frankfurt by auto.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5GMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Stefanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir haben dort nicht übernachtet, sondern nur die Angebote der Weinstube probiert
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank prokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Weinstube Zur Angela-Gastehaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weinstube Zur Angela-Gastehaus

Address: Langgasse 18, 55294 Bodenheim, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Bodenheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bodenheim
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing