We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Newry, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly and breathtaking”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and breath taking views over Lough Arrow.
Bedroom clean and tidy, only negative was that it was somewhat overlooked from the car park, but that did not detract from the overall visit.
Has a lovely compact well run bar tastefully decorated.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I had recently returned to Cromleach after a very enjoyable stay the year before. November is always a great time to stay as the hotel is quieter and some good deals are available. We availed of a B&B deal for 2 nights in a standard room. The standard rooms are down stairs to the superior rooms and face onto the car park. Having stayed in the superior room the year before this was a significant down grade but you do get what you pay for I suppose. What was evident although was the hotel needed some TLC with cracks on walls, paint missing, dents in wardrobes etc. It just didn't have the clean polished look it had the year before.

Breakfast is always good in Cromleagh Lodge. I had remembered they had a great buffet for cereals, breads etc but the hot breakfast was cooked in the kitchen. This was true on the Saturday morning but on the Sunday morning the hot breakfast was buffet with bacon all stuck together, puddings not as fresh as they would be from the kitchen and eggs likewise. I would like to see Cromleagh getting back to cooking breakfasts to order and not going down the route of hot buffets. The quality suffers significantly and so does expectation.

It is evident also in other areas of the hotel that TLC is required with large cracks in the ceilings and walls and paintwork of the bar. Hopefully this will all be fixed over the winter to lift the look. I was a little taken back with the bar prices with tonic water costing € 2.80 for a G & T and a pint @ € 4.80. I would have expected slightly cheaper for a remote hotel. These prices put me off drinking in the bar.

Cromleagh is a great hotel. The service is excellent, the owners are very accommodating but the hotel needs a lift and need to go back a little to the way they served food fresh and cooked to order. This is what you expect in a four star, no a buffet you would get in a 3 star.

Pros
- Location
- Service
- Cleanliness
- Very good restaurant with superior service


Cons
- Room temperature is set by underfloor heating which is controlled by reception which closes at 11. Why do hotels feel the need to cook their guests?
- Rooms need updating. Crack on walls, carpet unravelling.
- Shower mixer did not work and did not deliver piping hot water
- Breakfast was a buffet on the Sunday.
- Bar very expensive (seems a common complaint)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view Superior room always.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weetraybake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My partner and I attended a wedding here in September, and it was a glorious location, with fabulous staff. The actual banqueting room was beautifully presented and the food served was amazing.
One tiny draw back is that it is in a remote location however this did add to the feeling that we in the wedding party had taken over the entire venue as we were segregated from the casual drop visitors and other hotel guests.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Twenty six members of my family stayed at the Cromleach Lodge for 2 nights from 9 October 2013. The reason for the gathering was to intern my parents' ashes in the family grave in Boyle. The hotel has got to be one of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in and there was plenty of room in the public areas for the family to circulate and catch up with one another. The staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable ensuring that tables where put together in the dining room for us to have dinner together. The food was excellent with a good choice on both the restaurant and bar menus. Due to time constraints we were not able to see much of the surrounding area but the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting the area. There are several members of the family that would like this venue to become an annual event.

Room Tip: Superior double rooms with balcony overlook the loch and are worth the extra cost to wake up to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

From the minute we made a booking inquiry via the hotel website to the time we checked out of the hotel we experienced excellent service in a relaxing atmosphere. The hotel is pretty much in the middle of nowhere but has the most amazing views and is perfect for a relaxing or romantic break. Celine in the spa dealt with out spa inquiry and booked us in at a time convenient to us. We were welcomed and shown to our room upon check in. We had been upgraded to a suite (which was fabulous) and we were even given a complimentary baileys! The view from our room was stunning and the room itself was everything we could have asked for. It was beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and had a huge bathroom, it was a shame we were only staying one night!!! We went for our spa treatment and started off with a light lunch and then took advantage of the thermal area(lovely outdoor hot tub!). Celine was again extremely helpful as it was our first spa visit! The treatments were amazing and we were thoroughly relaxed (As was the purpose of our visit). The other spa therapist, who's name I didn't catch was also fantastic. Dinner was another pleasant part of our stay as the waiting staff made you feel at ease and the food was very good, particularly the creme brulee desert which was definitely the best i've ever tasted! We relaxed in the lounge beside the fire while our order was being taken.The breakfast was again lovely and we were checked out in no time, the receptionist was (like the rest of the staff) wonderful at her job and extremely helpful. We were also very impressed with the price we paid for our stay, we availed of a special offer on the hotel's website. All in all I cannot fault this hotel at all and we are already looking for an excuse to go back!!

Room Tip: The view from the suites is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Overall a really nice place to stay and would definitiely stay here again. Here's an overview of our visit:

Pros:
> Lovely location - superb views of Lough Arrow!
> Staff were polite and helpful
> Rooms were spotlessly clean. The main areas of the hotel were lovely too.
> The food was gorgeous (lovely spread for breakfast!).
> Owners are lovely and even lent us their dog to take for one of the walks around the hotel (much to the delight of our 5 year old!).

Cons:
> We stayed in one of the family rooms which, while situated well within the hotel with a view of the Lough, are a quite tired decor wise with an old TV. The standard doubles/deluxe doubles are much more contemporary and up to date (note - the deluxe doubles can also take an extra bed for not much more than the price of a family room).
> There is a charge of 10 Euros to use the basic spa facilities (which is refunded if you spend more than 30 Euros on a spa treatment). I felt that the treatments were very expensive compared to other spas I've used so was reluctant to book a treatment. Most hotels I've used have included their basic spa facilities.
> Could do with a little more choice on their bar menu with possibly a couple of lower cost options (it is all delicious though!)

Room Tip: My brother said the deluxe double he had was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Comleach lodge. The food in the restaurant was the best we've ever tasted and the service was excellent. It may be a little pricey but well worth it.The place in general has a lovely calm feel to it. The owners Moira and Christy are always about keeping an eye on things. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was fabulous. It was bright and spacious with a stunning view. Definitely recommend these rooms
The spa is worth checking out too. Will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
16.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
13.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,067 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
425 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,617 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing