We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope to be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hope to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and brought our dog along, who was instantly welcomed by the hotel's lovely dog, Roxy. We received a complimentary upgrade to a spacious room with beautiful view over the lake and countryside - it was gorgeous at night with the moonlit lake. We took a few gentle strolls and easy country drives around the area and enjoyed a snack and dinner in the hotel. The delicious home baking really made the breakfast.
If you're looking for excitement and nightlife, I wouldn't recommend this hotel but we got exactly what we wanted - a very relaxing, easygoing few days away with our dog in countryside surroundings. It was nice to see the owner around at mealtimes for that extra personal touch.
Hope to be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    81
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
79
234
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms, unfortunately the room with the best view had the smallest double bed. Wifi was only available around reception. Most of the disappointments were overcome by the great food. The food is simple with good taste.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was my first time to this hotel, I was amazed by the quick check in quick and efficient was taken to the room by concierge. The walk to the room was not long as mentioned by previous posters. Although it would not be suitable for people with disabilities. We had a superior room and it was just that, massive room and so cosy, we had private balcony absolutely beautiful. I can only say the food was of top top quality you would only see similar on MasterCard. Amazing :) the staff were so friendly and could not do enough. It was a last minute decision to go so didn't try out the spa but if it is anything like th rest of the hotel I can only imagine. Can't wait to return. The hotel was not hard to find and very well sign posted. If I had to make one suggestion to the hotel it would be to have a small shop onsitebstocking chocolate an magazines as the nearest extra small station 11km away. I have not stopped talking about the service and food since returning and I will be back very very soon. If you want a quiet tranquil retreat this is the place to go. Two or three days may to long for some people it is remote. Loved it :) :)

Room Tip: Go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMiss_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here a few nights ago for one night. It is in a fantastic setting with a fabulous view. Our room was lovely with a great view. The room was clean and well presented, thanks to housekeeping!
All the staff are very professional and polite.
We had a snack after we arrived and we also had dinner here. Dinner was amazing and my partner said it was possibly the best meal he had ever had! He had lamb which was cooked perfectly and I had the duck with very tasty veg. I love when a meal is not rushed and this meal was just that! Taking in the wonderful views while having dinner was an added bonus.
Thank you very much for a very relaxing and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a 3 night stay in this hotel, room very clean bed extremely comfortable, daily supplies of bottled water & biscuits nice touch also turn down service in the evening if required. The location is lovely overlooking lake and walking trails if you are energetic enough, very tranquil setting away from the hustle and bustle.
The service in the Restaurant was excellent and the food both breakfast and dinner were superb. I also had a spa treatment which included a light lunch, it was wonderful and the staff and facilities in the spa were first class. Moira hotel owner was on hand to chat and attend to guests needs without being intrusive, in conclusion I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here three times, having stayed in a lot of hotels throughout Ireland I would have to say it is absolute value for money a little bit of heaven. Staff so friendly not a spec of dirt to be found in rooms on three occasions food amazing, I would highly recommend it now it's not a place for a good night out its a place to sit back and relax quietly but for that you will not be disappointed if you are I am very surprised. We'll done to all involved for providing such a excellent standard of accommodation at very competitive price. Don't drop your standards.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paradisecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here on a midweek break, with one dinner included. We found the hotel to be generally relaxing and nice (although its a fair way from the main road so getting up the steep hill in winter might be less fun!)
As other reviewers have noted, its a bit like a B&B that has multiplied in size - and as such the internal layout is strange and a bit awkward.
The restaurant food was good without being great. I eat out a lot and like to think i've a very decent palate at this point, and I have to admit I wasn't blown away but was satisfied enough.
The breakfast was fine, and again unremarkable. For a place that seems to pride itself on food, I would have expected better. Buffet style and the food suffered for it.
The lounge/bar is in my opinion one of the better features of the hotel - extremely warm and cozy. The only let down here is that the bar food menu is extremely limited and somewhat random - you couldn't cobble together a dinner there if you didn't fancy the main dining room. This is a shame, as I think that if the bar food was more thought out and extensive, we would have spent more money in the hotel.
My main bone of contention was the spa area. Unless you're having treatments, they charge €10 for spa access for the duration of your stay. This, in principle at least isn't something I mind, especially if the facilies are up to scratch, but I'm sorry to say they weren't. The entire thing consists of a small sauna, steam room, an outdoor hot-tub (I use this term loosely) and a few loungers. The hot tub is like something a nouveau riche neighbour might have had in their back garden during the celtic tiger - certainly not suitable for commercial purposes. We attempted to use it on the evening of our arrival (mid afternoon in summer) and only lasted about 5 minutes because it got too cold. Apparently they fill it in the morning and it just loses heat throughout the day - hardly up to scratch. The facilities also seem to close at or before 6pm, and one day weren't even open at all, so on this basis, I objected to paying for it at check out, and in fairness, they staff took it off our bill without much fuss.
Overall, I thought we had good value for money as it wasn't terribly expensive, however if they want to be considered a spa hotel, they have a long way to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlebaldwin
9.0 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
14.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
14.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel

Property: Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
Address: Lough Arrow, Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Castlebaldwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlebaldwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cromleach Lodge 4* Country House Hotel & Ciunas Spa Sligo is situated in the beautiful North West of Ireland. They have been welcoming guests for more than 30 years. Set in the scenic hills overlooking Lough Arrow, this 4* Luxury Sligo Hotel borders neighbouring counties Roscommon & Leitrim. Guests staying here can enjoy the breathtaking views of the Bricklieve Mountains, Carrowkeel Tombs & not to forget Lough Arrow. This Modern Irish Country House Hotel, is justly famed for its fine cuisine, splendid accommodation and genuine Irish hospitality. Moira's Restaurant, the A la Carte Fine Dining Restaurant in Cromleach Lodge, offers very fine food from mainly locally sourced produce cooked to perfection. In the words of the Georgina Campbell Guide 2009: "Everything from the first little amuse-bouche to the last petit four with coffee is a treat - and, as in all aspects of this exceptional place, service is flawless." This Sligo Hotel boasts two bars, the luxurious De Danann Lounge and the ultra smart Nuada's Brunch Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel & Ciunas Castlebaldwin
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel And Ciunas Spa
Cromleach Hotel Country 4 Ciunas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing