We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food for Father's Day”

McDermott's Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely food for Father's Day”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Today we went to this place for the first time as it was Father's Day. I had a Chicken Curry with chips and for desert, I had the brownie. They were so delious that you could still taste it in your mouth. I also liked the atompshere of the restaurant because it brings you back in time and you feel right at home. Definately coming back here again soon :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ggbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“So good we returned”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here Saturday 19th April, we were a couple on holiday for a few days and it was my boyfriend's birthday. The welcome from Michelle was so good that we immediately felt at home. We had a drink in the bar while our food was being prepared and then were shown to a lovely table. We had mains of chicken kiev which was beautifully prepared and home cooked chips which we were told we could have more of should we want (and we did) as they were so good. We shared the cheesecake as we were so full and it too was delicious. Nothing was abother and all the staff were lovely. We so enjoyed that we booked there and then for the next night was equally good. The garlic bread starter was plentiful and tasty and the mains of fish and chips and the burger were so tasty. We shared the homemade crumble with custard. I would highly recommend it was busy with both tourists and locals which is a good sign. Many thanks to Michelle in particular and all staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fox149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very comfortable environment. We had a casual dinner that was well cooked, well presented and tasted great. Just what we wanted after a very busy day touring.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We went here for Sunday lunch. It was lovely, they also have a very cosy bar. I had salmon & my husband had turkey & ham which was very nice . We both had chocolate brownie with ice cream which were delicious. It was very good value for money & we will visi again as we would like to see what the evening menu is like.

Helpful?
Thank martina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Back for another wonderful meal”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What can I say - it just gets better the hand cut chips are just fabulous so glad I went back food and service fantastic we will be back soon well done all

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenhamilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDermott's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Boyle, County Roscommon
 
Ballymote, County Sligo
Castlebaldwin, County Sligo
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Strandhill, Sligo
 

Been to McDermott's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing