We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of both worlds”
Review of Little Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Eden
Ranked #1 of 16 Don Det B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Little for about a week and we both felt like we had the best of both worlds, why? Well, we really enjoyed being able to tour around the island and come back to a clean and comfortable place at the end of the day.

This is the fanciest place in the island, you this is simple, if you dont mind staying at a backpacker place, that's fine, there are more than enough to choose from but if you really care about where you put your head to rest, Lillte Eden is your place.

The AC works perfect, the mattress feels really nice, there is not tv but from the moment you're visiting DonDet, you should know that this is the kind of place to disconnect from everything, so if you are expecting to have a TV, you should visit another location and forget about this island.

If you are into nature and want to see how the locals live, this is it. So for us, staying at Little Eden gave us the opportunity to experience the countryside of Laos without sacrificing the comforts of home.

You can be sure that the owners we'll do anything to please you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hatwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Little Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

A nice looking place with very good size rooms with comfortable beds, but some things worth considering - no kettle, no tv, poor lighting in the rooms, basic bathroom, no privacy unless you closed the curtains - a few things that could be improved upon. The food was good, although the breakfast was limited. They did not organise any trips or have bikes for rental. A little bit too laid back - think they may soon have some competition from the growing number of bungalows on the island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WKS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great stay at Little Eden - Wonderful restaurant and good modern AC rooms.
The owners were really friendly and welcoming and helped us organise our excursions and canoe trips.
Most evenings we enjoyed Sunset on their river front terrace enjoying their good selections of wines. The food was delicious with both local and international dishes being produced to high standards. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0red_Of_The_Rings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although there is a lot of other cheaper accommodation on don det we decided to stay here as a treat as we'd had a long bad journey. Very comfy bed and rooms were at a high standard. It could be difficult to find staff at times but once found they seemed happy to help. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had first checked into a different hotel. We arrived back from dinner to find a family of cockroaches in our room along wit more insects. Needless to say we just packed our bags and left. We went to little Eden around 11pm, the owner was just about to go to bed. He was so helpful, took our bags brought them to our room, and even opened his restaurant again to get us a beer. Little Eden is a bit more expensive, but well worth it. Room was spotless, had a really peaceful sleep wit a/c aswel. Breakfast was included and lovely. I'll be staying again tonight. Also probably the best view of the sunset on the island, amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at Little Eden for 4 nights and much enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere at the most beautiful sunset spot on Don Det with its spectacular terrace over the Mekong. This is a great compliment since we really liked the entire island very much.
The rooms in the new building are very comfortable offering everything you need. They are not cheap but good value for money. Worth mentioning is the excellent air condition which was by far the best we had on our frequent travelling in South East Asia. The complimentory breakfast was not really opulent but tasty and you can also order from an additional breakfast menue.
We much enjoyed everything from the kitchen, not only the great food but also the cold beer. Keeping the beer cold and the food fresh despite the regular power blackouts is one of the valuable assets of Little Eden, thanks Matthieu!
The hotel is perfectly located close to the ferry landing and still far enough from "downtown" to be out of the party sounds. In fact, we didn't feel disturbed by that in any way although February is supposed to be high season. If you are very sensitive to noise - mainly caused by the passing boats and roosters - you should go for ear plugs.
In all, the time on Don Det was a real highlight of our Laos trip. Probably, we were there just in time since tourisme is increasing and with more people coming the garbage problem will become more obvious. Unfortunately, nobody seems to care much about plastic lying around everywhere. To preserve the beauty of the islands and the pretty unique eco-system of the river we really hope that future visitors put more emphasis on this issue instead of complaining about weak wifi!
Best regards to Mathieu and Noy from Uwe and Christine

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erdtopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently spent five nights here. It’s a pricey place for Don Det, but looked nice and the reviews seemed good. We booked a standard room. These are in a separate block next to the river, and bungalow 1 has nice views out over the Mekong. However, there’s a utility area right outside the window which is used regularly, meaning if you want any privacy then you need to keep the curtains closed. The room was a good size, though there’s not much in it – no fridge, TV, kettle etc. and not really anywhere to hang/store clothes. The bathroom was ugly and functional, and crawling with ants – not as good as we’d have expected for the price. Overall OK, but expensive for what you get (we’ve paid less for better places in other parts of Laos and Don Det is one of the cheaper parts of the country). The breakfast was adequate – eggs or similar, fresh fruit and one drink of your choice. We also ended up in a deluxe room for 2 of the nights. This was better, with a bigger room, storage space and fridge (but still no TV or kettle). The bathroom was also much nicer, but the quality of finishing was fairly poor (remember, these rooms cost $60 per night even during off-season). The place is well located at the end of town near the beach/boat jetty.

However, we had a number of issues during the time we were there which meant that this ended up being a bad experience for us:

1. A couple of hours after checking-in, some other ‘guests’ started partying (loud music, shouting, heavy drinking etc.) literally right outside our room. We went outside and were surprised to find the owner, Mathieu, was with them and was pretty drunk (this was about 2pm). To be fair, he got them to move over to the bar area instead, but oddly claimed he didn’t know who they were and that they’d just turned up and ‘taken rooms’. Seems a bit weird that the owner thinks this was OK. (The same guests also started playing loud music before 8am the next morning – Mathieu’s response was ‘Oh well, they’ve checked out now so it should be OK’.)
2. On our third morning we were woken sometime just after 6am with fairly major construction work happening right outside our window. We complained, but the owner’s wife literally couldn’t care less – she cared more about the construction than us as guests! This was when we moved to the bigger room in the main block. Again, we find this weird – they knew this activity was due to start and didn’t bother to let us know or move us in advance, which is what I’d expect anyone with reasonable customer service skills to do. (We also noted that they were still putting people in the standard rooms – including the one we’d vacated – even after we’d moved out).
3. We ended up being locked out of the hotel one night during a huge thunderstorm – we returned at the clearly unreasonable time of 8.30pm to find the gate to the hotel was locked and we couldn’t get in – we got soaked as we waited for someone to slowly walk across the grounds to let us in.

Now, we were there off-season, so maybe this isn’t typical of what the place is normally like. However, I have to tell it like I see it – essentially, we’d paid top-dollar for what we thought would be nice accommodation and we ended up with something that was overpriced for what it was and with a team of staff that seemed indifferent at best towards guests. The incidents we encountered simply shouldn’t have happened, but they did because the staff didn’t seem to give any thought whatsoever to us as paying guests. Given all the above, I have to say that our time at Little Eden was a bad experience and it’s not a place I’d personally recommend – sorry Mathieu, I think you need to try harder.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diveboard_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleEdenDonDet, Owner at Little Eden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I will not spend much time contemplating on what you said. Because you got everything wrong.
One thing that I should say though is that you should not judge before knowing the facts. You came over as an aggressive person. That is not my personal opinion, I had some feedback from others, not only from my place. You have anger issues when you are on holiday, I can only imagine how you are on a daily basis in a working environment. So my question to you is now who should try to do better?
Greetings,
Mathieu Verborg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Don Det
10.0 mi away
Pon Arena Hotel
Pon Arena Hotel
#1 of 2 in Don Khong
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baba Guesthouse
Baba Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Don Det
72 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pomelo Restaurant & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sala Done Khone Hotel
Sala Done Khone Hotel
#4 of 10 in Don Khone
76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dokchampa Guesthouse
Dokchampa Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Don Khone
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mr B's Sunset View
Mr B's Sunset View
#12 of 16 in Don Det
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Eden

Address: Sunset Side, Don Det, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Don Det
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Don Det
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Can somebody please add the there is a big swimming pool added. I have been waiting for two years, and there is still no mention of it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Little Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Eden Hotel Don Det

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing