We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately worth a visit”

Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Vergina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alfred
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definately worth a visit”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were told not to miss this, and were so glad we took this advice. We arranged a driver and private tour guide from Thessaloniki. The museum is outstanding and is literally built over the spot where the burial site of Phillip II of Macedonia was found, untouched after centuries. Our guide was wonderful and so added to our understanding of this important site. Standing in front of Phillip's tomb (he was Alexander the Great's father) can only be likened to the thrill of being on the Acropolis, or walking on the stones of the Roman forum, or standing next to Western Wall in Jerusalem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    666
    69
    25
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good side trip from Thessaloniki”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The underground museum is unique. The tombs are there to see in the museum as well as the gold artifacts. Even the remains from the funeral pyre are displayed. Check to see whether the palace is also open. When we were there in June 2014, it was closed for renovation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arad, Arad, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deep”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

An unique experience to visit Vergina's tombs! You'll be astonished visiting this site.
And the museum itself is one of a kind!
Don't miss the documentary about the experience of death! You can't see this movie elsewhere (unfortunately).
A must see!
And once being there you'll come again, for sure!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simonca-Oprita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“No Photography Allowed”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was a very interesting attraction. There are a few tombs of King Phillip II and his family. His son was Alexander the Great but apparently he was not buried here. There are small scale models of the tombs, educational videos with English subtitles, and a museum with the artifacts found in the tombs, such as the armor and weapons used by King Phillip. My only complaint is that photography is not allowed, but I guess they have their reasons for that. I managed to take a few photos before I knew it wasn't allowed and was told to stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss this museum!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Don't miss this museum. Built in the original location of the great tomb and displaying amazing items found in the tomb of King Philippos and Alexander.Never before had we experienced such a feeling, witnessing the ancient tombs in an unparalleled set up reviving so vividly the circumstances of the times of thousands of years in the past. A must for the modern visitor!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina) also viewed

 
Central Macedonia, Greece
 

Been to Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing