We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)

Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Vergina
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were really looking forward to seeing this museum but it was a disappointment. Was very dark and really not much to see that you cannot see in other museums around Greece. The only plus was the tomb entrances on display. Note you can not take photos.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Puppycatbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    61
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

About an hour outside of Thessaloniki, and absolutely worth a visit, is the royal tomb complex...designed to replicate the burial pyre of Macedonian royalty, the museum/tomb is interesting, informative and even fascinating. All displays are in Greek and English. The site is in an otherwise non-descript and dusty town, with the requisite stray dogs as constant companions.
Incredibly, the road and town signage are completely inadequate for an attraction as important as this one. History and archeology combine to make this a must see for visitors to northern Greece, or with an interest in Macedonian history. Few Americans make this visit, but for those who visit this part of Greece, it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking in Philip and Alexander's footsteps!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Incredible, deeply moving artifacts and displays. We are looking forward to the new museum at Vergina scheduled to open in 2015 to see more of the treasures that are currently warehoused and inaccessible to the public.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andriana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston on Thames
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were blown away by this amazing 'on site' museum. The structure is actually built over the original tombs. I had to ask just to make sure that I hadn't misunderstood . As a museum it is not too big for those who don't want to get bored on holiday and it packs a real punch in terms of content from the excavation of the tombs. All info and signage has accurate english descriptions, so there's no second guessing as to what you are seeing. The gold treasures are just so beautiful .
Re actual town it is a bit down at heel but friendly and the surrounding countryside is pleasing on the eye. We found the drive from HAlkidiki easy, even around Thessalonika ring road . From outer edge of Thessalonika Head for Athens then turn off to Veria. The palace is not open, we almost didn't get to see the museum because we misunderstood and thought that it was closed as well . I think it's open all year round. This place needs more publicity, there were very few people there, nice for us, but shame for the locals who need the trade. We thought that that Halkidiki had little to say for itself in terms of history so as a culture fix this ticked all the boxes.
Re kids we didn't have any but I don't think they'd be bored.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa-Lan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very carefully curated, significant in Balkan (and world) history, and not well known. Very unusual to have this much evidence of such a significant historical figure. Definitely worth a visit - a highlight of a tour in northern Greece.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AthenaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina) also viewed

 
Central Macedonia, Greece
 

Been to Museum of the Royal Tombs of Aigai (Vergina)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing