We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway in the Jungle!”
Review of Nuts Huts Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loboc
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nuts Huts Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loboc
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hideaway in the Jungle!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Amazing place right by the river, you can swim across and walk down a little path to a beautiful waterfall. The cafe is great and if there is an important footie match on they usually try to accommodate! Huts are basic but comfy and you really feel like you are outdoors. Great place that also rents mopeds. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    110
    32
    19
    9
See reviews for
10
138
49
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

we visited nuts huts post-earthquake, which meant that a few huts were being rebuilt - and there was no power! Bringing a flashlight is advisable. You will enjoy the darkness and sounds of the jungle at night. The only downside is that the short hike and stairs are not that practical if you have a suitcase rather than a backpack, but you can rent a boat to take you there as well.

The food prepared is top-notch, a massage can be arranged, and the helpful staff can help you plan your excursions.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoelA-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here a couple days after the earthquake and we were happy to find it still open. Some of their accommodation was affected however repairs are underway so as always it's a good idea to call up ahead for a booking (though we just showed up).

We found it to be a good central location to adventure from as we wanted to explore some of the southeast of Bohol. There was lots of things to do around and the food was great value and tasty as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevinjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Spent 2 nights here. Place was really deep in the trail so whoever going here must be fit. Literally.you have to walk on different terrains plus up and downhill and when you thought you reach you have to take this long flights of stairs down to this cosy hideout. It was worth it for me as the restaurant/lounge area is on a deck amongst the rainforest trees. Anytime you eat there you can enjoy the sound, smell and scenery of nature. Can laze by the hammocks and totally relax by the nature. Was there in 2011. Nice local serving you and always ready to help you. Another cool thing they put up your country drawn on CDs by guest that comes from whichever country so you feel really welcome that they acknowledge you. It's more for backpackers so don't expect anything luxury. If you don't mind the most basic toilet, bed and electricity shut down then you definitely can try this place. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kino8817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter L, Owner at Nuts Huts Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
I would like to use this platform to inform travelers about the current situation in Bohol and in Nuts Huts after the earthquake on 15 Oct, which you may have heard about in the news.
Although the impact of the earthquake (7.2 on the Richter scale) has been quite serious in parts of Bohol, and in Nuts Huts, life is returning more or less back to normal through serious efforts of local communities and Nuts Huts is no different in this respect.
Nuts Huts is still open for business and we can accommodate 15 guests comfortably at the moment and the restaurant offers 100 % of the menu. We are reconstructing the rooms that were damaged by the quake and should be able to be 75 % operational by mid November.
I thought I should inform prospective travelers to Bohol and Nuts Huts as often the lack of information may lead to steering clear of a post-quake area, but in this case, although the memory of the quake is still strong, we have bounced back in a way we did not think was possible one week ago.
Walter - Nuts Huts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Nuts Huts is a collection of rustic bamboo huts set in a beautiful location on the banks of the Loboc river. Unfortunately the owners can't seem to make their mind up about who they want to attract. In the guidebook Nuts Huts is described as a budget backpacker spot, which the accommodation lived up to, but the prices definitely didn't. Their cheapest hut cost 800P a night and included a filthy bathroom, holes in the walls and roof, a mosquito net with huge holes in, grubby bedsheets and blood-stained towels. It's also the sort of 'backpacker spot' that continually pesters you to pay for expensive activities. The expat owners are basically trying to charge European prices for below-filipino standards. It's a shame because the location is amazing (although really inconvenient). If you were planning to stay at Nuts Huts to visit the Chocolate Hills/Tarsier Sanctuary you'd be better of staying in Tagbilaran (Nisa Travelers Inn is good) and renting a motorbike for the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank yacoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place is a must-do when you’re in the neighbourhood. The huts are build alongside the Loboc river on an open place in the jungle. It is however quite an adventure to get there. From the highway it is a short 20 minutes walk, including “some” steps to cover the final height meters. As we have done this the first time in a pitch black night around 7.30 pm after heavy rainfall will probably have added to the adventurous touch…
The place itself is nicely located to explore the island. A motorbike can be rented from one of the locals down the road if you want. The owners can help you out with everything you need to know, they are really helpful in guiding you through the options to explore the area.

They also rent mountainbikes at 400 php/day. Also this is not cheap (as a motorbike can be rented for around 500 php), but the bikes are very well maintained and in good condition. Chris cycles himself and it shows. Renting a MTB is a must do when staying there. Renting a canoo to cruise along the Loboc river costs 200 php/h, which seems a bit expensive to me.

The heart of the place is the big lounge area that houses the bar/restaurant. The food and drinks are very nice and the menu is extensive. Food and drinks are far from expensive and really good. If you re on a thight budget, you can still eat very well.

Be prepared to digest some steps and height meters while you’re there, you are in a forest on a hill. But don’t let this scare you off, every step is worth it.

Room Tip: Endulge yourself: take one of the most luxurious rooms (they are closer to the bar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stef133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Yes, its a bit off the beaten track, but worth the small hike to the huts. Our hut was spacious, had a fan, and a wonderful view of the hillside and Loboc River. Rates are reasonable, food is good and staff friendly. Managers Rita and Chris will suggest lots of money saving trips also. Take an P8 bus to Loboc downtown and there is a good restaurant (super cheap) next to the internet café, just across the street from the old church. Take a P50 bus going to Chocolate Hills, or P8 bus to the Tarsier Sanctuary. THANKS FOR ALL RITA AND CHRIS!
If I may make a suggestion for you backpackers: take a P50 ride to Taglibaran then jeepney to Panglao Island, jeepney to Cabilao Island, stay at a local NIPA HUT run by Hapi. don't spend those big fees at those ritzy resorts there. If Hapi is not there talk to Myrna, she will also cook for you.
Have an awesome Holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcopolo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loboc
9.8 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
393 reviews
37.2 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
211 reviews
37.3 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 mi away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Loboc River Resort
Loboc River Resort
#1 of 3 in Loboc
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fox & The Firefly Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuts Huts Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuts Huts Resort

Property: Nuts Huts Resort
Address: Gotozon, Loboc, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Loboc
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loboc
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Nuts Huts Hotel Bohol Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing