We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kellylove
Monte-Carlo, Monaco

Fantastic Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2013
This is my 2nd time in this hotel.
I love this place, it is a really special "bijoux" in the world. The resort is beautiful, the pools, the rooms, the restaurants are clean and luxury.
The staff is very competent and cheerful, especially at beach, in the restaurant and in snack bar.
The food is different every day, with a neat presentation.
I went there with my children and i felt in security there.
At the pier and at pool you have always a lifeguard.
The spa is absolutely divine.
The atmosphere is exclusive, calm and glamour
The reef is magic by snorkeling and by scuba dive as well. The position is extraordinary, even a little child will see the merveillous fishes and corals directly by swimming near the beach in a little beat of water without any danger.
My children made the scuba SSI first level and I dive with a trip in the boat of extra divers company . You can do from the hotel directly, they take care of you and drive at the center for the equipement with a golf car.
You can go by foot to port ghalib at just 50 meters, to have a walk or shopping.
You can easier organise lot of trip with the hotel or directly to port ghalib
I am dreaming yet to go back there ...
Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samy El Rawy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property and for the incredible 5-star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and sets the standard for excellence in everything we do and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional products/services and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable, exceptional and memorable.
Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your second home, Pickalbatros Palace Port Ghalib,

Best Regards,
The Hotel Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.5 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £106
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
Free parking
Pool
Apartments
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.3 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £228
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
0.7 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
Free parking
Beachfront
Multiple ways to pay
    0.5 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
    Pool
    Beachfront
    Exterior
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      £137
    • Priceline
    3.3 miles from Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Port Ghalib
    Reviews (3,008)
    Filter reviews
    3,008 results
    Traveller rating
    2,347
    446
    141
    46
    28
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2,347
    446
    141
    46
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews olive restaurant lookout bar marsa alam special thanks fish coral reef five star hotel this wonderful hotel front office manager pool bar every evening relaxing holiday beauty salon week stay private beach a la carte restaurant manager
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    952 - 957 of 3,008 reviews
    Reviewed 26 May 2013

    The second year in a row we went to The Palace for un unforgettable vacation. A fabulous hotel, great service and friendly staff. Although everything was still at a very high level; there were two things that had changed since last year. The private beach wasn't private anymore (rented to an Italian travel agency), it was crowded with loud Italians and we had to use the beach of another hotel to find the peace we experienced last year. Sundays diner was a menu instead of buffet, on 2 different Sundays we had the same entrée; please stick to the buffet. Nevertheless, we had a great vacation and will certainly be back at the end of 2013.
    A special thanks to Hassan (Customer Relations) who always appreciates feedback and is always there to help; and Mohamed El Mehy (Pool bar) who makes the pool bar a fun place to go back to with his service and enthusiasm.

    Date of stay: May 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Christian H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Samy El Rawy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Our Valued Guest,

    Thank you for choosing our property and for the incredible 5-star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and sets the standard for excellence in everything we do and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
    We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional products/services and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable, exceptional and memorable.
    Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your second home, Pickalbatros Palace Port Ghalib,

    Best Regards,
    The Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

    The hotel itself any be faulted. Staff are friendly enough but not very consistent. The friendliest members of staff where Dana guest relations who we only saw half we through our trip which was a shame and the gentleman who cleaned are room. The staff don't really engage with the public and I found drinks especially expensive. We ate out most night because of this as the port itself was much cheaper. We would stay again as the hotel was lovely. Also I found one member of staff taking a photo of me on the last day, sneakily, which was a bit concerning other than that its a fantastic hotel :)

    Date of stay: May 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Louise M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

    Dear Louise M,

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. However, we are thankful that you enjoyed your stay despite some issues. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

    Sincerely,

    Karen G.
    Case Manager
    IHGCare

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 May 2013

    We have been in Port Ghalib for 10 days in April 2013. We had an excellent holiday in the InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort. This is a very beautiful hotel with the most friendly and hard working staff. We had a standard room which was perfect, breakfast was very good but dinner was of an exceptional high quality. The resort is a place where you can relax, it is never too busy around the pool and it is an excellent location to go snorkling. This hotel is highly recommended and we will certainly go back!

    Date of stay: April 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Alain007
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Samy El Rawy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Our Valued Guest,

    Thank you for choosing our property and for the incredible 5-star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and sets the standard for excellence in everything we do and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
    We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional products/services and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable, exceptional and memorable.
    Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your second home, Pickalbatros Palace Port Ghalib,

    Best Regards,
    The Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 May 2013

    We had stayed in Intercontinental Port Ghalib over May bank holiday 2013 and it was fabulous. Firstly the hotel itself is less than 10 minutes drive from the airport so as soon as you get there you can enjoy the beach&sun straight away without prior spending an hour in transfer. The same applies to departure and check out; literally on our last day we enjoyed the beach time till last minute (there is not much to do in Marsa Alam airport with handful of duty free shops after immigration). Secondly the hotel is nicely located between two Crown Plazas in large complex of Port Ghalib and offers not only 5* luxury but foremost very individual tailored approach towards its clients. The service was first class and if I would like to name those who assisted us and made our stay so enjoyable I had to put long list of names. Instead it would be suffice to say than all staff were great but those who excel was our housekeeper Mr Karem (whom on last day I gave my snorkeling fins as a gift), Mr Hatem Kamal who organized our airport pick up and Mr Ibrahim Ahmed who professionally managed our reservations and prepared everything prior to arrival. Thank you all and also big thanks to F&B manager Mr Mohammed for his customer service and also our favorite waiter Mr Mohammed Fahry for his spot on daily service. Overall the fact that we memorized names of all these people in my opinion speak itself for the high level of individual service they provided.

    Practical information:

    1/ If you could get an upgrade to superior room. We enjoyed standard but next time we'll try get the suite overlooking the sea.

    2/ During dinner the drinks are served from the menu-please ask waiter on first day about it. The size of glasses are impressive however not the amount of wine they pour into it (in my opinion it was about 175ml) for the price of LE50 (about £5). The local bottle of red or white (both very good) were price over LE200 (£20). For the privilege of being served in 'al fresco' restaurant under the star night and surrounded with palm trees it was worth it. BTW water is also charged during dinner (LE19) which is little odd as you get the same water FOC during the day.

    3/ It's good to have a bunch of small USD notes for tipping the staff. Euro coins are worthless.

    4/ Invest in good quality snorkeling set. There is no point of going to such a marine paradise with mask worth £10 and fins from prep school (and yet most of guests used this sort of kits). If you could afford get free diving set and save money on diving with full equipment (not worth the hassle to dive on 5-7 meters).

    Have a good time in Egypt.

    Room tip: Superior rooms on first, top floor.
    Date of stay: May 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank MCMLXXIV
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Samy El Rawy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Our Valued Guest,

    Thank you for choosing our property and for the incredible 5-star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and sets the standard for excellence in everything we do and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
    We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional products/services and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable, exceptional and memorable.
    Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your second home, Pickalbatros Palace Port Ghalib,

    Best Regards,
    The Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 April 2013

    A perfect place for relaxing and charging your batteries. The hotel has a nice pool and an even nicer reef. We had read some of the negative reviews about the food which had lowered our expectations. Upon arrival we were both positively surprised. When it comes to the prices for food and beverages it's not the slightest higher than on any other five star hotel I've stayed at. The staff is extremely friendly and committed.

    Since the area around Port Ghalib hasn't been fully developed yet it feels a bit like a ghost town. Perfect if you want a nice and quite vacation but don't expect any night life.

    Date of stay: January 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Otto229
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Samy El Rawy, Guest Services / Front Office at Pickalbatros Palace Hotel - Port Ghalib, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

    Dear Our Valued Guest,

    Thank you for choosing our property and for the incredible 5-star rating. Your feedback motivates us to keep raising the bar and sets the standard for excellence in everything we do and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
    We’ll continue striving to provide exceptional products/services and outstanding customer care to make every interaction with us remarkable, exceptional and memorable.
    Once again, thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon to your second home, Pickalbatros Palace Port Ghalib,

    Best Regards,
    The Hotel Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews