We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Datai Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
US$258
US$219
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
US$156
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$294
TheDanna.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$591
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$39
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$623
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabrina Resort(Langkawi)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (2,480)
Filter reviews
2,480 results
Traveller rating
2,108
255
67
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
255
67
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgulai houserainforest villathai restaurantmain buildingwild boarresident naturalistour honeymoonsorbetirshad mobarakbeach poolnature walkmorning and eveningfour seasonsgolf buggyflora and faunalobby loungeadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,308 - 1,313 of 2,480 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Datai Langkawi is a 5 star luxury resort located on the north western tip of Langkawi Island and promises guests an idyllic retreat to nature plus access to the Andaman sea.

My husband and I stayed in the premium room, which comprised a king-size bed, private bar with coffee and tea-making facilities, flat screen TV and an outdoor balcony overlooking the pool and rainforest.

I especially loved the bathroom with attached dressing room – it comes with twin vanities, shower cabin, toilet, bathtub and ample luggage space. Bathroom amenities are also provided for personal comfort. The room also came with the standard amenities like in-room safe, ironing board and turn down service.

The Datai has two swimming pools; one next to The Dining Room and the other near the beach. The latter also has a children’s pool to cater to guests with young children. Alternatively, guests can hit the beach like we did.

There are five dining options at The Datai – The Dining Room, Beach Club, Gulai House, The Pavilion and Lobby Lounge. During our stay there, we dined at all save for the Lobby Lounge, which is mostly for cocktails and light nibbles. The Dining Room serves breakfast buffet daily, and while the selection is moderate, the quality more than makes up for it. Bubbly is also available – it’s a resort vacation and there’s never a bad time for a glass of bubbly. Or two.

We were very impressed with dinner at The Gulai House where hubby and I tucked into a sumptuous spread of traditional Malaysian and Indian dishes, made with the freshest seafood and assorted spices.

Also good was our 5-course dinner at Beach Club Restaurant the following night. From starters to dessert, each were well prepared and beautifully plated. And the seafood noodles I had during lunch (also at Beach Club) before departing to the airport is a must-try.

We also did the Morning Nature Walk where we learnt about the island and all her lush beauty. Our stay at The Datai was very relaxing and pampering. Would love to revisit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 201 to 204 has a good view of the pool and rainforest. If you're on a bigger budget, check out the private villas!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful account of the property.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and it is our sincere hope that you and your husband will return again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We here with my 13mo son, and 4 adult. Stay 2 nights and the experience is awesome. I love the scenery very quiet , peace, and beautiful. the room is excellent, the breakfast not so. Because im local i expect more Malaysian food, the variety of food is less. So i would rate the breakfast is OK. The staff very friendly and attentive, over all is worth every single penny. The hotel is submerge with the nature, nice and calming. Its approximately 45 minutes drive to town...overall i enjoy my stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlinamahdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review on your recent stay at the hotel.

We are glad you thought your trip was worth the cost of it. As for the breakfast, we are a little disappointed that you did not think it was up to par. I have spoken to my F&B Director and Executive Chef and they will look into providing more Malaysian choices at the buffet.

We hope it is impress you on your next trip out.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stay at the Andaman, but i have my lonely dinner here. The Thai food in pavilion is very delicious. The staff is very glad to talk with me, It makes me not feel alone to have dinner.
I'll stay here when i am in langkawi next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ishane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are most glad to hear that we could accompany you throughout dinner and that you felt less lonely at The Pavilion.

We hope to see you here on your next trip out.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Datai in Langkawi and we were very impressed by the attentive service and overall quality of this property. We are both seasoned travellers and have visited a very large number of hotels and resorts mostly in professional capacities and the attention to detail was impeccable at the Datai. The surroundings are just spectacular and the serenity at night was quite unexpected. Not a sound of cars or aeroplanes, the only noise filling the air at night were the sounds of the rainforest or the piano from the Lobby Lounge. The food was exquisite throughout and a few different outlets to choose from. Very secluded and it never felt crowded. The service was impeccable and the team at Datai after a day or two already felt like friends, it was actually sad to leave because it felt like you were leaving dear friends behind. We could not fault our experience, if anything as we were staying for quite a number of nights a few lighter meal options in the restaurants would have been preferable. All-in-all a Top Class experience and we wish the Team at the Datai a successful high season ahead and a memorable 20th Celebration.

Room Tip: We were in the main building and quite liked it as it meant that it was close to the breakfast room in the morning and lobby in the evening. The villas looked amazing, very private but it is a bit further to walk.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful account of your recent stay.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the Langkawi rainforest tremendously.

We can't thank you enough for highlighting the service at the property, which we have prioritized to ensure guests always have a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Fantastic Service and nice location. Nice scenery. Golf course is located nearby, nice driving view of Golf course. Nice furnitures and a natural paradise with alot of wood based items which is always natural. Tropical trees and alot of insects and bugs natural sounds. Definatly a retun to nature makes you belongs to mother nature.

Room Tip: Great and nice cosy room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdKiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerTD, General Manager at The Datai Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of the property.

The Langkawi rainforest does indeed have a charm like no other and we are all too happy to constantly be surrounded by Mother Nature.

We are glad to hear you not only enjoyed your time in the outdoors but also wish to return again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews