We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smith House Langkawi(Padang Mat Sirat)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,480)
Filter reviews
2,480 results
Traveller rating
2,108
255
67
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,108
255
67
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgulai houserainforest villathai restaurantmain buildingwild boarresident naturalistour honeymoonsorbetirshad mobarakbeach poolnature walkmorning and eveningfour seasonsgolf buggyflora and faunalobby loungeadult pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 2,480 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This Hotel is well worth the trip. The rooms are large with a lounge area.They are serviced twice daily.Cleanliness is perfect.The restaurants are first class. The buffet breakfast is never ending with Prosecco for who enjoys a good start to the day.The Beach bar and restaurant is excellent,and don't forget to go to the Gulai.The staff are warm,friendly and extremely well trained .Here everyone is treated like a VIP. One warning relating to the naughty monkeys.They love to get into the rooms and party.First stop for them is the bar ! So remember not to leave your windows or doors open.Note that the Datai is in a peaceful spot on the Island,and calm and tranquility reign.This is not the right place for someone expecting discos,partying and noise.If you are looking for peace,quiet and relaxation,then this is the spot for you.
Have fun!

Room Tip: We were in the main block,in the Rain forest.All rooms had air con and a high ceiling fan.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElisabethPorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Had an amazing week at the Datai. Stayed in a lovely, comfortable deluxe room which had more space than we needed and a massive bath/dressing room. We had a patio, some rooms have balconies. Had amazing food in the restaurants, did a one day boat trip and also a picnic on the beach one evening. Also the rainforest walk that the hotel guide organises. We had massages in the spa which were sadly just ok... Great, helpful, smiley staff everywhere .

It's remote and there is not much to do in Langkawi apart from enjoying the slow pace and the amazing Datai. Perfect for a couple. I probably wouldn't recommend you stay here with friends.

Room Tip: Lots of monkeys, don't leave the door open to your room if you're on the ground floor, they may sneak in!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraNW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great stay at the Datai and highly recommend it to anyone. From what we saw of the island this resort seems to be the best on Langkawi: amazing forest; long, clean, private beach (no jelly fish) with excellent beach/pool staff; Villas well-equipped, comfortable and clean; excellent food; great staff. Service is a bit slow/disorganized at breakfast, but being on holiday, you don't really mind. Our son loved it here and so did we. Wish we could go back soon...!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LOVETRAVEL0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Surrounded by the most ancient rainforest and steps to the beach, we couldn't have had a better weekend getaway. Initially drawn to this resort's architecture (very Bawa like), the service proved an even better attraction for us to come back some day!

Room Tip: Go for the villas!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CaseyTan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a perfect example of luxury. Starting with the welcome cocktail at checking all the way to the personal goodbye at check out. The Spa is divine and I fell asleep during each and every treatment which demonstrates how relaxed I was but is a shame as it feels I missed out on the wonderful treatments. Walking to the beach is quite a hilly downward walk through lots of trees and greenery but you can always catch the mini tuk tuk’s waiting at the bottom to take you back to the main hotel lobby. Would highly recommend this hotel for your stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews