We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raemoir House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Tor-na-Coille(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnett Arms Hotel(Banchory)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banchory Lodge(Banchory)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill(Westhill)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West(Westhill)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Village Hotel Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
209
66
16
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
66
16
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teafour poster bedold housefirst classwedding venuedining roomperfect venueno fussspecial thanksbeautiful groundsbackground musicwonderful weekendbed breakfastfood was wonderfulsconeshigh standardexclusive use
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have stayed here a couple of tims now and think its a really nice house. I particularly like the lounge/bar where you can relax on a comfy sofa infront of the fire. Feels very homely! The breakfast is a real plus point to. For first timers i would definately recommend asking for a room at the front of the house to get the views. I'm sure one of them was named "Scolty".

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the grounds and Scolty hill in the distance.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomsandison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDR311, Owner at Raemoir House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Tomsandison1

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your Raemoir experience on TripAdvisor, it is much appreciated and we are a delighted to learn how much you enjoyed it. I hope we can welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
Kind regards
Neil Rae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had a long and taxing day to come, working in Aberdeen. What better way to prepare than to relax, eat and sleep at Raemoir House? It is about 35 minutes away, in very beautiful countryside, with a manager (is he the owner?) who takes an intense and careful interest in the comfort, food and drink for residents. At present (mid-March 2014) the décor is not perfect - new flooring and carpets are being laid; but the food was excellent, and the old-fashioned rooms are redolent of a Victorian country house, with modern fittings. Breakfast in our room was bang on time, and involved three journeys upstairs for the staff. Freshly squeezed juice, porridge and a main course. Not cheap, but worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HUGH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDR311, Owner at Raemoir House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear HHCAMPBELL
Many thanks for submitting a review of your stay at Raemoir to TripAdvisor, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit and our offering. I hope you were well refreshed for the day ahead and that you will find the opportunity to return to Raemoir in future.
Regards
Neil Rae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Spent a weekend at the Raemoir, staff were very attentive and the reception rooms and log fires very welcoming. Great views from our bedroom of Scolty hill. Our room was very spacious and the food was great ad well. Hotel is well positioned for a trip around the Cairngorms and not to far from Aberdeen and it's airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have nice view,
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airportblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDR311, Owner at Raemoir House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear airportblues

Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay at Raemoir on TripAdvisor, it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the experience.

As you say their are great views of the surrounding countryside from the hotel and, if we can welcome you back again in future, you may wish to try a walk up the Hill of Fare behind the hotel where, on a good day, you will have commanding views of Aberdeen, Royal Deeside, the Cairngorms and the airport all from the one place!

Regards
Neil Rae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What a lovely place and wonderfully attentive staff. The second you walk in the door and then into the reception area of the House it is warm and welcoming. The atmosphere of the place hits you as you look around - warm colourful decor; history hanging on the walls and a very friendly and relaxed feeling. I can't really describe it other than like 'being at home'.
We had a 'family and friends gathering' last weekend to celebrate my wife's 50th and Neil and his team were tremendous. The planning and attention to detail - you know the small things - they provided were great. The friendliness of the staff from our arrival to departure and their smiley, always helpful personality made ourselves and guests very relaxed and we had a ball. Because they are looking after you ! The food - lunch; dinner; evening stovies (lots of meat) and breakfast - was superb. The whole place - Bedroom; Bar; Dining Room and Drawing Room - is very comfortable and relaxed.
A 'country house hotel' the second you walk in the door epitomised by the fact that in the entrance hallway there is a rack of wellies available to any guest to go for a walk and a chest full of outdoor games equipment to entice you out into the fresh air to meander in the grounds or have a knock about on the vast lawn in front of the hotel.

In summary: you've got to go and experience Raemoir House Hotel for the atmosphere and service provided. You will not regret it

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basil5502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDR311, Owner at Raemoir House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Basil5502
Thank you very much for submitting a review of your Raemoir experience to TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your gathering here. We try and create a homely feel as opposed to a hotel and its appreciated that it's noticed. I'll pass on your comments to the staff, they work hard to deliver what we want and it is great to see their efforts are not in vain.
I hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent three nights here last week. This was our first visit. Our bedroom (Dunechty) was spacious and very comfortable with lovely views to the front of the hotel. The bathroom had been recently refitted. The drawing room, dining room and bar were extremely welcoming with large log fires burning in all three rooms. We ate in the dining room on all three nights and between us managed to sample much of the menu, which changes each night. Everything we ate was delicious - the chef Alex Hay is a star in the making. Breakfast was equally impressive with the biggest choice of cooked breakfast that we've encountered in many visits to similar hotels. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. The owner Neil was ever-present and makes you feel as if you are a welcome guest in his home rather than just staying in a hotel. As relatively new owners Neil and his wife have an on-going refurbishment programme and are passionate about constantly improving the guests' overall experience.
Its location makes Raemoir a perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms, Speyside and the north-east of Scotland.
We can thoroughly recommend Raemoir House and fully intend to make a return visit ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanandJames35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDR311, Owner at Raemoir House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear JoanandJames35
Thank you very much for submitting a review of your Raemoir experience on TripAdvisor, it's great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves so much.
The food is an important part of our offering and Alex, who made it through to the quarterfinals of the BBCs MasterchefProfessionals recently, is leading a kitchen of emerging talent. She, along with the rest of the staff, will be delighted to hear that it's not only me that recognises their talent.
Raemoir is ideally situated as a base for exploring the delights of Royal Deeside and beyond I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Neil Rae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews