We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lintong
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Clean and warm when we arrived and exactly as described on the website. Fantastic location with so much to do within 20 minutes drive and we cant wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and exactly as described! Nice touch with tea biscuits and milk at the cottage when we arrived
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkiejen
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Cosy & Welcoming”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Wychwood in October half term. There were 6 of us - my family (2 adults / 2 teenagers) and my parents. Most importantly, we were able to take our beloved Benny, the dog.
We arrived in foul weather to a welcoming cottage. The heating was on - and even though the downstairs room is slightly chilly, it is still too lovley not to sleep in.
The kitchen is incredibly well equipped - all useful cooking aids/utensils.
The sitting room is lovely - the wood burner is efficient and we spent our evenings snug & cosy!
We were slightly concerned at only one bathroom - but it wasn't too bad.
The upstairs rooms are of a reasonable size and warm.
The stairs are slightly steep - but I am a wimp on stairs......
Easy parking for 2 cars.
The porch at the front of the house is fab......especially in October - it was great for coats, boots and a wet dog.
Grosmont is truly delightful - the NYMR steam railway was a hit, even with our teenage son. There is also a Northern Rail link to Whitby.
The cafe in the old school is wonderful. We spent an afternoon enjoying yummy cake & hot chocolate.
The village shop is only a 5 minute walk away (max) downhill - slightly longer on uphill going back....it stocks pretty much all the essentials including logs for the fire.
The pub, is thankfully a bit closer.....All in all, we had a lovley week away in a very reasonably priced cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The cosy sitting room with the woodburner!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux1954
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This accomodation was very clean & comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and good quality fixtures and fittings. There was a note left for us from the Cleaner to say the Grill didn't work, but she had reported this to the owner. There was a new toaster in situ , so it was not a problem It was pre arranged to phone the owners 48hrs before arrival to be told of the' key safe' code number so we could access the house keys. We were asked to take our own towels. although tea towels & bedding were provided.
The twin bedroom had wooden slats as a base to the beds, but they were comfortable enough. The dining area was rather gloomy even though it was bright sunshine, so we had to have the lights on . But thats to be expected with old properties I guess.
Be aware of the unadopted access road to get to this property. Hopfully you will arrive in a 4 x 4 ! Because of this we would not rebook... andbecause of the condition of the road we would not recomend to friends, mainly because they drive MG's and other low slung cars. Having said all of this, you cannot fault the property itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, Well Equipped and Comfortable property.
Liked least: Unadopted Access Road,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Reviewed 6 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed 7 January 2011 for a stay in November 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham
Reviewed 24 September 2010 for a stay in July 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Reviewed 18 December 2009 for a stay in April 2008
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$57
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing