We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a mixture please”
Review of The Geall Gallery

The Geall Gallery
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Grosmont
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“More of a mixture please”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A wonderful gallery to view local art in the past and we have been visiting here for a number of years . However this years trip was disappointing as in years gone by there has usually been more variation of art from local artists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely food and service. The staff were very friendly and the food on offer was freshly baked and of good quality. Spoilt for choice and ended up buying some to bring home

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant art gallery, with good quality, reasonably priced food on offer.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had been walking in the area, on a bleak, damp afternoon, and were in need of some refreshments, so we decided to give the cafe a try, and were very impressed. The cafe was lovely and warm, and the food on offer was wholesome and very reasonably priced. I only had a scone with jam and clotted cream, with tea. The scone was fresh, home made, and came with plenty of jam and cream, and the tea was good. The other members of my family also had cakes, and found them very enjoyable.

The art gallery is well worth a look, and has some fine art work for sale. Incidentally, we were able to see Chris Geall doing one of his pallette knife paintings in the back of the premises, from where we were eating. Very interesting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh food.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We often pop into the gallery for a coffee or lunch when we're visiting the NYM Railway, and since Jayne took it over it's been consistently good. I really like Chris Geall's oil paintings of Whitby and the surrounding area, also the views over the steam railway and the relaxed ambience of the gallery. It's counter service, but they bring the food out to you.

I visited while my husband was on a photography day with the railway as I knew I could get a good light lunch and read the paper without feeling rushed here. I decided to try a sandwich as I haven't had one there before, and was amazed when Jayne said I could have anything I liked from the sandwich menu! I chose hummus (pretty sure it was home made, it was gorgeous!) with olives, cucumber and avocado, on wholemeal bread. It came quite promptly and was absolutely lovely. There was a generous side salad and portion of crisps (tortilla chip type) with a really well-filled sandwich. It cost £4.95 and was worth every penny! I met a friend for a walk after lunch and she and her husband also agreed that it was great value and lovely food. They do great coffee too and amazing home made cakes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Yorkslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“tea for two”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we were on holiday in September in grosmont and the geall gallery tea rooms on the main street had been recommended .We went in for a cup of tea and found a very extensive menu, we settled for a sandwich but it was very fresh , plenty of filling, and the added side salad crisps,and coleslaw made it very satisfying consequently we visited a couple more times we would certainly recommend whether for a sandwich and a cuppa or a hot meal Very good value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank retiredgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Geall Gallery also viewed

Grosmont, North York Moors National Park
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park
 
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park
 
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park
Goathland, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to The Geall Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing