We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely character cottage with a few buts!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Grosmont, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HilaryN60
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely character cottage with a few buts!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage has a lot of charm and character in a lovely setting. However, the place really needs a good clean and the oven was particularly greasy. The DVD player did not work properly, the sound kept changing on the TV, the toilet seat in the cloakroom did not stay up, which bothered my husband more than me, the bath towels looked like candlewick bedspreads and by stretch of the imagination could be described as soft and fluffy. Ditto the hand towels. The stairs are a bit of a challenge if you have movement difficulties, similarly the climb into the bath to use the hand held shower. The coal fire is lovely, Fred next door is a mine of information and very friendly, the bird life and the passing trains a lovely part of the holiday and walking in the area is very picturesque. All in all a lovely holiday cottage which needs a bit of TLC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of cottage
Liked least: See reviw
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CabbaRank...
Nottingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lovely well equipped, homely cottage with friendly neighbours”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We (my hubby, 2 year old boy and myself) have just returned from a lovely family week away staying at this cottage. The cottage itself was everything we could ask for from a holiday home. Ideally situated, safe for our 2 year old, well equipped for our family and self catering needs, warm and welcoming. It was so nice, after a busy day out, to return back to the cottage, tuck the little one up in bed (cot provided), and settle in front of a real fire (yep...us townies can build legal fires!) with a home cooked meal and a glass of wine with the telly on. Didn't even need to do the pots as there's a dishwasher which is more than we have at home and despite being on holiday, also made use of the washing machine (we do have one of those at home)!

Couldn't have asked for more from the cottage especially considering the price we paid (over a bank holiday) - really good value for money plus you have a local information guide provided as Fred, next door at no. 11 is really friendly and knows everything (it seems) about the area and doesn't mind sharing his knowledge.

The cottage is about 1.5miles from Grosmont - a really easy walk along the rail trail (probably quicker than driving if the ford is too deep to cross!). There's a Co-op there that has some basic supplies and a pub that we didn't use. Of course there's also the train station there as well as the working sheds. You can drive to places like Whitby, Scarborough, Runswick Bay, Pickering etc. all in about an hour so ideally situated for coast and country alike. Where the actual cottage is there is nothing (including 'phone signal - bliss!) albeit a telephone box, post box (which still collected during the bank holiday break - how cool is that?!) and of course the views of the Pickering - Whitby train line. With this in mind, make sure you have some basics with you when you arrive.

Top tips - if you fancy a train / walk trip - catch the train from Grosmont to Goathland and walk back to the cottage along the rail trail (approx 3miles). Do it that way round and it's downhill! If you have young children (2-10yrs old?) can definitely recommend a trip to the Playdale Farm Centre at Cayton, near Scarborough. Well worth the drive and good no matter what the weather as includes indoor and outdoor play areas as well as all the animals.

Only criticisms;

1. Ignore all directions to cottage given as part of the booking. You'll probably find an OS map best or speak directly to the owner. We had a needless journey through a ford and added a pointless few miles on to our trip.
2. The wall between the bedrooms isn't really a wall...more like a large fence! I could hear every breath and turn my 2 year old made. Probably not a problem if travelling as a family with kids but might be a bit awkward if travelling as 4 adults.

We don't tend to return to places only because there's so many places to visit, but if the opportunity ever arose, would have no qualms about staying here again, or recommending to others based on above points.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage exceeded all expectations and was far more spacious than photos show
Liked least: Probably directions to property
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 6 January 2012 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing