We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grosmont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Geall Gallery B & B
Ranked #1 of 2 Grosmont B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
W. Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A real treat!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in October 2013 as my husband was on a photography course with the NYM Railway, and we were treating ourselves to a Pullman dinner on a train which left from Grosmont Station. Years ago we stayed in the holiday flat below the Gallery so we knew it was an excellent base for train watching as well as exploring the area. Literally over the road from the station, it couldn't have been more convenient.
Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, with a view over the steam railway bridge too! (Apart from my husband constantly rushing to the window with his camera, this was an advantage!!) Our bathroom was luxurious with a shower over the bath and lovely fluffy towels. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and we had tea and coffee making facilities too, though you could go and have a drink in the communal lounge if you wished.
Breakfast was served in said lounge, which was light and airy and as a previous guest had written in the book, "like being in the tree-tops!" as we were high up. Chris and Jayne cooked a fantastic breakfast, there were extras including fresh fruit available at no extra cost. My husband's full English and my vegi version were both excellent.
I would also recommend the Artisan Cafe in the Gallery for coffee, cake and sandwiches/light lunches, a great place to sit and read the paper and enjoy Chris's paintings.

Room Tip: If you like steam trains ask for Lease Rigg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed over following dinner out on a NYMR steam train which left from Grosmont station.

Run by local artist Chris Geall and his partner Jay. The Geall Gallery offers a great place to stay over if visiting this part of the world. The accommodation is clean, very well furnished, warm and versatile, offering a communal kitchen/lounge area to relax and even entertain friends. There is also a splendid choice of wine to purchase and consume while relaxing.

Jay will prepare a Continental and/or cooked breakfast in the communal kitchen at a time to suite you. No question about the taste and quality - great cooking Jay!

Overall - Chris & Jay offer great hospitality and match this with very well presented accommodation and good food to match.

Tip following breakfast - try coffee in the Gallery Cafe and watch Chris paint!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danziger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What a wonderful experience the room was stylish and comfortable, the bathroom luxuriously appointed. The Dining room was modern and comfortable with sofas. In the open plan kitchen area there was a choice of wine complete with price list, glasses and honesty box. Our breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Overall a very high standard B & B, with Chris and Jane being the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We arrived at the Geall Gallery B&B with confirmed reservations but found that our room was double-booked and we arrived second! No problem for Chris...he made arrangements to put us up in the vacant holiday apartment on the ground level, and it was wonderful....bright and spacious...perfect for a family!

Breakfast on the third floor dining area was better than most, and it was wonderful eating amidst the wonderful art. Dinners are available upon request...we opted instead for the pub down the street. Not bad, but we would have eaten better with Chris and Jane. Next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Went on the NYMR Dining train for my husband's birthday and decided that a two hour drive home at 11:00 at night wouldn't be any fun. So we found Geall's Gallery B&B and luckily they had a room for the night, on very short notice! The rooms are done to a very high standard, are impeccably clean, modern and beautiful, and very comfortable. The owners are just as wonderful, treating us extremely well and making our stay fantastic. The breakfast was leisurely, relaxing and 5 star food. I would ( and have) recommend this to anyone who wants a bit of luxury in a lovely setting. And don't forget to buy something in the gallery ;-) Looking for an excuse to go back...asap!!

Room Tip: We had the room that faces the train station...perfect for us to watch the steam (and other) trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are looking for style and luxury look no further than The Geall Gallery B&B. We arrive on the bank holiday Sunday at 5pm and were warmly welcomed by Chris and Jane the owners.
Our room was large, beautifully decorated with a very large modern on suite. There is also a communal lounge, dining and kitchen area for use during your stay.
The bed has to be the most comfortable I have ever slept in. In the morning Chris and Jane cook your breakfast to order in the open plan kitchen area in front of you. Quite a brave task for them but I have to say the food was cooked to perfection and plentiful. They even had gluten free toast available for me.
We will defiantly be back for more of the same.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just stayed the night after having meal on NYMR, fantastic place, very friendly, lovely accomodation and breakfast was on of the best ever. If you are in the area you must stay here but please not when I want to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: all rooms look fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premierimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grosmont
4.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grosmont House
Grosmont House
#2 of 2 in Grosmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Geall Gallery B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Geall Gallery B & B

Property: The Geall Gallery B & B
Address: Front Street | The Geall Gallery, Grosmont, North York Moors National Park YO22 5QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Grosmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grosmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery B&B is run by local artist and potter Chris Geall with his foody partner Jayne, it is situated above the Geall Gallery and Artisan Cafe on Grosmont high street, right on the coast to coast trail and next to the North Yorkshire Moors Steam Railway. It comprises of three spacious twin rooms with en-suite bathrooms. Come and put your feet up and relax in this unique setting and enjoy a delicious home cooked evening meal and quality, locally sourced breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Geall Gallery B & B Grosmont, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing