We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Inn is clean & functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord
Borough London
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Star Inn is clean & functional”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed at the Star Inn as it is only about 5 km from the Allianz Arena as I was attending a Champions League game and is only about 100m from Unterschleissheim S-bahn so, really convenient for Munich Airport.

The hotel is very clean with large rooms in comparison to most hotels in this category. The continental breakfast was perfectly decent. Conveniently there are a number of bars and shops surrounding the hotel.

In summary if your looking for a purely functional hotel for under €100 per night, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
13
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I rarely stay in small hotels so my opinion may be a bit too harsh.

Hotel is decently located if you like to commute to the Center of Munich - next to S-Bahn station. Because of this it has some drawbacks too. Those who are having shallow sleep, they will be unrested next day if they were accommodated in a room faced to the S-Bahn tracks.

Staff does not even pretend that are being kind. There is no courtesy, you are being asked offhand about payment upfront. You won't be even asked whether you would prefer non-smoking room, you will get what is available. It was a bit shocking to me... I thought this may happen a middle of nowhere but not in Central Europe...

Rooms are very modest and cramped, however very clean and warm. That is not always obvious in small hotels like this one. Equipment was limited to old fashioned TV with only German channels and a small fridge. There wasn't even a clock or a radio available. Lighting was dim (to dark to read for me) even when one use a small lamp above bed.

I was positively surprised by a buffet breakfast. Everybody can find something good to eat. Everything looked and tasted fresh and appetizing.

Price/Value ratio was not very good, next time I will look for another stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unterschleissheim hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Not a lot to shout about but good sized rooms, good continental breakfast and located close to EADS Cassidian so no taxi required and close to the S Bahn for Munich city.

Front desk rather offhand and I was asked to pay for everything at check in.
WiFi is an extra cost.
I have tried 3 hotels now in the area and prefer the Victor and the Alarun to the Star.

Room Tip: First floor walkable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagpieSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I use this hotel whenever I go on business to Unterschleißheim as I can walk to our office and the hotel is very close to the station with a direct line to Munich Airport, about 15mins, its much better than driving or taking a taxi. The hotel only 'does' bed and breakfast, but that is not a problem as next door is a very good place to eat - greek. It can be hot in the summer (no air con) and noisy as the rooms at the front overlook two bars, but the rooms are of a high standard.

Room Tip: You have a choice of noise - railway at the back bars at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffBob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent four nights at the Star Inn during a conference nearby.
Things I liked about the hotel:

It was adjacent the station in Unterschleissheim which is on the S-bahn route from the airport. This made it easy to get to and to depart.
Though next to the station, the trains were not noisy (my room faced away from the tracks). I heard the train whir in and whir out only because I kept my window open. More distracting were loud voices when people left the bar across the plaza, but that was random and only because my window was open.
The price seemed good for that area.
My room was clean.
The staff were friendly and helpful
The breakfast buffet (an extra 11 euro each day) was good. It included a variety of fresh breads and a few pastries, muesli, sliced and whole fruit, a variety of cheese, a variety of cold meat, hard boiled eggs, one hot dish, a variety of coffees (from an espresso/capuccino machine, a variety of teas, a variety of jams and yogurts, as well as milk and cold cereals.

Things I didn't like.
My room was small, though it had a basic bed, bath/shower, desk, flat-screen tv with CNN in English.
The bath/shower was a small, curved tub that was uniquely high. It made getting in tricky and getting out dangerous. It was a big step down and the curved, wet tub could be slippery.
The gym had only 1 treadmill, 1 bike, and 1 elliptical. No weights or other equipment.
Wireless Internet cost another 8 euro per day.
The spartan room had no clock or radio.
The room had minimal lighting.

Room Tip: I don't know if it is noisy on the train track side. But to be safe, you probably are better of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The hotel is nice. Is clean, has a good breakfast and stuff is helpful. The calefaction was too high and I had to undress when I arrived to the room.
The equipment of the room was correct but really basic without any nice detail like a notebook and better if you bring your own soap cause I´m quite sure the one in the toilet was dishwasher.

Anyway, the cleaning was the best thing. It´s anice hotel for spending a couple of nights but maybe not the best choice for a week stance like I was. The neiborhood is dead after 7 pm so better if you bring with you something to entertein yourselve. There is no possibility of having dinner in the hotel and there wewrn´t too many restaurants in the neiborhood. There is a supermarket really close but since you have nothing to cook is not really useful.

No free internet. Even when you pay for it, it doesn´t work really good. I have to flight to Munich quite offen but I prefer to stay in a hotel in the city instead of here in Unterschleißheim.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibil_Nala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

The hotel was nice and clean. I've stayed there twice, while on a business trip. Breakfast was very good. Location was very convenient for the purpose of my trip, though it was right next to rail and therefore if you get the room with window overlooking the rail, you won't get much sleep at night. I was also given a smoking room though I asked for a non-smoking one as they said the were no other rooms available at this time. So make sure you contact them in advance about this. Since my room was stinking with cigarettes and overlooking rail I could open the window to get some air but then the noise from passing trains was unbearable.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZosiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterschleissheim
0.6 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
#2 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
219 reviews
0.8 mi away
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Resort Munich
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Reso...
#1 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
1,049 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Ibis Muenchen Garching
#4 of 9 in Garching bei Munchen
359 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst
Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurs...
#1 of 2 in Oberschleissheim
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Blauer Karpfen
Hotel Blauer Karpfen
#2 of 2 in Oberschleissheim
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord

Property: Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord
Address: Rathausplatz 8, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Muenchen Unterschleissheim)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterschleissheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Unterschleissh...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!!! The Star Inn Hotel is located on a peaceful site halfway between the Munich city center and the airport. Only 200 m away by foot is the S Bahn Line S1, which takes you comfortably and stress-free into the city (20 km) and to the airport (15 km). This favorable transit location is also the perfect starting point from which to visit the many attractions in and around Munich: The Flugwerft Air Museum, Oberschleissheim Palace, the Olympic Rowing Regatta, and the shooting sports facility. The comfortable leisure area of our hotel, with its sauna and fitness-room, is also available at no extra charge, as are the hotel parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing