We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rowing Regatta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rowing Regatta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We used this as a base to go to the Munich Junior international regatta. We love walking and were happy to walk the 1 hour it took to get to the lake through cycle routes and paths. The hotel was perfect, clean, good sized rooms and lovely comfy oversized single beds. Good breakfast selection in the morning however 12 euros was a bit of a pricy extra for this but happy all the same. Staff friendly and efficient, good english and ordered Taxi to airport for us, very prompt.

Wifi was very slow but wouldn't let this put you off staying.Would have been nice to have a kettle in room and tea making facilities, they should be aware this is a must for us British!! who like a good cup of tea first thing.

Room Tip: WE were lucky with the quiet side of the hotel I didn't hear the train ata ll.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    33
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
13
2
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
337 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel last week.
Good points: friendly front desk, clean, bed OK, adequate breakfast, very handy for the S Bahn (for airport and Munich city)
Bad points: room is very basic, only CNN in English on TV, noisy railway station next door (even with window closed you can hear the announcements), very poor wifi (when it worked at all), poorly lit surrounding area.
I have stayed in 2 better hotels in the town but this was the cheapest. OK for a night is you just want somewhere to sleep. I wouldn't recommend walking about near this place at night as it is poorly lit.

Room Tip: avoid the railway station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire,England
Level Contributor
359 reviews
258 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

looking now at other reviews I think I hit the correct mark with average as it is way out of the city and still a good distance from Munich airport. You do get noise from the trains which run all night and there are goods trains as well. The hamlet is tiny, the nearest eatery, well they were even embarrased suggesting it. There is another small town one stop towards airport and has great restaurant metres from the station. The rates are cheap, the rooms very pleasant and spacious, internet wi fi rubbish though and wanted to charge for it.

Room Tip: Don't have a room facing the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Eventually found hotel. Very very close to train station so you hear every train if on that side, or if the other side you hear everyone in the restaurant below. As it was warm while we stopped here, shutting the window turned your room into a hot box. Wifi barely worked. IMHO find another hotel. Do recommend the Italian restaurant (Onassis) owner very friendly and nice meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Unterschleissheim hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and while it was hard to find at first, it is in a great location for access to the S-Bahn station. That being said, the internet did not work (although it was a charge) and the breakfast room was a bit cramped. If you have a room facing the front, you will hear the trains/subway cars.

There is not much around in the area - seems to be an area that has gone through some rough economic times as a few restaurants are closed. It is not a bad area, but when staying in Munich I would stay closer to the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back if train noises bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

When we booked our 2 rooms, a month in advance of our stay, we requested the rooms be near each other. We even emailed the hotel and requested rooms each other. When we checked in, the rooms were on different floors and on opposite sites of the building. My room was so cold, I couldn't sleep. I was told tomorrow the weather would be better and it might warm up. So, I asked for an extra blanket. I was told they were stored on the 3rd floor and he was the only person working, I would have to wait until the morning or watch the front desk for him while he fetched me a blanket.

Room Tip: corner room is bigger but cold in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The receptionist was unfriendly to the point of confrontational. Her colleague had no interest in helping me to check in.
I was left stranded in reception until my travel agent dived in to try to resolve the situation. This shouldn't have happened - their bureaucracy and belligerence was appalling.
Avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterschleissheim
0.6 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
#2 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.8 mi away
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Resort Munich
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Reso...
#1 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst
Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurs...
#1 of 2 in Oberschleissheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Alarun
City Partner Hotel Alarun
#3 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hotel Kriemhild
Hotel Kriemhild
#4 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord

Property: Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord
Address: Rathausplatz 8, 85716 Unterschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Muenchen Unterschleissheim)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Unterschleissheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Unterschleissh...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!!! The Star Inn Hotel is located on a peaceful site halfway between the Munich city center and the airport. Only 200 m away by foot is the S Bahn Line S1, which takes you comfortably and stress-free into the city (20 km) and to the airport (15 km). This favorable transit location is also the perfect starting point from which to visit the many attractions in and around Munich: The Flugwerft Air Museum, Oberschleissheim Palace, the Olympic Rowing Regatta, and the shooting sports facility. The comfortable leisure area of our hotel, with its sauna and fitness-room, is also available at no extra charge, as are the hotel parking spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Hotel Muenchen Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing