We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Zum Walde
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 24(Eschweiler)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
    US$48
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    US$130
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Hotel Mykonos(Eschweiler)
    US$107
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Room Service
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (108)
    Filter reviews
    108 results
    Traveller rating
    28
    47
    15
    13
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    28
    47
    15
    13
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewswellness areaindoor poolgood sizenudesaunaaachen
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 108 reviews
    Reviewed 30 December 2013

    Our young family of 4 rented one of the 2 bedroom apartments: Perched on the top of a hill, there is free parking. The apartment is large, well furnished, and crystal clean. Reception, in another building, had professional, courteous, helpful staff - polite & pleasant, informative - just super. The swimming pool is more inclined for spa guests, and my husband and daughter could get a massage without making a reservation. We could bring our dog! That was a first for our family and it felt much better to have her with us. We didn't eat in the restaurants, yet, the atmosphere was inviting & friendly The area has loads to offer - from Aachen and it's Dom church to Monschau and it's quaint touristic village. Plenty of outdoor hiking. Even my 10 yr old said she would enjoy returning - Definitely worth a return trip!

    Room Tip: We really appreciated the apartment - the kids could kick back and weren't required to be in a hotel for dinner - we played games in the evening, - it was a home away from home. If anything was missing from kitchen utensils to toiletries, you just needed to ask - the floor warming made sure the place was very cozy indeed!
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Katherine K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 November 2013

    Lovely and quirky, the Hotel Zum Walde was everything we had expected and more. Nestled in the forest, this hotel exhumes a sense of mountain cabin warmth. The rooms are basic but charming. The spa is spectacular, which was perfect as it was the main draw to our stay. Can imagine coming back for a cold winter weekend to warm up and stay cozy. Dinner was fabulous. The food was great and the service some of the best we have come across in a long time. Our waiter was friendly, endearing and was able to assist us with wine and beer recommendations. Well done Zum Walde. We shall be back.

    Room Tip: We did not order room service so I cannot comment to this end. I would recommend trying the local beer - a lovely treat…along with the local wines. Indulge :)
    • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank athomeabroad
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 October 2013

    It is all a bit vintage but they are modernising. Looking at the current management and service level it is not there ambition that sets the pace but cash flow.

    It was sad that the wifi did not work in the guest house wich is 50 meters away from the hotel. Lobby and bar are modern but rooms are still in the 70ties style.

    Room Tip: Do not go to the restaurant opposite the lobby. Is run by someone else and is very basic and smell like duat when you enter the restaurant. Eat in the lobby restaurant.
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mark V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2013

    We had planned a weekend break getting naked in the sunning area en route from Amsterdam to SW Germany, but the sun did not come through.

    No problem this is a comfortable place to stay with pleasant helpful employees.

    Our room was not air conditioned and probably would have been a little warm in the summer. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable. We had a nice little sitting area behind it, we could not tell how much sun would hit it, too cloudy.

    The continental breakfast was good and included. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant at night, good menu and really good food.

    We did use the indoor swimming pool but not the rest of the spa facilities. I did lap swim in the pool, a little short but adequate and certainly the right temperature. The pool is for nude use in the morning and after 8 PM and clothing optional the rest of the time. I swam nude both times in the late afternoon although a clothed family did come in while I was there the first evening. If Americans they were probably appalled

    There is a typical local German Castle nearby that is worth a visit.

    If you don't know the area be sure to have GPS or a really good map.

    Room Tip: Probably should mention desire to use Spa Area or Clothing Optional Sunning.
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank traveltree52053
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 August 2013

    We got a gift from my parent and could choose between a few hotels to stay over for 1 night.
    We chose hotel Zum Walde because of the enviroment.
    When we arrived our first impression was that it was old and ready for some renovation, but at the moment we entered the hotel our impression changed. The inside of the hotel got a make over and everthing was clean. They've some nice welness options and the atmosphere is very relaxed, you can sit at the bar near the swimmingpool. The restaurant was nice but the food was average. They've made a nice bar separated from the restaurant with his own style, it's very cosy to sit over there!
    The staff was friendly and the rooms were nice and clean.

    The hotel is not that far from Aachen and you should definitly go to Monschau.
    It's a super cosy village near a river with the perfect winteratmosphere and some nice bakery's and juniper liquor shops.

    http://www.monschau.de/tourist-information/

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jasper C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews