We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern-minimalist style Hotel for Business”
Review of Silicium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silicium
Konigswinter, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Modern-minimalist style Hotel for Business”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hotel Silicium is easily reached off A48. It is a modern-minimalistic place - exposed concrete, "boxed" look, not cluttered, etc. Limited parking in front of hotel, more parking around the corner. Rooms are modern and bed area smallish (single bed shoved into corner) but a desk and a seperate bathroom (with door; see other reviews). Bath small; walk-in shower flooded bathroom floor. All in all clean, functional. Breakfast buffet was good, dinner was fine. Somewhat loud - due to the concrete walls etc. There is a "show kitchen" right in the restaurant. The meeting room on the ground floor was fine. There are 2 outdoor areas next the ground floor meeting room for break-outs and a seating area in front of the hotel - looking onto the parking lot and street. The hotel belongs to the Heinz family who also runs the Hotel Heinz in town. The staff was friendly and helpful. The value-for-money ratio is good. I would recommend this place for a business meeting (about 1h15 drive from Frankfurt and/or Cologne/Bonn area) or an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
7
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hotel Silicium is a subsidiary of Hotel Heinz, the flagship of the Heinz family, owner of all hotels in this small town in the woods above Koblenz. Heinz as full, so I tested Silicium this time and was positively suprised. It is very close to the highway but you dont hear it. rooms are clean, large and well furnished. The very modern dining room and bar is furnished like a loft with the kitchen in the middle of the dining room. Menu is limited but quality is very good and prices are soft... I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty similar and well oriented
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but did eat a light lunch at the Silicium Restaurant, and the food was exceptional. Very minimalist in design, but that was what we wanted during the Keramik Show.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SharonRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just checked into our "double" room. Two separate beds, pushed together. And no door on the toilet. The Germans have some strange ideas about which intimate moments should be private vs. which should be shared!

Apparently this is the new hotel style, but I'm also not the first guest who has complained about the lack of privacy in the room. Hotel managers, please get the message: watching me on the toilet is hardly likely to lend a romantic mood to the evening. Maybe you can get away without a door in a single room, but it's awfully bold to assume that all guests travelling together are familiar enough with one another to prefer an open toilet.

This detail is enough for me to never return to the hotel, and had I known ahead of time, I would have chosen another hotel without doubt.

Shame, because this detail aside, the hotel is otherwise very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonVillageIdiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed one night in Silicium on a business trip to Southern Germany. Situated a few hundred meters from the highway. Would recommended this hotel for its price/quality. (approx. 60 €/night for a single room, breakfast included). Very clean rooms, nicely designed bathrooms, large breakfast choice, friendly staff.
Nice diner menu choice on the terrace. Salads recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be_watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoehr-Grenzhausen
0.7 mi away
Zugbrucke Grenzau
Zugbrucke Grenzau
#1 of 3 in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Friends Mittelrhein
0.6 mi away
Burghotel Grenzau
Burghotel Grenzau
#1 of 1 in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heinz
Hotel Heinz
#2 of 3 in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
193 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Silicium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silicium

Property: Silicium
Address: Schillerstr. 2-4, 56203 Hoehr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Hoehr-Grenzhausen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Silicium 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Silicium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silicium Germany/Hoehr-Grenzhausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing