We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Christmas in Grenzau”
Review of Zugbrucke Grenzau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zugbrucke Grenzau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We come to this Hotel for Christmas, as the Service tendered is always good and friendly, with Prices at a reasonable rate. The star Rating I would agree with, having stayed in a lot of other similar level Hotels, their personal attention is better than others. Attention to booking requests we have never had any problem with.
The Hotel is down in a pleasantly wooded valley and is a family concern, and having visited here for a number of years, not only at Christmastime. The welcome we are afforded has been excellent on each occasion. Their selection of room Levels goes from the Basic to the luxurious, we now enjoy their third Level of room, the 'Avance' however their rooms are pitched at Levels suitable for their occupants, and for say a Table Tennis match, their Basic room would be completely adequate. For a really Special Occasion their themed rooms are ideal. The tea and coffee available in the rooms is entirely of the Continental style, so this would never suit the british request for tea - I find it strange that the British expect english tea to be provided (as commented on other Reviews) or that a 'Full English Breakfast' is not provided.... this is not England. The Hotel comprises numerous facets, all of which complement each other, such as the main Restaurant, the bars in the main building, Manni's across the road providing the German 'Pub' that has a proper bar and a 10 pin Bowling alley - a rarity in this area. The 'Wellness bereich' sports complex is in a new building attached to the main, so no outside stroll is needed, and has a gymn, a reasonable Swimming pool, a Sauna area comprising of various types - finnish etc, a hammam with rest Areas carefully folded together. An outside area for textiled use has a whirlpool, which we have found fun to occupy in the snowy parts of the year. This is not the largest of Sauna Areas, but to our thoughts is sufficient for the visiting clientelle. it is also possible to have all sorts of Treatments there - the list is quite extensive. Surrounding the Hotel are Woods with paths for the avid Walkers, These strolls can be easy - along the valley floor to the Steam rail Station Restaurant, or for the more adventurous, up the sides of the valley to the Schloss ruin, with it's beautiful Vistas.

This Hotel is a gem, we stumbled on this some years ago looking for a 'spot for Christmas' None too far from home, and always come here when we are visiting the local area. and would recommend it to all needing a good hotel when staying in the Region.

The only slight downside is public Transport; as this Hotel is tucked away, there is no mainline Train Service immediately available, buses, well, as we always arrive by car have never entertained Transport here by any other means. I would suspect that there is a local taxi Service that could be recommended by the Hotel,

Best Regards,

Marcus

Room Tip: The Levels of room available are broad, make sure you pick the correct level for your Needs, not jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcusMis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zugbruecke, Inhaber at Zugbrucke Grenzau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad that you again chose Zugbrücke for your vacation and that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you in Grenzau soon again.

Kind regards,
Olaf Gstettner and the Zugbrücke staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

A group of us booked here as part of a week long training visit to the table tennis coaching school which is run next door, it's all done as part of a package deal. We'd previously been here around 4 years ago for the same purpose and I had good memories of the hotel.

The first disappointment came when we were allocated our rooms, we were in an annex building across the road and the rooms here are definitely not 4 star. When I asked to change in to the main hotel, I was informed that it was full but that I could move tomorrow. So the first night was in a room which would struggle to pass as 3 star, and the bed wasn't great. The room itself was clean enough though.

Next day, I did manage to swap rooms to the main hotel, albeit I had to pay an upgrade charge of 80 Euros for the week as apparently we had booked the lower class rooms.
The room in the main building was much better albeit I have to say for me, it's not 4 star. The single beds are pretty small, far too soft and the pillows are insufficient.
The room itself was clean and well appointed with a flat screen TV, mini bar and tea and coffee facilities, although bizarrely, all the tea was dreadful herbal flavoured teas.

The bathroom, whilst a decent size and clean enough had a distinctly unpleasant odour which was pretty constant.

We were full board and I do have to give the hotel top marks for the food. It was all buffet style, but the offerings at breakfast lunch and dinner were all very good.
In the evenings, the hotel bar was pretty quiet but there is a bar across the road which has ten pin bowling and some decent beer.

One major bugbear, there were a huge amount of flies around the hotel at the time we were there. Although the presence of flies can't be helped, the hotel did nothing in the way of fly catchers or other deterrents which meant they were pretty much always buzzing around the food and public areas. It really wouldn't cost too much to get some fly catchers installed.

The staff were a bit hit and miss, some were happy and chatty, some grumpy and not at all talkative.

Overall, it's a nice setting and not a dreadful place, but they need to work harder on service and definitely need to improve the hygiene with those flies. I'd definitely recommend booking the best room you can afford.

Room Tip: avoid the annex building at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zugbruecke, Inhaber at Zugbrucke Grenzau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to evalute your last stay with us and give us your thoughts and impressions. We do regret that your room did not meet your approval. For future stays we would like to recommend to reserve a room of our balance or avance category. Regarding the flies please be assured that this was an unusual phenomenon during a few days and definitely does not happen on a regular basis. Of course we do apologize for this as well as for any inconvenience caused. We would be very happy to again welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,
Olaf Gstettner and the Zugbruecke staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The service attitude in this hotel was very disappointing. We ordered two rooms over the phone and insisted on separate beds in the twin room, which was confirmed by the clerk.
However, at arrival, the twin room beds stood together and we had to separate them ourselves. Also, the towels and bathrobe for the second person were missing - no slippers were provided at all - in a wellness hotel! They even provided wrong door keys and no keys for the minibar/safety box and they had to be exchanged. The room furniture was very early 90´s style, even though we enjoyed the soft mattresses and the big sofa in the room. Biggest let down in the room: The shower area in the bathroom (no bathtub!) was very worn and the showerhead was broken so it was nearly impossible to take a shower. Also, you cannot lock the bathroom door!
When we returned from an outside event at 11pm, the restaurant was closed and no food could be ordered in the hotel. Not even room service! What kind of 4 star is that? The bar provided some bretzels to please us but that is not a substitute for warm food. Apparently the cook leaves at 10pm. We use several cell phone providers and nobody had a steady signal on the property.
The breakfast is also not up to standard: English breakfast options like breakfast beans, mushroom, boiled tomatoes are missing, also no Asian options. Most importantly: Safety and security: Our rooms had no visible smoke detector, sprinkler or evacuation chart and no dead bolt!
The spa area has a mid-sized swimming pool, saunas, quiet room and I think massage and beauty options as well as daily activities. That´s a nice plus for the hotel, but for the rate we payed we could have gotten a way better product in a Kempinski hotel or similar. Won´t be back :(

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zugbruecke, Inhaber at Zugbrucke Grenzau, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013
Google Translation

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir bedauern, keine für Sie rundum zufriedenstellende Leistung erbracht zu haben. Die Meinung unserer Gäste ist uns sehr wichtig und wir haben Ihre Anregungen sehr aufmerksam gelesen. Im dem von Ihnen gebuchten Programm waren Übernachtung, Vitalfrühstück und Nutzung des Wellnesscenter (Schwimmbad, Sauna, Außenwhirlpool, Fitness-Studio) enthalten. Sie buchten die Kategorie Basic und diese Zimmer sind alle mit einer Dusche ausgestattet. Mit Bad können Sie unsere Kategorien Elegance und Avance buchen. Mit dem Frühstück beginnt unser Roomservice morgens gegen 6.30 Uhr und endet mit dem Dinner gegen 22.30 Uhr. In allen unseren Zimmern befindet sich eine gefüllte Minibar. Die Aufgaben des Concierge erfüllt unser Rezeptionsteam gerne und selbstverständlich bieten wir auf Wunsch einen Gepäckservice an. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie zukünftig wieder als Gast in der ZUGBRÜCKE begrüßen zu dürfen.

Viele Grüße,
Olaf Gstettner und das Team der Zugbrücke Grenzau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Spent 4 days in this conference hotel. Overal the atmosphere and surrounding is calm and quiet for a conference. The aviva health center closeby is a big plus. Apparently some rooms were refurbished but I still had an old room with two tiny single beds; whereas I prefere to sleep in a double bed (probably solved if I would've complained). Free wifi throughout the hotel is a big plus! Would stay again for business, not for pleasure since in the immediate surroundings the options are limited, also for walking, you first have to climb 100m altitude to get out of the valley.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zugbruecke, Inhaber at Zugbrucke Grenzau, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback as well as for again choosing Zugbruecke for your Christmas vacation. We are very happy that you have become one of our regular guests and that you again enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again next year!

Kind regards,
Olaf Gstettner and the Zugbruecke staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Spent one night on a business trip in Zugbrücke Hotel. The setting is great, lushy green all around. Very friendly reception, comfortable beds in correct rooms. Restaurant was OK. Breakfast was very fine. Could certainly do worse as business traveler, although this hotel really focuses on welness and sports. Koblenz is a 20' drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: die zimmer zum bach heraus sind sehr ruhig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filippofascella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoehr-Grenzhausen
7.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Montabaur
Hotel Schloss Montabaur
#1 of 3 in Montabaur
137 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & Sporting Club Wiesensee
4.6 mi away
Hotel zwei&vierzig (Hotel 42)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Silicium
Silicium
#3 of 3 in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
48 reviews
8.9 mi away
Haeckers Grand Hotel
Haeckers Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bad Ems
99 reviews
5.6 mi away
Schloss Engers
Schloss Engers
#1 of 5 in Neuwied
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zugbrucke Grenzau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zugbrucke Grenzau

Address: Brexbachstr. 11-17, 56203 Hoehr-Grenzhausen, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Hoehr-Grenzhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hoehr-Grenzhausen
Price Range: £98 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zugbrucke Grenzau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Zugbrucke Grenzau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zugbrucke Grenzau Germany/Hoehr-Grenzhausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing