We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bischofschloss
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markdorf
Certificate of Excellence
Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bischofschloss for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The artistic touches all around the hotel bring joy at every step. It all started with a shower elevator (photo attached), that boggled my mind a little. Then our room, the 'music room', which was 'musically' decorated and had a working record player with plenty of records. A second elevator, which had drawing panels in it, lest you should get bored on your ride, had us marvel at the ingenuity of the designers. The inner courtyard was elegantly set up and it provided an oasis of calm and privacy. From the inner courtyard you walk onto the pedestrian area of Markdorf, where you find many restaurants, caffes and shops. The train station is a 5 minute walk away. The price was very good, given that the entire Bodensee area was fully booked due to festivals.
My husband and I travel a lot around the world and have stayed in many different hotels over the years, usually in Hiltons. Still, I can't rave enough about this hotel :)

Room Tip: The 'music room' has a working record player and tons of records - a joy down memory lane :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamonaRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    41
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
34
2
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a great hotel that has an individual personality - if you are not a fan of chains, you'll love this place. The staff are all fantastically helpful and happy. That said, the only problem is that Markdorf itself is OK without being great - there are better towns in the area.

Room Tip: Choose one away from the bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ians2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel, quirky elements scattered through out will often make you smile and makes for a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are very clean and the staff are faultless. The restaurant, whilst a little expensive is well worth the extra money. I was here for a week on business and would happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank flyingprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

On arrival we used the lift from the parking level to the reception, unusual to say the least...... The check in staff were very friendly and even though this is a small hotel showed us to our rooms. My room was on the top floor of the main building, so was in the attic space and spaciouse is really an understatment for this room. The decore was a little quirky, however very well layed out and clean. Thre restaurant was busy but the staff were efficient and friendly throughout, and the food to a very good standard considering the reasonably prices. I only stayed one night in this hotel as I was visiting the area on business, however intend to return as I was so impressed with the hotel and surrounding area.

Room Tip: I had room 306 in the attic, this room is massive !!!! also the rooms in the tower are spaciouse. Av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Wilson700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We wanted to stay in a castle hotel and due to a late booking, this seemed to be a decent option. The place is very charming due to its location and the courtyard in the centre was a brand new experience for us. The breakfast options were reasonable. The staff was very warm and helpful. They wrote lovely notes for the guests on the breakfast table napkins. A couple of things which could've looked at was, they did not have any fans and if there is no breeze then the rooms could get uncomfortable. The number of parking slots allotted for hotel guests were limited which could be looked into.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ektanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Upon entering Hotel Bischofsschloss, one can expect several nice surprises. The lobby is comfortable, with quirky little design elements (at some point during your stay, be sure to take the elevator the parking level....). The team receives you in a extremely friendly and helpful way and offers local tipps and tricks.

The room we had for the weekend was comortable, large enough, with a huge, well appointed marble bathroom. Unfortunately the door lacked some soundproofing, noises from the lobby could be heard too well.

Breakfast was fully sufficient and a bit above the ordinary.

Value for money was very good, and we will come back to the Bischofsschloss in Markdorf, when travelling in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

Visit to this lovely remodeled hotel was spoiled by the noise of the Wed morning market being set up in the market square and street next to the hotel. Beautiful extra large room and bath. Our dinner was included in the rate and the food was OK. Dessert included a basil sorbet, ugh! Breakfast buffett was average. No internet access. It was a trek throught the underground hallways from the parking garage to the hotel elevator.

Would not recommend staying here if the next day is a market day, noise started at 5:30am and didn't end until after 7.

  • Liked — Large modern room and bath
  • Disliked — Noise of the weekly market being set up at 5:30 am and the basil sorbet
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay the night before a market.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Markdorf
3.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Maier
Hotel Restaurant Maier
#3 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
264 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
Comfort Hotel Friedrichshafen
#2 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
175 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichshafen
Holiday Inn Express Friedrichsha...
#5 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Traube am See
Hotel Traube am See
#4 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
253 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
Ringhotel Krone Schnetzenhausen
#6 of 28 in Friedrichshafen
171 reviews
10.6 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bischofschloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bischofschloss

Property: Hotel Bischofschloss
Address: Schlossweg 2, 88677 Markdorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Markdorf
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Markdorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Bischofschloss 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a little world full of surprises, with a magical ambience, individual and spacious rooms and a very personal service - from the pillow bar until bedtime story. Experience and enjoy the joy with which we are your hosts. Our little castle offers many ways to spend a wonderful night. From the classic castle rooms with magnificent stucco ceiling from the 18th century about romantic tower rooms with canopy beds to modern design room. They all have one room in common: they were designed by the castle ghosts with great attention to detail themselves. Only about 8 km away from Lake Constance there is a huge variation of leisure possiblities. Also trips to the flower island Mainau, the Ravensburger Spieleland, Konstanz or Bregenz do not take many time. We look forward to welcoming you soon in Markdorf! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bischofschloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing