We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop-off place for travelling through Germany.”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stupferich
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good stop-off place for travelling through Germany.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

An ideal place to break a long journey. Very near to the motorway and handy en-route to Austria. Very good breakfast, decent rooms and an interesting outdoor seating area for drinks and meals. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redsquirrel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    35
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
37
5
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
343 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We used this hotel twice on our way to, and back from, a week in Austria. As others have said this is an ideal stop off being just off the motorway but in a nice quiet village. We had different rooms on our two nights, one was very large with a huge bathroom, the other adequate with a shower room. So I guess luck comes into what room you get. However in both, while the decor may be a little dated everything worked, including good WiFi.

The breakfast is excellent, but we didn't have an evening meal there choosing to head to the local Italian instead - which is also very good.

If you want to stretch your legs after your long drive, head up to the top of the village (follow brown signs from behind the church sq) and go up to the woods, which make for a nice walk particularly if, like us, you have a dog with you.

Room Tip: Room 17 was large with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fillyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were travelling from the UK to Austria and stayed here one night on each leg of the trip. The town is pretty quiet with a few restaurants. The day we arrived, the hotel restaurant was closed for a rest day (Ruhetag). The room on the way down to Austria was in the roof up a set of spiral stairs, fun with a dog. Comfy beds and a large bathroom with bath and shower. Free WiFi was quick and trouble free. Breakfast was very good with fresh orange juice (do it yourself with a machine) and a good range of dishes.

On the way back we got the room next door and it did not have a bath, which would have been very welcome, but it had a reasonable shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you want one, obvious really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ_Hore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Limited off street parking, and right on a fairly busy "rat run" road from the motorway nearby, but we enjoyed this hotel. The room was large, bathroom well equipped and the free wifi was good. The evening food was excellent, as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stopped here on way to Austria. great value, excellent breakfast. Had a lovelyevening meal and a few beers. Very handy position being close to the motorway junction. Will definitelystop here again whenrravelling to Austria or Italy. Possibly people should learn a bit of German when travelling in Germany, staff and owner were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Picked this hotel for an overnight stop on way back from Italy based on reviews here. The hotel reception was closed, as half expected, so the room key was in a cabinet for collection. The room was clean and comfortable so no complaints there. We had a walk around the village in the late afternoon. This was lucky as after much searching in the evening, we found out via another guest (that luckily spoke english) that the hotel restaurant was closed due to a holiday! During our walk around the village, we had spotted a Pizzeria that I can wholeheartedly recommend - "Le due Isole" - just near the church. Of course english speaking staff would be nice, but we were in Germany so maybe that's our problem. Breakfast was very good so I would recommend this hotel for a short stay just for the 'different' experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful Karlsruhe suburb called Stupferich. It is a clean hotel having the low price, the free parking and the excellent full breakfast as its strong points. Things that I would prefer to be better? Staff talking a bit English, better Wi-Fi signal (especially in my room the Wi-Fi was bad as I had to use the free-hotspot access point and put my laptop near the door), and smaller pillows instead of those huge ones that were completely unnecessary.

Besides, it is quite easy to find but it is highly recommended to rent a car. It will make your life much easier as the hotel is a 5 minute ride from the main motorway and 20 minute total car ride from the center of the city. If you prefer otherwise, you should change a couple of trains and buses in order to be at the hotel after almost an hour.

Room Tip: My room was No.2 which was a normal single room with a small window overlooking the roof and the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimChrisos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stupferich
Durlach
Ibis Budget Karlsruhe
Ibis Budget Karlsruhe
#16 of 61 in Karlsruhe
301 reviews
Der Blaue Reiter
#2 of 61 in Karlsruhe
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Südstadt
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
Leonardo Hotel Karlsruhe
#6 of 61 in Karlsruhe
347 reviews
Novum Hotel Greif
#48 of 61 in Karlsruhe
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Kleinsteinbacher Str. 2, 76228 Stupferich, Karlsruhe, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Karlsruhe > Stupferich
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stupferich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing