We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chichester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here one night for visiting relatives. Very large room, with comfy bed and two armchairs. Had good nights sleep despite function in adjoining restaurant. Ample parking. Hotel clean and outside well kept. Would recommend hotel but can't understand why restaurant in hotel not open on Saturday night in July?!! Never mind there are several nearby pubs and we had very good meal at The Barge in Battlesbridge.

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing away from restaurant ..no noise disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and arrived fairly late. We were welcomed at reception by friendly staff. No shortage of parking spaces. Rooms were nice and quiet and spacious. Our room had a slight musky smell. We didnt have breakfast. Check out was quick and easy. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller0759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terry4003, Manager at The Chichester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at the Chicester from 3rd to the 6th June 2013. It is set in a very pleasant area which for Essex is quite rural. There is more than ample parking. The staff are very friendly and smartly dressed. The rooms are very clean and have a comfy sofa, showers are excellent and there is plenty of storage area.
The bar is very comfortable and the selection of bottled real ale is very good and there was draught lager, a tad expensive but not silly prices. The food however is a little bit bland and would guess that the meat is bought ready sliced as opposed to being roast on the premises.
All in all I would not hesitate to stay again and the complementary newspaper was a pleasant touch.

Room Tip: Check there are no functions on and if so be away from that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Clean & painted - not new but for the money okay - to get your head down for the night it's fine , parking good - but not a 24 hour food or drink hotel... Check the details of your booking as they stick to 24 hours cancellation policy etc. Call the hotel to see if it meets your own standards. Second time here in 15 years

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here at a weekend and found the rooms to be well equipped and clean, with quality linen, TV, sofa, large desk and plenty of space. The bathroom worked fine, but was looking dated - the old Mira shower was exactly like the one we had in the 1970's in a northern council house, but it worked OK, although it was not particularly powerful.

The welcome on reception was good, with proper Essex girls rather than the more common (but generally equally good) East European receptionists.

The one area that I didn't enjoy was the breakfast. The ingredients were very poor quality - the sausage was ultra-cheap econo-sausage that tasted more of flavoured bread than of porky meat, the egg came on joyless fried bread, the mushrooms tasted like they had come from a can or been boiled in water to remove all flavour, rather than sauted in butter, and coffee & tea were both self-serve from vacuum jugs rather than freshly brewed tea or coffee brought to the table. I would far rather pay a pound or two extra and have a well made breakfast with tasty quality ingredients than this sad effort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here last night for one night for a family wedding reception . The meal we had was fantastic , great service considering there were around 100 guest, room very nice and breakfast was well cooked. All staff very helpful.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have previously stayed here on two occasions when visiting friends in the area. Chose to stay here again for convenience rather than for the hotel's facilities (2 nights). The setting of the rooms around an attractive garden courtyard is pleasant but does mean that all rooms have 2 or 3 outdoor walls which even on a warm evening allowed the room to feel cold. The room was well appointed, perfectly adequate and clean. The only quibble is that the shower is a little underpowered. A major drawback is that there are no rooms with shower cubicles, just showers over a bath, not even facilities for the disabled never mind for those with ageing knees & hips. Pricewise is on the expensive side if the additional cost of breakfast (currently almost £10 each for cooked or almost £6 each for continental) is taken into account. Accommodation is slightly cheaper if booked online. Evening restaurant, which we didn't use, is limited in both times and days. Good parking. The hotel is not in a tourist area so its customers seem to be mainly those on business. Found staff helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank well-travelled0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickford
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
760 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
10 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#1 of 3 in Maldon
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chichester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chichester Hotel

Address: Old London Road, Wickford SS11 8UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wickford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chichester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chichester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chichester Hotel Wickford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing