We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVERAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chichester Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Friendly staff on the reception. Bed quite small, just a standard double, and it was extremely hard. The bathroom was a bit of a squeeze! Knees touching the HOT towel rail while on the loo! Water was nice and hot in the morning though. Breakfast just short of ten quid! and it was 'ok' - nothing to write home about - thought it was a bit pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOJO785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    85
    62
    23
    34
See reviews for
62
56
11
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here whilst working in wickford, Staff were polite and helpful. The rooms surround a yard and garden area so if you want a breath of fresh air its outside your room door. Bathroom had a bath & shower and water was piping hot and the shower quite powerful. Breakfast was a little dissapointing and not the cheapest however evening meals were much better the staff were great and an altogether better experience than breakfast

Overall a good hotel for folks like myself on a tight budget

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend,England.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed here for 1 night last week and where very happy with our stay we were met at the end of a very tiring day by two attractive women on reception who gave us a very warm welcome and after settling in we visited the restaurant where we where met by yet two more attractive ladies who served us with what I can only describe as dolphin and chips the fish portions where huge and very fresh. overall the hotel was very comfortable, in a great location and so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for business. Large comfortable rooms, best if you like accents of brown. Corridors a bit industrial, but no need to spend much time in them. Evening meal of chicken madras much better than i expected. All staff encountered pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the eleventh of twenty hotels (11 Travelodges, 8 Premier Inns and the Chichester) used by my wife and myself on our tour of Wales and England in August 2013. We had pre-booked and pre-paid for all Travelodges and Premier Inns.

Location:
Rural Setting.
No Lift

Reception:
Formal. No sense of welcome.

Bedroom:
On first floor. Spacious and very well furnished. Spotless.
Large chair plus couch. Flat screen TV. Tea/ Coffee making facilities. Coffee table. Desk.
Phone. Hairdryer. Iron. Ironing board.
2 large spare pillows.
Large comfortable bed. Very quiet room

Bathroom:
Bath & Shower.
Lace curtains on window.
Sachets of shampoo and shower gel.
2 hand towels. 2 bath towels. Bath mat.
Shaver socket. Electric towel rail.
Spotless.

Breakfast:
We arrived early. Service was good but it deteriorated seriously for those who arrived later: Tables were not cleared, Hot water was not replenished. Staff were very rude to guests when shortcoming were brought to their attention.

Assessment:
Cost £60 plus £9.75 pp for breakfast. Expensive.
Accommodation excellent but staff conduct unacceptable under pressure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonalGD15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wickford hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Went to this hotel for 1night we felt very welcome by the receptionist he was polite and helpful. The room itself looked newly decorated was clean and fresh even though the furniture is a bit dated and worn out bathroom was clean with fresh towels and toiletries were provided .Our room overlooked a farm nice outlook the windows open nice and wide as the room was quite warm.Shower was in a bath quite difficult to get out of as I'm only 5ft but adequate power.The primary reason for the visit was to celebrate our friends Anniversary it was a dinner dance which was really good food was excellent service was too waiters and waitresses helpful and polite and constantly checking if everything was ok and asking if we wanted more drinks a great evening.We stayed for breakfast in the morning it was good but some of our group waited a long time for their food too long really constantly had to ask for things like bowls milk as they were slow to put more out .but all in all I would recommend a stay here if you are celebrating something or a guest to a party so easy to fall out of the party straight into bed .Checkout was very organised too with friendlyness

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie324569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed over night for some local contracting work I was doing.
Room was comfortable but did seemed outdated. Shower worked but the flow was poor.
I also was unable to open a window to allow some air in the room. Which made the room extremely hot overnight. The restaurant and bar was pleasant, good selection of food and prices were reasonable. The hotel bar does closes early (10.30pm) from other bars this is probably tidy in to the restaurant opening times but as the hotel is miles from anywhere this must get frustrating for guests. I would stay again only if it was for business as your not in the hotel for that long.

Room Tip: Good for business travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSharman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickford
7.7 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
9.1 mi away
Ivy Hill Hotel
Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rochford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.8 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chichester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chichester Hotel

Property: The Chichester Hotel
Address: Old London Road, Wickford SS11 8UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wickford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wickford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chichester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chichester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chichester Hotel Wickford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing