We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Normal pub lunch”
Review of Downham Arms

Downham Arms
Ranked #8 of 51 Restaurants in Wickford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Normal pub lunch”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My friend and I visited on Sunday for a quick catch up over lunch.
Food reasonably priced. Baguettes large and filling, fresh and served with salad or chips.
No problems with the quality of food although we did not try the main meals.
Did get a little roudy with men watching the football but this didn't effect our lunch.
Not a bad little pub but nothing special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    31
    22
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

7 of us had 3 course Christmas meal and found it very nice, good value, loads of food, friendly helpful staff. The table was decorated with balloons, crackers, Christmas napkins - excellent. Will definitely come again and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Another pub gone downhill”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

In 2009 we used to come here all the time and it was great. Went earlier on this year and it's not a scratch on how good it used to be. Staff got orders wrong, food cold, no refunds.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AWFUL !!!! GIVE IT A MISS-”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We went to the Downham after refurb and was disgusted. We were a Group of 5 adults..and was looking forward to some good pub grub...... NO !!!!
2 Orders for roast chicken dinners were terrible, the mash was instant mash, as there was still powder in the middle- yorkshire puds were still partly frozen- as were the peas-

2 orders for mixed grills, steak was like leather, and i like a chewy steak- but it was more of a challenge even for me, let alone my stepfather with his false teeth-chicken breasts were burnt on both meals.

On the plus side- my brother-in-law said "his burger was well cooked", although the bacon was literally a bit snappy (burnt to a crisp)

Overall i would not recommend to anyone looking enjoy even the basic of foods.

As for the refurb- uumm where !! see 2 new tables.

Service was slow albeit quite friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Downham Arms, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear juliemal, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further and look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, John Barras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal out”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good food friendly helpful staff kids aloud reasonable price quiet and relaxing refurb been done nicely been here serval times

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downham Arms also viewed

 
Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Downham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing