We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed now” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Chilli - CLOSED

Red Chilli
Cuisines: Indian
Description: This restuarant used to be the Balti Lord
Restaurant details
Description: This restuarant used to be the Balti Lord
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed now”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This premises has now closed. Don't know whether it's because it wasn't doing enough trade, or other reasons. Either way, it's now closed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We always order take away from this restaurant and were over the moon when they opened a fully seated restaurant. To be fair, from the outside it doesnt look that great, but trust me, the food is great!! the service was spot on and they couldnt do enough for us. You can take your own drink with you, but they are reasonably priced. I cant wait to go back again soon...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We went to this restaurant in July to celebrate a friend's birthday. There were approximately 18 of us and everyone enjoyed themselves and loved the food.
Portions are a good size, and the food is full of flavour and not greasy like most restaurants. Our waiter was funny, happy to help and attentive. Which in my opinion is the perfect host!
Also, you can bring your own alcohol, which saved a LOT of money. The food was inexpensive, particularly for the great quality. The staff were happy to provide glasses, both normal and wine.
I will definitely return here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousCatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
156 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“bad decoration or what”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

bright red shop front try eating inside sycodelic wallpaper menus you cant read, its like a bad film set from austin powers really. foods ok and you can take your own drinks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Basic, but pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We went there for a family celebration (about 7 of us). Most notable is that they are happy for customers to bring their own drink, which feels slightly odd (especially to ask to borrow a bottle opener!), but really helps reduce the bill!

The food was great and the service attentive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arthur_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Chilli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing