We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience in the middle of the rain forest.”
Review of Hacienda Gripinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jayuya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Gripinas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jayuya
Reviewed 6 December 2011

As some body else already said in another review, it's difficult to rate this place based upon the normal standards for a hotel since this is a "suis generis" spot in the middle of the rain forest in one of the most remote towns, though very beautiful, of Puerto Rico.
The whole setting is what makes this place special.
It was built in 1858 as a coffee plantation house and during the last three decades it's being operated as a parador or bed and breakfast.
It's currently operated by the municipality. The staff in general is very kind. The service is nice; the food is what you would find at any puertorrican middle class home. Home style food. Generous portions. Don't expect food cooked by a chef; it's cooked by local women, that cook the same way they cook to their families. Nothing fancy at all but with very nice flavor.
The rooms are not in top condition aesthetically speaking but are very clean. They have cable TV.
I went with a group that took the whole place for us, and had a blast there.
Looking forward to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the upper area of the building.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Gripinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here to get away from the busy city lifestyle. It is a great getaway destination outside of the Jayuya town surrounded by nature.

The room was clean and neat as well as the bathroom and the common areas. This “parador” imitates an old house with swing chairs and memorabilia. The food at the restaurant is superb. The small pool is perfect, but the water is way too cold.

I truly recommend this for couples, not so much for people with small kids.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank niqr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I don't know how to rate this place, because it's not for everyone. I gave it 5 stars because it was the best part of our trip to P.R. My husband and I had a wonderful time here, and I"m puzzled by the horrible reviews. Some of the reviews are years old--we stayed late May 2011 and the beautiful old place had been recently repainted and looked great. The food wasn't fabulous--the food in P.R. runs to fatty and fried everywhere you go--but the people were nice and the room we had--#19--was wonderful. Yes, the tiles were chipped and the water was tepid--but honestly, the building is 165 years old so we didn't expect a Marriott Courtyard. The big bonus is that you're in the middle of a rain forest, and our room, which had windows on two sides, made us feel as if we were sleeping right in the jungle. It was magical. We loved the wraparound porches, the river-water pool, the hammocks, the wonderful Old World atmosphere. We would absolutely stay here again and ask for Room 19. (Huge comfortable bed.) And for the reviewers who complained that they don't speak English? Come on, really??? It's the mountain area of P.R.--they don't HAVE to learn English. Our bumbling efforts were appreciated, and hand signals can usually do the trick. Bonus: we paid $310 for two nights, two dinners, two breakfasts. That is a DEAL.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WoodAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

It all depends on what you want. If you are brave enough to drive the narrow roads of the center of the island, tired of the sticky heat of the coast, and don't need endless entertainment, you have found a nice place to put the feet up. This old coffee plantation is at the base of Puerto Rico's highest peak, and is so high and cool that you don't need screens in the windows. No bugs to speak of.

Dinner was tasty and the staff was friendly. The decor was certainly dated like an old southern plantation, and sitting on the porch overlooking the valley was the height of excitement. The room was not The Ritz, but the small TV was adequate and reading seemed like it was entertainment enough.

It certainly is not for everyone. But if you wish to have a peaceful and cool break, you have found a nice little spot. I certainly intend to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bdw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We have visited Puerto Rico many times visiting friends who live in San Juan. We wanted to experience more of the island besides SJ and the beaches. The Hacienda is in the central mountains of Puerto Rico near the highest peaks and is located on a former coffee plantation. The buildings and grounds are old (built in 1858) but lovely. We enjoyed walking around the grounds, photographing the gorgeous, tropical plants and flowers. The parador (Puerto Rican country inn) has 2 pools which were very clean. One of the pools is formed by diverting a small river and has a large waterwheel. There is a large deck/patio area and covered picnic areas surrounding one of the pools which would be a great spot for a wedding or party. Very picturesque!! We stayed during the week and had the place to ourselves. We chose the room rate which included dinner and breakfast for 2. The food was delicious, traditional Puerto Rican food which we ordered from the menu and included many choices. The staff was friendly. The balcony off our room was a great place to sit and read, sipping drinks, and listening to the birds and coquis. Our room was no-frills, old but clean. The bed was not the most comfortable we've ever slept on. Overall, this is a quaint inn with lovely mountain views, good food and value. We would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mckeaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

First of all, I will never recommend this hotel/parador to any of my friend and even my enemies. I was at Jayuya for a Business trip, and the first time that we came to Jayuya we stay at La Posada Hotel at Jayuya and it was not a pleasant stay, so for our second trip down Jayuya we got our company booked us Hacienda Gripina, hoping better results from our previous experience. So we drove all the way to Hacienda Gripinas, when we arrive there was no one at the Lobby/Front Desk, but we got a note with our names on it, that told us where our rooms where and the keys where left on the front desk, so we pick them up and walk all the way to the rooms, only to find one clean room out of three. The second and third room where all messy with used towels hanging on chairs, the bed seem like it has been used hours before, some cups of wine where also at the second room. The third room did not have any lights, only one lamp seems to work. So we went down to the lobby and found the only three people working at the Restaurant. We told to a man who seems to be some kind of manager and told what we just found at our rooms. He was very surprise like us and gave us two new rooms. We went to the rooms, and we found that we didn’t have TV/Cable nothing (though they gave us the tv controls) so for us the TV where just ornaments. Bottom line, WILL NEVER EVER AGAIN will go to Gripinas, prefer to stay at Ponce and drove 1 hour to Jayuya for work.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alextm21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Staff was very friendly. Food was awesome. Rooms were EXTRA clean! Came for a business meeting and ended up purchasing an extra night. Will come back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theTruth_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jayuya
10.7 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
12.8 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
464 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
27.7 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
33.9 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Gripinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Gripinas

Address: Rte 527 Km 2.5, Jayuya 00664, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Jayuya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jayuya
Price Range: £92 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hacienda Gripinas Jayuya
Hacienda Gripinas Hotel Jayuya
Hacienda Gripinas Puerto Rico/Jayuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing