We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting well taken care of”
Review of Hacienda Gripinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jayuya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Gripinas
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jayuya
puerto rico
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting well taken care of”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Went there in January, roads were undergoing construction works so hopefully it will be great getting there in a few months after a long trip, it wasn't impossible though. Surroundings and facilities are well kept and beautiful. They have captured the atmosphere of early century living. Restaurant needs a lot of improvement, service was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    35
    9
    6
    16
See reviews for
32
41
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minturn, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It's a long drive to get here, but a beautiful location. The 1st room we were shown was horrible, dark, dank, dirty and downright scary. We opted for the remodeled room which was newly painted, bathroom detailed, new flat screen and a great balcony with hammock, views and many windows. DO Not purchase the meals with room rate. Food was not worth the price and you are better off paying separately too save money. Or drive into town. There are plenty of choices, even a Burger King. The pool area was pretty. Water was too cold to swim in the day we were there since it was cool and misty. Staff was very friendly, especially Orlando who grew up in the area and translated for us with the kitchen staff. Overall, it's very overpriced, as is most of Puerto Rico, but a unique experience to spend time in a mtn. Parador that was built in 1854. The lobby area was beautiful with a nicely decorated Christmas tree and we enjoyed sitting on the balconies in rocking chairs listening to coqui frogs and watching fireflies at night.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the room first as they are in drastically different conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank homestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I know that Puerto Rico is surronded by water, but you'd never know it here! Came back to our rooms about 10PM on a recent visit and no water, no shower, no sink, no toilet...no water period, and no explanation. What makes it more incredible is that there was NO ONE from the Parador to speak to.The office was in darkness and there was no one from maintenence. The rooms were in great need of repair, chipping paint and moldy carpeting. There was a TV, but no remote, so no way to use it. Only one light worked in the room and the shower consisted of a walk in shower, with a "shower chair" used for disabled people with only a hand held shower head. While the water was on by morning, there was no hot water and the water in the sink was a beige color. When we went to the restaurant to ask for bottled water so we could take our medication and brush our teeth, we were told they had none, but if we could wait they had sent out for some bottles of water. Dark, dingy rooms and you are "on your own" in the event of an emergency...BEWARE, I wish I could give it a minus 1 star rating!

Room Tip: Don't stay in Jayuya, it is a beautiful area, but leave before dark and stay in Ponce. Put this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 12646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The reception for a friend's wedding was celebrated here, so I thought it would be a good idea to rent a room instead of driving back home late at night. Turns out that that is exactly what I got for my money: a bed to spend the night. A night's stay won't even get you a continental breakfast nor a complimentary glass of water. The cable TV was offline, and I was promised a room with cable TV. I had eaten at the restaurant in a previous occasion and the food was excellent, but this time I did not have time to eat there so I will refrain from offering an inaccurate comment. To wrap things up, if night and sleepiness befall you during a long trip to Jayuya and you don't wish to drive back home, rent a room at Gripinas. Otherwise, I would not plan a 3/2 stay there in a near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ademlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

You don't really have the choice, there is only 2 places to stay in Jayuya and the other one is a crappy hotel in downtown. Hacienda Gripinas is a really nice renewed old coffee farm with a lot of charm. Don't expect the Ritz : the rooms are very simple and would need some new paint and decoration (can have lots of bugs as there are big openings to the outside in the bathroom). But the rest of the house is nice.

The only thing is : DO NOT eat there. You can book your stay choosing to include dinner and breakfast. Don't. The food is terrible and well over priced. Our dinner was a simple piece of met with no spices and no sauce. Just a plain tought overcooked piece of old steak with a bowl of rice and 2 slices of tomato. No desert. The onion soup served as an apertizer was not too bad. Nothing fancy for the breakfast also. Definitely don't worth the 60$ extra per person we paid for the food.

I would recommand to stay there if you are driving along the Ruta Panoramica as there is very little hotel option or guesthouses listed on the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a good time here and would probably go back but (a) would ask for a room on the upper floor as lower floor was dark and felt a little like being in the basement, (b) would not take the meal plan as the offering was exactly the same every night - a few selections but repetitive. And no wine was served, so went and bought our own at the local Econo grocery store. People who run the hotel and restaurant were very nice. Not much hiking directly from the hotel as we had expected. Best hiking in the Toro Negro forest about 1/2 hour drive away.

Room Tip: As mentioned above - choose a room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceoverlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Before we booked this place, we read the reviews on Trip Advisor. Some people commented that it is in the middle of nowhere – and that was fine with us. Some commented that it is a little bit rundown – and that was also fine with us. We are laid-back people who don’t mind staying off the beaten track, and we speak enough Spanish to get by with non-English speaking staff. We also don’t need fancy rooms or amenities. However, the reviews did not prepare us for just how terrible Hacienda Gripiñas really is.

The location is beautiful – right in the middle of a forest full of coquí frogs. The buildings themselves are cute – they appear to be freshly painted and really look like an old coffee hacienda. However, when we arrived, the place was deserted. The 2 restaurant staff members were sitting outside chatting, despite the fact that the dinner service had already begun. There were no customers at all! The receptionist was not friendly. She showed us to our room, turned on the TV, and then just walked away. I had to chase her into the hall to ask about the hours for dinner, breakfast, and checkout.

Our room was creepy. It was dark and dingy. Paint was peeling, tiles were chipped, and the room was dirty. There was a big piece of half-eaten food (something like a chicken nugget) on the bedroom floor and a big hairball in the bathroom. The bathtub was full of hair. At least the bed linens appeared to be clean.

We had read that there was a path to hike up the mountain. When we asked the receptionist where the path was, she said there was no path and that we could just walk around the property. There really isn’t anywhere to walk, though. There are 2 pools on the Hacienda grounds, but one of them was drained and looked to be under construction (hopefully). There was a filthy hammock on the porch that looked too scary to sit in. The Hacienda is located on a steep, windy street where drivers speed around the curves, so we took a short walk in the neighborhood but didn’t go too far.

The electricity went out twice in our one-night stay. Even after power was restored, there was only one functioning light on the porch, so in order to sit outside and read we had to pull 2 chairs in front of the window to use the light from inside.

We were awakened at 2 a.m. by the loud beeping of the garbage truck. Yes, they collect the garbage right under our windows at 2 a.m.!

To give credit where credit is due, we will say that the food was okay. Our room rate included dinner and breakfast. For dinner, there are enough choices, and the kitchen had not problem making me a special vegetarian plate. The food was tasty and filling. Drinks (even non-alcoholic drinks) are not included at dinner, and at breakfast the only “juice” available was grape Kool-Aid.

Overall, though, Hacienda Gripiñas would be a great setting for a horror movie. From the outside, it looks like an interesting and historic place to stay (despite its isolated location). However, it is dirty, creepy, and almost totally deserted. It actually seems abandoned. I think we were the only guests staying that night. The Hacienda looks like it used to be a really nice play to stay, at some point in the past, but now has been allowed to deteriorate in quality and service. We would never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jayuya
9.9 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
27.7 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.8 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
12.8 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
17.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Gripinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Gripinas

Property: Hacienda Gripinas
Address: Rte 527 Km 2.5, Jayuya 00664, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Jayuya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jayuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hacienda Gripinas Jayuya
Hacienda Gripinas Hotel Jayuya
Hacienda Gripinas Puerto Rico/Jayuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing