We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired 70s style Hotel”

Hercogs Jekabs Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jekabpils
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hercogs Jekabs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jekabpils
Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tired 70s style Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a hotel that would benefit from more investment and more active management.
Despite visiting in mid June, there seemed to be very few staff in evidence.
Breakfast was simple and choice was low. There was no restaurant in operation and so we walked into town to a burger joint in a shopping area. Access to upper rooms is by the stairs, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs with your luggage, you might wish to stay elsewhere.
Rooms are tired and in need of refurbishment. Things are fairly clean but with such old, tired and simple fittings and furnishings, its hard to make them look great.
This is a convenient stop-off point rather than an area you would wish to visit.
I don't wish to be unfair, and it seems likely to me that this is a fairly typical example of what you may find in Latvia, which is coming out of Soviet satellite status and has a long way to go before meeting Western infrastructure standards.

Room Tip: If you get a view of the river, you'll at least have a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renfield333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Very expensive - more expensive than those much better ones in Riga. Wireless signal was weak so couldn't establish stable connection so wasn't able to work at all during evening and had to work in restaurant. The guy in restaurant was very nice though. Furniture in rooms were made of solid wood with a history. Wouldn't return if there is another option.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Since some years I visit this hotel once a year. I always take the best room. At least I payed 55Ls per night. The prices were growing from year to year but what you get is less from year to year. The poor breakfast in the morning is not worth to be mentioned. The TV in the room was not working and the water from shower was running through the whole room. In the evening after a hard day of work I tried to order something to eat in the restaurant of the hotel but all was sold out. Nothing to get! For 55Ls I can stay in Riga in a Best Wetsern Hotel with perfect service. I will for sure visit anopther hotel on my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gero123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W Sussex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We wanted a stopover between Riga and Vilnius, as our children are 5 & 6 and can only do a couple of hours max. in the car.

One of the guide books described this town as the kind of place you could bring up your children in, so we thought we'd stop off here.

We weren't too sure what the hotel would be like when we turned up, as it looked fairly ordinary from the outside. One of the staff spoke English and apart from some minor confusion over what had been written in their diary about our booking (they had our name, but couldn't read what a colleague had written) we were shown to room 5. It was a lovely surprise, as they seem to have splashed out and bought a large oak bed and wardrobe. There was a sofa bed for our son and a member of staff found a z-bed for our daughter. It was a spacious room with en-suite.

We ate in their restaurant for convenience and again were surprised, as the food was lovely. I had a casserole of pork, runner beans, Latvian cheese and potatoes in a clay pot and there were also pork chops and fish on the menu, with salad and rice.

We strolled along the river bank next to the hotel and tried to find a playground for the children by the lake the next day, but gave up
and headed for Vilnius through the Aukstaitija National Park, which was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeLoveEurope_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hercogs Jekabs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hercogs Jekabs Hotel

Property: Hercogs Jekabs Hotel
Address: Brivibas 182, Jekabpils, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Zemgale Region > Jekabpils
Amenities:
Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jekabpils
Number of rooms: 195

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing