We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love to stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairns Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I would love to stay here again”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I really enjoyed our stay here, all staff were very friendly and courteous, the apartment was clean and had everything we needed, we had a lovely big king size bed, a balcony that overlooked the lush, tropical, well-kept garden and the swimming pool. In the mornings we would go for a walk along the coconut palm fringed beach (just across the road from the resort) and had our morning coffee at the cafe that is right on the beach. We chatted to locals at the cafe, chatted to fishermen on the beach, chatted to fellow guests in the cafe - it is in a residential area so very friendly!! The only downside is that fact that it is under the flight path for the airport.

Room Tip: We liked to apartment with the balcony that overlooked the pool/garden cos I think the apartments th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are always pleased when we get a review like yours and know that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Holloways Beach is a lay back area where you can rest and relax. The cafe across the road is a great place for meeting the locals and having a chat. Walking along the beach of a morning and chatting to all the people that get out and about making the best of the beautiful weather we have here is a really nice way to start your day. Sorry about the flight path but there is not much that we can do about that one. We look forward to having you back the next time that you are in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    100
    22
    6
    15
See reviews for
56
151
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Found this resort on wotif, 3night special. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a sea view room. Great view of the Coral Sea and lovely sea breezes. Room was self contained with enough cooking equipment to suit us. Room was clean and comfortable. Grounds were very tropical with a lovely refreshing pool. Also had barbeque facilities and even a herb garden we could make use of if we wished. Far enough out of Cairns to be away from the crowds but within easy driving distance. Tour bus happy to collect us from this accommodation for a trip to cape tribulation. Our room was on the third floor, four flights of stairs from undercover car park, word of advise, don't have heavy suitcases. Good workout though and didn't feel guilty about the fish and chips and beer enjoyed at the cafe across the road and right
on the beach.
Would absolutely stay here again and would request the third floor with sea views, well worth the walk up the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for the great review. The stairs are a good workout and we are pleased that you found that to be the case. We are glad that you were happy with your upgrade to the Seaview room. We re plant the herb garden each year after the wet season and have found it to be a hit with all our guests. We will look forward to having you stay with us again the next time that you are visiting Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here July 2-6 2013. Parents + 5 and 1 year old. We traveled from our home in Alice Springs for a holiday in the Cairns area. We arrived late and although reception was closed, there was a very convenient phone/lock-box system in place for late arrivals.

The building is visibly quite old but SPECTACULARLY maintained. The room was very clean and had great amenities. My one year old was crawling a lot at the time and we didn't find that his legs or clothes were dirty at all after spending time on the floor. The main bedroom was in the back of the unit which made putting our boys to bed on the pull out sofa very easy. Kitchen was fully stocked with utensils and had a full size fridge. The only thing I can say was even slightly negative about the room was that the bed (king size, yay!) was very hard. However, some people like a hard bed, so I guess that can be a good thing for some guests.

It seemed that there was a grounds maintenance person on site nearly every morning tending to the numerous and beautiful plans and greenery around the resort. I did have a chance to get to the pool with my son. It was extremely cold but to be expected during the winter months. I understand Cairns to be very hot for a majority of the year so heating the pool would really be a waste of money.

The folks (owners?) at reception were outstanding. For starters, in my search for a holiday unit, I was only looking for size and booked the room online without adding my children to the booking. It was an oversight but was discovered when I asked for additional bedding. The owners were gracious about it and not only didn't charge me extra but offered to make up the extra bed for me. They also recommended tours and excursions, as well as nearby shopping and dining. The restaurant across the street from the resort (beach shack??) was phenomenal as well. We did not have a bad meal there and we ate there several times. The nachos were great (and I'm American so I have high nacho standards) and the batter for the fish and chips was delicious! I wish I could have the recipe!

All in all a wonderful stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kemnitzre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Wow what can I say except thank you for taking the time and effort to post such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our small piece of paradise as much as we do. We would certainly love to have you back to stay whenever you might get a chance to visit Cairns again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We are 2 adults and 1 child aged 11 and we stayed in room 68 which had a large bedroom, separate bathroom and large kitchen, dining area and lounge. We had a balcony overlooking the beach and it was heavenly to go to bed hearing the sound of the sea. There was a large sofa bed in the lounge and we had plenty of room. The owners were very helpful and we booked the billy tea safari trip and reef trip via passions of paradise. Both were excellent. There is a great shop and eatery across from the hotel called strait on the beach as well as some local shops very close by. We had breakfast in our apartment and kept drinks well stocked as even at this time of year it was hot! We walked in both directions on the idyllic beach as well as enjoying the pool and area. Would really recommend this place to stay!!

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview! Absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and you also used Tropical Paradise which is so often what I call this resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed both the trips that we recommended as we do try and match the trips to what our guests tell us they want to experience and I think that your son got quiet a lot from the Billy Tea trip. The beach is such a lovely area to enjoy a morning or afternoon walk. We would love to have you stay again if you return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a helping hand. Lyn was happy to help us with our day tours and advise us on some great deals and places to see. We stayed on level 3 ( the highest level) with an ocean view and I would suggest that one to anyone. Unit was clean, had plenty of room and large tv. They have a dvd player, dishwasher and washing machine and dryer. No clothes horse though. They rent out new n old dvd for $2 which was great after a big day out out on the reef or in the rainforest. As for the comments below about noise from the airport that was not a problem at all you would hear the odd plane take off but it wasn't a disturbance at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krystalmichelle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Looks like we were just the kind of place you were looking for. Thank you for taking the time to review us. You were very lucky to have one of the two rooms that we have with a dishwasher in them. There should have been a clothes horse in your bedroom wardrobe but we will certainly rectify that for the next lot of guests in that room. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you visit Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLD COAST
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed on the third level over looking the beach for 3 days at the end of May. The unit/apartment we had was a spacious very clean modern design in very good condition, well appointed including washer and drier, and a decent size TV (we have found very small TVs in far to many motels on our travels) the location was very quiet. Unlike the Canadian we found the cafe across the road on the beach front served reasonable pub type food, we thought the free drink voucher with a meal at the cafe when we arrived was a nice touch. There was plenty of undercover parking, Lyn was very pleasant and helpful in arranging our train-sky rail trip. I would class the complex as apartments rather than a resort. We will surely stay again and highly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The top floor apartments are nice and do have a nice view but with no lifts they are not for everyone. We will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We had 9 lovely days at Holloways, the accommodation was great we will return. Swimming pool was good, hubby certainly enjoyed it. Lyn was very helpful, rental car was right there waiting for us and parking was not a problem at no extra charge. With one of our family now living in Holloways it was perfect. The apartment was a good size. Plenty of fans and and aircon unit with warmer weather than we are used to sleeping was comfortable. We did not hear the planes, as the airport is nearby. The IGA store at Holloways carries all groceries so was real handy. A bar and restaurant (very casual) across the road was also ok if you needed to go out for a simple meal. Our room looked out to sea and over to the restaurant but there was no problem with noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Cairns Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
What a great review. So nice to hear that you enjoyed your 9 nights with us. The little cafe accross the road is ideal for a lazy lunch or an easy evening meal. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holloways Beach
5.6 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,108 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
6.5 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Beach Resort

Property: Cairns Beach Resort
Address: 129 Oleander St, Holloways Beach, Queensland 4878, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Holloways Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Holloways Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location - Cairns Beach Resort is minutes north of Cairns City and next to the beach and warm tropical waters. Indulge in the simplicity of a truly relaxed lifestyle. Our four star resort offers everything to create a home away from home on the beach. The resort’s tropical gardens offer you peace and tranquility to read and relax, or to float in the saltwater resort style pool. Simple pleasures - pure relaxation… think Cairns Beach Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairns Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairns Beach Hotel Holloways Beach
Hotel Cairns Beach
Cairns Beach Resort Cairns Region/Holloways Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing